We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two bedroomed Suit without a clean bed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Three Apples Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Three Apples Residence to your Saves list
Three Apples Residence
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Kocatepe Mah. Duvarci Adem Sok. No:44 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #458 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two bedroomed Suit without a clean bed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gold Suit (Room 333) for one night and unfortunately we left there without good feelings. We had stayed at Three Apples Suites last yelar and the Hotel and staff were quite good. Therefore we thought it's ok to stay in the second building as well. However we were terribly mistaken! The Room was big and looking comfortable at first, but with a closer look we saw the couch was all stained and smelly. The bigger surprise was waiting us in the bedroom. When we opened the bed we saw a huge quantity of body hair on the sheets, pillow covers were also dirty and smelly. We didn't want to create any problems at night so we checked the other bedroom first. But the other bed also had dirty sheets (with some curious stains ) and pillow covers. So we called the reception and made a complaint about the situation. He said he would send someone immediately. We thought taht "someone" would be housekeeper but instead the night guard arrived. He was only told that we needed some sheets. When we explained the situation he tried to help us in any was he can and we are thankful for his behaviour. We shared our disappointment with him and he suggested that we should speak to the manager the next day. We literally made our bed ourselves with his help and used clean towels as pillow covers. We thought that reception would take into consideration to deliver our situation to the manager, but nothing happened. When we called the reception to inform him our departure he didn't even asked anything and we left. As a previous guest I would never have imagined that the second building could be so dirty and I have never stayed in such a dirty hotel Room before.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    10
    0
    16
See reviews for
6
18
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

1. Close to Taksim Metro.
2. Polite staff.
3. Well Furnished.
4. Congested road!

Well, it was a business trip(5days stay). *First time to Istanbul*

It was very helpful for me since metro was near. Though people were polite the service was pathetic. There was a serious water supply problem when i went. Every evening i have to complain, then the plumber comes, he'll fix it and then i used wash room. All four days i faced it. So this was the only problem which i had. Rest all okay!

Room Tip: I stayed at room no 403!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I recommend it for all kinds of trips, whether with families, single, friends , vacation or business trip. the stuff is very helpful & very polite. The front desk clerk Ayoub gave a great help. I had a problem with a hair dryer so they provided me with new one on the spot.
If u wanna enjoy Istanbul and save money yet staying in a clean modern furnished place, this is the place. it is a 5 minutes walk form Taksim square and Istiklal Street.
Will be there again without doubt nor hesitation.

wanna thank all the stuff for Ur services and kindness and for letting me feel comfortable and as if I am home.

Room Tip: Just tell the desk clerk EXACTLY what U need it for?Room for sleeping only to stay in most of z days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean, modern, well furnished, secure etc (we stayed in a Silver apartment). Central location, slightly behind the main roads, but only a short distance (3 minute walk) to Taksim Square and the main road. Although I can understand how it would be slightly intimidating for lone travellers and those arriving at night because of the surrounding area being somewhat rundown (not the apartments, however, which we spotless and well kept) but it was not dangerous or threatening. Very helpful and friendly staff and a really good value apartment to use as a base for exploring the city. Conveniently, very close to transport links (bus, trams, trains) etc make it easy to travel to and from the airport and other parts of the city. It was definitely more on the no-frills side, but for the price, it was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Three Apples is a great choice for couples and families. Feel totally like at home, very friendly place with a helpful staff. We had an excellent stay here, and were satisfied with everything. The 3 Apples is really close to the subway, easy to get from here anywhere in Istanbul. Totally worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Three Apples lists its address as Kocatepe Mah, Duvarci Adem Sok, which is just off the main road a block from Taksim square. When we arrived late at night, the front desk first required us to pay before really even exchanging niceties, let alone letting us see our room (which was unlike all the other places we stayed at in Turkey during our 10 day stay). The staff were curt and seemed more concerned about getting payment from us than making sure we had a pleasant stay. We were then led to our room which was not in the main building, but in fact five blocks away. We are three young petite girls. We did not feel comfortable being led down a dark street several blocks away from the posted address, when nothing in our reservation or on the hotel's listings on Tripadvisor and Venere indicated that we wouldn't be staying at the listed address. On our way to our residence, we saw two prostitutes and a handful of other shady characters. While this is close to the main area and there are a lot of families living in the neighborhood, we simply did not feel safe and would not have stayed here had we known how far it was from the main street.

