We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning and cooking with Olga was truly enjoyable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delicious Istanbul

Delicious Istanbul
Acibadem Kadikoy, Istanbul 34718, Turkey
90 0216 348 70 17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 543 Activities in Istanbul
Type: Walking tours, Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking to experience the real taste of Istanbul? Join Olga Irez in exploring the local markets, visiting hand-picked vendors and food makers, tasting famous and lesser known local treats and, finally, cooking a Turkish feast at Olga's kitchen.Olga cooks and eats full time in Istanbul and also publishes popular food blog Delicious Istanbul, so her insights and tips put you on the fast track of learning all about Istanbul food.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
San Diego, California
1 review
“Learning and cooking with Olga was truly enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I were lucky to have Olga all to ourselves. We enjoyed a fine morning of tasting local foods at the market and preparing, eating lunch at Olga's flat. Thank you for a unique (and tasty) experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    7
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sleep ´til you´re hungry, eat ´til you´re sleepy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Of course once you are in Istanbul, there might be quite a few more things that could prevent you from sleeping but as soon as it comes to food: always get it, and most of all: don´t miss to share the perspective of Olga´s Delicious Istanbul!
Strolling about the local market in Kadiköy with her to get the best and freshest things for the cooking class is the perfect intro to what will await you once it comes to preparing the turkish dishes. Olga combines the qualities of both being an exceptional good guide and very friendly host with a good sense of humour so that you will always feel comfortable, especially if your intention is to peek beyond the obvious or to find out about some more of what´s given in your guidebook. Even not being from Istanbul or Turkey itself but having learnt about it with the distant view from the outside plays out to be an advantage for Olga: From the inside, it´s sometimes hard to keep the sense of what´s special about the things that have always been so familiar to you and its too easy to neglect the little things that all too often matter. For us Olga turned out to be the missing link that managed to make the difference between the tourist and the traveller.
And to end our recommendation with some wise man´s words: "As you walk and eat and travel, be where you are. Otherwise you will miss most of your life", we can confirm that spending a day with Olga will prevent you from missing that one in your life!
Sonia & Ina

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious...Olga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Previous reviews had really been helpful in choosing Olga has one of the major attraction of our 1 week trip to Istanbul. We definitely confirm that she lives up to her reputation. What a great day we had, strolling among the Egyptian bazar spices vendors, trying as much samples of food we would encounter on our walking tour and getting information about it, having lunch in a Turkish people's favorite place where people were queuing and where we were the only foreigners.
At the end of the tour it turned out that Delicious Istanbul is also Delicious Olga. Thank you Olga, we know that we will see you again!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If there is one thing you should do when visiting Istanbul.............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We visited Isanbul last week with friends. Whilst our companions went to visit the battlefields in Gallipoli for the day, we took the opportunity to have the Istanbul Food Tour with Olga. We were fortunate to be the only couple on the tour - what a treat!

Olga is passionate about Turkish food and had the knowledge to take us around the very best quality shops and market stalls. She explained food culture, recommended treats to eat together with interesting facts about the areas we visited along the way.

We gained such confidence and knowledge about Istanbul food that we spent the next day with our friends reliving the tour, so they could also experience what we had seen and learnt!

If you are inerested in food and customs have around 3 hours to spare when you visit Istanbul I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My sister and I and another visitor spent a day with Olga touring and sampling edible delights in markets in the Sultanhamet and Kadikoy areas of Istanbul. What a delightful experience, to say nothing of delicious! I have an allergy to wheat and rye, and Olga was really informed and helpful about what I should avoid eating while touring Turkey. Check out the Gluten-free Istanbul blog posting, DeliciousIstanbul.com for more detail. And then keep following her blog for recipes and planning your next trip. I'm ready to go back, and I'd tour with her again.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicious Istanbul also viewed

 

Been to Delicious Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicious Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.