We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have hope for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turkey Tours by Local Guides

Turkey Tours by Local Guides
Gulbahar Caddesi No:48, Istanbul 34387, Turkey
+90 538 439 7811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 280 Tours & Activities in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Turkey Tours by Local Guides is a company run by licensed tour guides providing private Istanbul tours, shore excursions, day trips to Ephesus, Cappadocia, Bursa, Iznik, Edirne, and many more places in Turkey. Provided by Fast Book Travel License no: A-6202
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Everything we could have hope for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The initial communication with Ozkan prompted a rapid and helpful response and the communication remained this way right up to our 5 day visit to Turkey. The whole organisation of our visit was excellent. Our 5 days were packed from early morning to evening with 2 day tours of Istanbul, and visits to Ephesus, Capadoccia and Gallipoli. Although we were a little concerned initially about being based in Istanbul and taking day trips (2 by plane) to other destinations, this worked out extremely well without the hassles of carrying luggage from place to place. We were also fortunate to have an excellent hotel - Harbiye Residence, where the room was spacious and clean and staff very friendly. Our guides were all very good with excellent knowledge of the various sites and the country in general. A special mention for Abdil, our guide for 3 of the days. His relaxed but highly organised approach was an absolute delight. Nothing was too much trouble - especially when we wanted to spend a little extra time shopping or seeing something different. And, of course, there was the introduction to a number of "very local" restaurants which was an added bonus. If you're looking for a guided tour of Turkey you definitely wont be disappointed with Turkey Tour by Local Guides.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thumbs Up for Turkey Tours and Ozkan Bicer (Owner/Guide)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As an American Ambassador often posted to South and Central Asia, I knew Istanbul reasonably well as one of the great cities of the world and wanted to show it to friends who had never been there. Ozkan organized a well-paced, three-day tour that gave us the essential great sites, a few things off the beaten track to discover, and excellent restaurant recommendations. He knows his history well but doesn't impose a pendantic lecture at each historic site. I especially like his sometimes edgy but always appropriate humor -- he's a fine psychologist and knows how to put his clients at ease. I strongly recomend him and his company.

-- U.S. Ambassador Richard Hoagland

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Five Stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I travel extensively and usually hire a guide when we visit someplace as vast as Istanbul for the first time. Few guides measure up to this one. We booked three full days in the city with Ozkan, and every single hour was great. We were met on time each day with a very comfortable vehicle and, more importantly, with a very impressive depth and breadth of knowledge of every aspect of this great city. Ozkan also has a enjoyable dry sense of humor, which made the whole experience even better. We will hire him again when we return. Search no further for your Istanbul guide!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Full day Tour of Istanbul 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a full day in Istanbul with our guide, Abdil. He was wonderful and so knowledgeable about all the sites and the history. He picked us up promptly at our hotel and even took us to a beautiful site overlooking the Golden Horn (waterway) for lunch. We were two women traveling together so we were a little leary about what the experience would be like. But Abdil was warm and friendly and it was easy to spend a whole day with him.
We contacted our travel agency and told them to add "Turkey Tours" to their list of winners.
Thank you again Abdil and Ozkan!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Istanbul - Best tour of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Istanbul was one of the stops during our 12 day Mediterranean cruise where we did a combination of independent touring, shore excursions through the ship, and private tour guides arranged by us. Abdil was the highlight of all our guides - informative, interesting with a depth of knowledge and personal insight that made us want to return to Istanbul - 7 hours was definitely not enough. Great off the beaten path venue for lunch as well as guidance in buying some ceramics with the flexibility of visiting both the Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market in such a short time. Highly recommend this tour company - professional and personal - what more could you ask?

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turkey Tours by Local Guides also viewed

 

Been to Turkey Tours by Local Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turkey Tours by Local Guides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.