We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayikci Restaurant

Kayikci Restaurant
Divanyolu Cad. Ticarethane Sok. No. 35, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
519 1217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A DELİGHTFUL TOUCH OF AEGEAN COAST AND UNİQUE ANATOLİAN TASTES
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We ended up at this restaurant twice during our visit to Istanbul. The food was the best we'd tasted in Turkey and the service was wonderful. They made my husband and 3 kids and me all feel like family. The food was our top reason for the second visit though. We tried various things over the two visits, but our favorites were the "Salt Sea Bass" and terracotta pot with chicken. They both tasted fantastic and the blazing fire show that accompanied the cooking table side was incredible. The kids were amazed to see the food cooked in such a new way. They also ate it up! Wonderful experience!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    107
    29
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

tonight we chose to eat at Kayikci restaurant and we were happy with our experience there. There was a good choice of drinks and meals on the menu and everything we had for dinner was delicious. I highly recommend the lamb tagine. Kayikci is a good choice for restaurant in the Sultanahmet area.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch on a Wet Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Having promised the guys outside every day that we would have a meal there, we found ourselves making our way back to our hotel (Sura Design and Boutique) after a morning out in the rain. Greeted at the door by a warm welcome and a wonderfully warm fire we proceeded to sit down for lunch. The fire it turned out was to cook the Lavash. Another wonderful meal - Hubbie had Shrimp Linguine, 14 year old son and I had Ravioli and 10 year old son had Chicken Crepes. All agreed it was a very tasty lunch. Lovely staff, great food, highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“So so good, tasty and balanced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We ate so so good here, the attention was amazing and pricing was right... the chicken had raisins it was such a new flavor and the meat was incredibly soft and tasty... great wine suggestion... We loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tourist trapped”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015 via mobile

We visited Kayikci as we were in the area and needed food and refuge from the rain - going to a more authentic area wasnt possible. We sat down and ordered a mezz plate for starters and a chicken kebab for princess and a lamb one for me. The chicken kebab was pink on the inside, so we sent it back once. It came back pink again! At this point we cottoned on that the kebabs had not actually come from the restaurants kitchen, but somewhere down the road. We sent it to the restaurants kitchen and they finally cooked it properly. The manager said it was their style to do chicken "rare". - we think not...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kayikci Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kayikci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayikci Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.