When I called to raise this issue with the front desk, the staff were rude and dismissive, saying we had already paid so our only option was to forfeit our room and risk being stranded as it is hard to find a room on a Saturday night, or to just stick with our room. The staff refused to acknowledge our concerns and said we should do better research the next time. When I explained that their listings and the reservation confirmation email we received did not indicate that rooms are not just in the listed address, the staff initially refused to believe us, and then conceded "oh, I guess you are right but that's just too bad." Frankly, all of the other hotels I stayed at in Turkey were inviting and friendly. This was a huge disappointment and extremely rude.

The room itself was nice but very smoky. But, I felt duped by the hotel's postings on Tripadvisor and Venere and put off by the rude front desk staff, and would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone traveling to Istanbul. There is no shortage of hotels and little apartments to rent in Beyoglu/Taksim, let alone Istanbul. There's no reason to stay here.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, find out WHERE your building is located. If you're staying in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeremB, General Manager at Three Apples Residence, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Three Apples Suites and Residence. The feedback of our guests, whether positive or negative, is always held in high regard and valued.

The address that you mention is actually the address of the Residence where your booking was made, so it’s correct that you were guided to this address after your check-in procedures at the main reception. The address of the main building where you were initially received is Sehit Muhtar Mah. Corbaci Sok No.7. Therefore there is no mistake with the address of your booked hotel and where you were received.

However, your message about the remark that the front desk clerk has made about your reservation is really unacceptable for our service mentality at Three Apples. This will guide us to train our staff and improve our attitude in excellent service.

Best Regards

Three Apples suites & residence team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the Elmadag Residence Hotel, almost a kilo-meter (km) walk away from the Taksim Square.

The check-in procedure was a little strange. It was described on the website that Three Apples has 3 residences in Istanbul. Only one of which is used for check-in. In our case, since we were staying at the Elmadag Residence, we had to visit the Three Apples main Residence to check-in; which was not so convenient. Anyway, the guy at the counter was courteous to offer us a hotel taxi after check-in.

Regarding the residence itself, the suite we got in the Elmadag Residence was small but really nice; enough for two people. It looks bigger in size from the pictures but its not as big as it seems :) But everything is new. So, it looked pretty sharp.

The LCD TV is also pretty small but fits the compact context there. We paid 60 usd per night which was very reasonable considering two weeks stay.

The Elmadag Residence Suites offer free wifi and room cleaning services; and are considered self-service.. breakfast is not included. The kitchenette is pretty handy and has all the tools you may need for your stay.. dishes, knives, spoons/forks, cutting board, dish washer, fridge.. no oven / microwave oven. We used to make our own breakfast and we loved this luxury. There are a few shops very close to this Residence which are open till after midnight.. you can do your grocery from there. everything's available at just a few steps distance.

The room cleaning services were terrible. In our stay of two weeks, the staff came to clean the room only twice and even in those two times, they didn't completely do the cleaning. I used to call up the reception once or twice every day to request for cleaning.. they would tell me that they are sorry and they would send the staff right away, but in vain. We were literally managing everything ourselves..

The guy at the reception is pretty slippery. He commits but the room cleaning services are still not rendered. In our last week, we used to call him every day twice for room cleaning and he would say. i'll send the staff right over and then when we would come back late at night, no cleaning at all. The wifi services worked well for first few days but after that, there were issues. I used to go up a floor to restart the hotspot myself. Complaints or requests wouldn't help as the reception staff would hardly take any action. If you also have trouble, try entering Static IP configuration for their wifi settings on your phone. The DNS entry assigned by the router is incorrect. Usually, allotted DNS is: 192.168.1.221. It should rather be 192.168.1.1 (which works).

So, the bottom-line now:
1. fairly new suites (condition wise)
2. not located in a very a posh locality, few hundred meters away from it though inside a street
3. the walk can be pretty stressful for some who have problem going up-hill
4. good kitchenette and culinary, dish washer but no oven or microwave oven
5. room cleaning services are advertised but not rendered
5. wifi service was giving problems but kind of worked throughout our stay
6. close to taksim square
7. metro stations nearby as well as bus-stops (easy to go anywhere)
8. you have to check-in at Three Apple Suites to go to Elmadag Residence Suites (inconvenient)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elmadag residence. Initially we were offered a room on the top floor. We had a pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Apples Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Apples Residence

Address: Kocatepe Mah. Duvarci Adem Sok. No:44 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 933 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Apples Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Three Apples Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Apples Residence
Three Apples Residence Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Apples Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.