We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a win” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aga Hamam Hostel

Aga Hamam Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aga Hamam Hostel to your Saves list
Aga Hamam Hostel
Kuloglu mah. Turnacibasi street no: 48 Beyoglu, Istanbul 34337, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 930 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Putrajaya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location is a win”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

It is very easy to reach Aga Hamam from Istiklal Cad. However beware of the slope and hilly which can be very dangerous if wet. Not recommended to bring heavy luggage (trolley bag) if you were to stay here. Backpack is best.
Awkward feeling to have lobby shared with the hamam where you will see people who just after bath hanging out with towel in the same area you are walking.
The room is pretty small but it is acceptable and reasonable. No locker provided but the guy at the lobby will take care of your valuable stuff. Not sure what is his name but he is very helpful.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I have stayed in hostels all around the world, and normally you know what you're getting; a cheap bed in a cheap establishment, hopefully with a friendly welcome.

You get all of that here, but you also get character in abundance, which marks this place out from any other I have stayed in. The bottom two floors are part of a working hamam, so you get the feel of old-time Istanbul as you open the door and the steam hits you in the face. Climbing up a spiral staircase brings you to your dorm, outside of which an internal balcony lets you look down on everything below and above. Climb to the top floor and you'll find a rather luxurious lounge too, complete with comfortable granddad sofas!

The location is great for cheap eats, shopping and live music. And the guy on reception will be happy to give you a map of town too...

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

It's one of the cheapest hostels in Istanbul, but good quality. I was in Istanbul 3 times and twice stayed in with hostel.

Hostel is located in a convenient location. In walking distance of the ferry to Adalar islands and the old town.

In next time I wanna try to stay in Adalar islands.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This has to be one of the best budget hostels in the city. Its quiet but still has things going on. The location near Taksim Square is amazing. The staff is helpful and there is a lovely balcony to chill. On top of this, its a Turkish bath which is an experience in and of itself.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I had a great time at Aga Hamam. The staff was friendly and it was a really cool experience staying at a Turkish bath. I ended up taking part in that too and it was excellent. The upstairs balcony is also fantastic for hanging out and getting away from the dorm.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hostel is right in Taksim and is a great starting point to access Istanbul. The rooms are comfy enough and the rooftop terrace is perfect for unwinding at the end of the day. Even with lots of people around the space never felt crowded.

The hostel kitten will let you pat her, too!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I came to this hostel at 3 am , and I didn't have reservation. and the black guy who work there told me that he could not check me in because he could not check which dorm is available because the Internet was not working....oooh come on why didn't he just enter the dorm and check it. And you know it's 3 am, I'm tired after my flight, and he kicked me out to find another hostel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agahamamhostel, Sahibi at Aga Hamam Hostel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
you dont have reservation , however we dont have any availbility. so our security said to you.
this is so normal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aga Hamam Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aga Hamam Hostel

Address: Kuloglu mah. Turnacibasi street no: 48 Beyoglu, Istanbul 34337, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 930 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aga Hamam Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aga Hamam Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.