We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality cannot be beaten and the location is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Broken Column

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Broken Column to your Saves list
Hotel Broken Column
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:45 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
West Yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The hospitality cannot be beaten and the location is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I cannot compliment this hotel enough. Centrally located and within minutes walking distance from all the main attractions in Sultanahmet (1 min walk to the Blue Mosque using the shortcut!) The staff were very friendly and more than willing to go out of their way for us. The hotel is very clean and each of the rooms are named after a city instead of having room numbers.

The staff are very knowledgeable about the local attractions and assisted us in finding great deals on excursions and even helped book us in for a Hamam bath at an alternative place for half the price offered in the local Hamam!

We were always welcomed with tea on arrival which went down as a treat in a cold January especially on the days it snowed. Breakfast selection was very good considering the size of the hotel and Ahmed was always on hand to make us fresh omelettes or to cater to any other needs. We had a very quick response to all the room service requests and the bedding, towels and rooms were cleaned daily. There was a beautiful view of the Bosphorus from the rooftop breakfast room which was a great start to out day.

Our experience of Istanbul wouldn’t have been half as good if it hadn’t have been for the great hospitality. A very big thank you to Cengiz, Ahmed (who also become known as MATRIX), Mr Maşallah and his brothers who make a group of 3 girls feel so at home!

We will be sure to visit Istanbul again and will pick Hotel Broken Columns every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    39
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
40
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

WE stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and could not fault it Being elderly we had requested a ground floor room which was made available and was extremely comfortable. We could not manage stairs to the rooftop terrace, so breakfast was made available every morning at a table on the pavement, which was surprisingly quiet. A staff member always seemed to be on hand to assist my wife up the front steps.Day trips and an airport taxi were arranged efficiently and well priced.The hotel itself is extremely modern. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had requested a ground floor room, which was at the back and extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on for 4 nights recently and was more than happy with the hotel. Our double room was a little on the small size but clean and tidy with a great bathroom. Breakfast is on the roof terrace several floors up (no lift) and was more than adequate. The hotel's best feature though is its location, really close to the Hagia Sophia and blue mosque and is on a really nice street full of great bars and restaurants. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was in Istanbul with my son in May 2012 and stayed in Broken Column for the location, really all great historical objects of sultanahmet with the few minutes walkdistance. Also the hotel is situated on the street with many nice restaurants and cafe ( for examle, one step from here is located oceans7 restaurant and cafe - i reccomend). We lived in triple room - very clean, beatiful, with new equipment, good beds, two windows ( the noise from the street is not problem if it closed) and small balcony - this room is named "Istanbul" . Breakfasts were standart like everywhere but fresh and good. Very comfortable that during all day and night you can drink hot tea at the lobby without additional money. If you didnt bring the laptop you can use the computer near reception - no problem. And of course the most excellent thing - is staff, I felt myself like in family, thank you for all,guys

Room Tip: All rooms have their own names, I very liked room Istanbul on the 2 nd floor with central location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks back on the way to India, the hotel is set right slap bang in the middle of the old city and in the heart of the tourist attractions.

Check in was prompt and efficient and the guy carried our bags to the room, the room itself was clean warn and had plenty hot water and fresh white towels.

The breakfast was a mix of continental and a hot and cold buffet with lashings of tea, coffee and fruit juices. The hotel let us leave our bags in reception and organised a taxi for us for the airport.

If you are looking for an affordable comfortable stay in old Istanbul then book here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm el sheikh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We was 2 adults + 2 infant in triple room and we had very nice holiday in this hotel. Helpful staff, nice brekfast, clean room. Super view in Terrace at brekfast time. Big thanks for Ahmed and Gulshen. Good management. Hope see you next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A perfect hotel in old town Istanbul, in the quality of 4 star hotels, me and my costumers were in Turkey for a visit , i have arranged this hotel for their stay.
It was the best decision we made, they just loved the hotel and they wanted to stay longer at the hotel than spending time outside :D
Special Thanks to Mr. Pasha and Mr. Orhan for their kind hospitality.
Thanks

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room early enough to get special discounts and better view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Broken Column? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Broken Column

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:45 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Broken Column 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sultanahmet Hotel Broken Column The modern and artistical design boutique hotel is located in the heart of the old city. The Hotel Broken Column is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace,St.Sophia,Blue Mosque,Hippodrome and Grand Bazaar. Hotel Broken Column offers 15 unique,well decorated rooms,top terrace with a magnificent view of Bosphorus,Blue Mosque and St.Sophia. All guest rooms at Broken Column Hotel are equipped with private french balconies. All rooms are equipped with everything to provide business or pleasure trip. Every rooms have air condition,Satelite Tv,Minibar,Digital Safe Box,Hairdryer,wi-fi and an elegant en suite bathroom. You will enjoy your breakfast while looking at the fantastic view of the Blue Mosque,St.Sophia and the sea of the Marmara. Stay in the Europe watch Asia. You will enjoy your time at our panoramic top terrace cofe with water pipe. We hope you have an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Broken Column reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Broken Column, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.