We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erratic Heating/Cooling, Bad Plumbing, Very Thin Walls & Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dolapderde Cad. 161 Sisli, Istanbul 34375, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #516 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Erratic Heating/Cooling, Bad Plumbing, Very Thin Walls & Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of a tour, and then again for 1 night 2 weeks later. The hotel appeared to be in good shape, the staff courteous and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was well laid out.

However, during the first 2 night stay I could hear the guy next door talk on his cell phone for hours, talk with someone in his room for a couple of more hours, and finally sing himself to sleep. The walls are so thin you could hear a mosquito pass gas in the next room. Needless to say I didn't get much sleep.

Two weeks later we were back for a night, and put in a room on the 10th floor - Club Level. We noticed two things when we entered the room - the smell of sewer gas and excessive heat from the bathroom. We opened the window and cranked the air conditioning which almost got the room to tolerable temperature. The smell from the bathroom must have been from a dry sewer trap or something - we ran the sink & shower for a bit and it helped, but the smell returned.. We just kept the bathroom door closed for the remainder of the night.

Apart from solo travelers and business people, the hotel seems to cater to large tour groups They do a good job of processing everyone pretty quickly upon checkin. I think that the large number of groups is starting to wear the place down a little and they should try to keep up the maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear GSTim,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the heating, the plumbing and the noise during your stay. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    118
    105
    34
    23
See reviews for
44
74
19
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

i had a fairly long stay in Istanbul for work start of February - 2 weeks. And a customer helped book me at the Crowne Plaza at a decently cheap rate. My first experience at the hotel was quite good - an early checkin request accepted on call 1 day before arrival, good comfortable room; though they gave me a smoking room, it actually dint have any remnant smoke smell. Nice clean setup and a courteous (at first staff).
Over the next 2 weeks, I had a series of not so pleasant experiences, each by themselves a non issue, but taken together quite unpleasant!
- Rude reception staff: multiple occassions when i saw reception staff speak quite rudely to guests. A huge tourist group checked in and messed their room internet passwords and receptions reply to them "well good luck with that!!"
- Billing: stupid system! they actually took 3 quarantees from me, as my room bill exceeded their pre-authorizations. Never ever had this issue before, but then I was still ok. What completely frustrated me was they actually ended up charging my company credit card also in three separate transactions and not one!! Stupid and super painful. I asked repeatedly to charge one single transaction, but no help at all!! STUPID, painful, completely un cooperative!
- Room service: one ocassion my room service was just not delivered for over 1 hour. On calling, I am told they sent it to the next room, and since he rejected, they took it back! whats worse the guy blames me saying I gave the wrong room number! Amazing, and completely untrue.
- Housekeeping: More than once, housekeeping simply skipped cleaning the room, as I was working from room! Brilliant service!
- Laundry: Mentioned multiple times here, but sucks when laundry goes about stapling your clothes needlessly!!
- Gym: what gym?!!? amazingly the gym was shut down through the entire 2 week period i was at the hotel!
- last day surprise - no bath towels kept in room by housekeeping (yes they also took away the one unused towel from previous day!) leaving me scrambling around post my bath (and no, they dont have bath robes!)
- internet - good thing it is free, and they were courteous and helpful to give me a second login for my tablet. But then there is no free lunch in life right! Internet speeds rival telephone modems of the 90s!
- concierge desk - looks like the only reason it is setup is to sell their own tours. I asked advice for touring around, and compeltely unhelpful. Thank god they have travel cards in the reception with information on tourist locations and travel tips, and a very friendly and helpful concierge at the door who are always available and helpful!
- restaurants: really limited! Breakfast every mornign is THE SAME!! great for a short stay, but for a long stay like mine, is a pain! They have only two restaurants and with quite limited choices! My waiter recommended a pizza for me one night at the Mediterranean restaurant, came with pork - which I dont eat! Their solution - remove the pepporoni slices and get the pizza back! brilliant!!

overall, as i said each incident by itself was not that bad or unpleasant, but taken together over a 2 week stay can be super frustrating. with such a long stay, you expect some special service and help, but here my experience was just the opposite.

Room Tip: take a room atleast on 4th floor or higher. I was on the 1st floor, road facing, and it can get quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear AbhijeetK,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Average room. Not bad, but expected more from the Crowne Plaza brand.

Why Average?

Pros:
-King size bed. Comfortable
-Breakfast buffet
-View from roof was excellent
-Staff was friendly and helpful

Cons:
-Room view looked directly into other rooms across courtyard
-Hot water never got...well, hot
-Courtyard was very noisy at night
-Stange septic smell lingered down hallway at random times throughout the day
-Location is pretty strange; located at the top of a hill lined with mannequin shops (boutique area very close by though)

Room Tip: When booking, tell them you want a high room that looks down the hill towards the Old City. If You a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Alex L.

We thank you very much for your kind comments on our hotel and services.

We would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you dealt with during your stay, caused by unexpected technical breakdowns.

We of course hope to have the chance to welcome you in our hotel once again to provide you with improved service quality.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Loved the hotel and was upgraded upon arrival. the rooms, service and overall standard is good.
i was lucky to have a room that was situated on one of the upper floors but a colleague who was on the 1st floor complained about the noise which affected their sleep.
the spa facilities were good. im not sure if i would stay there again though due to the location but the hotel apart from that was great

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Mark W.,

We more than appreciate your kind comments about our hotel.

Regarding to your comment about the location of the hotel: we provide our guests a complimentary shuttle service to the city center where is 10 minutes on foot, to comfort their transportation needs.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel once again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel seems to be new. The stuff is extremely friendly and helpful, the fitness center is very well equipped. I would always come back to this hotel. The Internet connection is not very fast but it works and it is free.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for your kind comments on our hotel and staff.

It would be pleasure for us to welcome you in our hotel once again.

Gülhan Aktuğ Eren
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is located nearby the nisantasi shopping centre and taksim shopping centre. The staff was very helpful, the exchange rate was quite reasonable. The room was clean, spacious and it is equiped with safe deposit box. We were there during the new years so the breakfast lounge was open till 12 noon. The WIFI in this hotel is quite pathetic, it keeps on disconnecting by itself even in the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you very much for your kind compliments on our hotel and staff.

We would like to inform you that our hotel's internet service is being kept under control to keep our guests' information secure and as per the laws. Therefore it asks for credentials and logs itself out if you stop using the service.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here on business for 3 days, most of the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the free wifi good, I ate twice in the resturant one meal was good (sea bass) and the other average, there is a second "Mediteranian resturant but I never tried this.The area the hotel is situated is pretty grim but taxi's are reasonably cheap and all use the meter.
It is about 45 minutes from Ataturk airport and about 50tkl by taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulhan_aktug, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We thank you very much for taking your time and commenting on our hotel and our team after your visit to Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye.
Kind Regards

Gulhan Aktug Eren
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye

Address: Dolapderde Cad. 161 Sisli, Istanbul 34375, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Istanbul Harbiye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.