We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do this tour first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culinary Backstreets - Private Tours

Culinary Backstreets - Private Tours
Istanbul, Turkey
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 543 Activities in Istanbul
Type: Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: When it comes to exploring a city’s authentic dining scene, while the stomach should ideally serve as the best compass, the truth of the matter is that it’s hard to find your way without good local advice. That’s where Culinary Backstreets’ Culinary Walks come in. In order to help you explore the world’s gastro-capitals and get off these cities’ eaten path, CB is offering (with selected partners) guided culinary walks in some of the cities we cover, starting with Istanbul, Athens, Barcelona, and Shanghai.Our culinary walks are designed to lead visitors on an eating binge through a city’s lesser-seen historic side streets and authentic markets, taking in countless hard-to-find culinary gems and, in between bites, a select number of untouristed monuments.
chichester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do this tour first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

At 225TL this tour isnt cheap, but lasts all day and with a brilliant guide, food and drink all included, is well worth it. We did the Old Town tour with Megan (a charming girl from Vermont, USA who has lived there for 14 years). We tasted some amazing and some frankly bizarre food, but it was all incredibly tasty and backed up with a fascinating array of information about the locals, the city and the food.
Our biggest regret was in not doing this tour on day one! If nothing else do it for the Buffalo Milk Clotted Cream, eat your heart out Devon & Cornwall!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    26
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“things you wouldn't try on your own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This tour takes you around the lesser known area's of Beyoglu sampling food in places you probably wouldn't go into on your own. Baklava and Turkish delight, coffee and cake, Lokanta dishes that a Turkish mother would make, lamb stuffed aubergines, meat balls and beans. But the highlight of the tour for me was the barbequed liver served with tomatoes and onions served in ultra thin lavis bread - I never ever thought lambs liver could taste so good.
Jen, the tour leader, was approachable and knowledgable and although a bit pricey I would recommend this tour to see a different side of Istanbul from the viewpoint of your stomache. but even if your not a foodie it's still worth doing from the cultural aspect.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best experience and definitely worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was one of the best things we did on our trip... we did the old town tour which included street food vendors. Really opened my eyes to Turkish cuisine and how fabulous even the most simple dish can be. It also gave me the confidence to try new things on dinner menus as well as getting around Istanbul. Highly recommend this tour, even if you aren't a passionate foodie. It will really increase your comfort zone with a new type of food and help lead you away from touristy restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth Every Turkish Lira!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Most of our trips are some how driven by food so when I stumbled on the Istanbul Eats blog and reviews we knew this was right up our alley.

At $125USD the price may seem a little steep, but quite honestly it will be the best money you spend discovering food and hidden communities in Istanbul that you would never find on your own!

Our guide, Megan, who from Vermont, has now been in Turkey for well over a decade clearly loves the city of Istanbul and the tours she leads.

The tour gets you to eat at kiosks, grills and restaurants that quite honestly you wouldn't have the 'stones' to approach on your own as an individual tourist and makes you feel like a local with a key to the city.

You will eat so much over the day that when you part ways at around 4pm you can forget about even thinking of dinner....but just on case, you should keep good track of where you've been through the day because if you are like us, you will be retracing your path for more of your new found treasures.

A couple of tips first....

1. Book well in advance. The group size is small and fill up quick.

2. Take the tour early in your stay. Allows you to get back to your favorites before you leave!

3. Take pictures of store fronts and street signs to help you navigate back.

4. Find their book on-line..."Istanbul Eats, Exploring The Culinary Backstreets Since 2009"

5. Just Do It!!!! You'll love it!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyoglu culinary walking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Excellent tour it is expensive but you eat and drink so much and learn so much about the city that its totally worth it. Genuinely new tastes and eating experiences I have never had before. Also learn the best coffee in Istanbul. The best Turkish delight too.some real surprises on the tour and definitely for adventurous eaters! Or guide Gocken was excellent and even came for a few drinks after which of course was good to find bars also that the locals like! Would love to go back and try some of their other tours!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Backstreets - Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Culinary Backstreets - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culinary Backstreets - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.