We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The location was great, the hotel is in a quiet area, a few minutes walk to the Blue Mosque. The stuff were friendly and helpful, especially Omer and Ekrem. Nice breakfast, free cakes, coffee and tea in the lobby. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money!


Отличное расположение в тихом месте. Отель находится в нескольких минутах ходьбы от Голубой мечети. Очень доброжелательный и отзвычивый персонал, особенно Омар и Экрем. Хороший завтрак, в лобби отеля бесплатные пирожные, чай и кофе. Отличное соотношение цены и качества. Смело рекомендую !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    214
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
264
557
89
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I visited in February with girlfriends for a weekend's sightseeing. Quite simply put, this hotel lives up to the great reviews. The room we had was spacious and spotlessly clean with a good bathroom, great shower and complimentary toiletries/refreshment tray. The Turkish breakfast was excellent with omelettes cooked to order if you wanted them. Coupled with fantastic service from Omar and his family, as well as coffee and cake in the afternoons, I really couldn't fault any aspect of our stay. Added to the fact that it was incredible value for money, being 5 minutes away from the major sights, it really was a fantastic weekend in a fantastic city. I would not hesitate in returning to this fabulous hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed twice there for a total of 4 nights early Mar 2014 with my wife on our holiday trip to Istanbul. During our first stay, we were upgraded to superior room without extra charge.
Great location - about 4 -5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, and add another 2 minutes away to reach the Sultanahmet Tram Station.
Very friendly and helpful staff and owner, helping and providing us travel tips and advices throughout our stay there. Provided us with useful info on how to get around istanbul and purchase tickets.
Great breakfast, nice and well maintained room. Excellent free wifi coverage in my room.
The owners also speaks fluent english.
I would highly recommend this hotel especially to my friends and relatives if they would like to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This family run hotel is just a short walk from all the sights of Istanbul and you can easily walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia etc. The hotel is small and cosy, rooms nice and clean. The owners did everything they could to make us comfortable and were exceptionally helpful in every aspect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

A family-run hotel whose owners and staff go out of their way to provide an excellent experience. Nice and clean rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast; all included in a super affordable package. Its location is popular with tourists (5 walking minutes to Blue Mosque), there is a little convenience store across the street. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Paying a little extra will get you more space, and apparently some rooms even have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were 3 couples and a baby on our way to Tel Aviv and decided to stop in Istanbul for 2 nights. We selected this hotel because we wanted to stay in the Old City and I must say, for the price we paid, I did not have very high expectations. I was completely wrong! The service we got from every one in the staff was superb. The owner (I believe that his name is Mr. Muharrem) even gave my son and his wife a ride to a restaurant in his personal car. Everything was perfect, and the attention to detail was un-paralleled, from help with our luggage, to a crib for the baby, to clean and well-appointed rooms (including shampoos, conditioners, and other amenities), a fabulous FULL breakfast that included eggs cooked to order and an enormous buffet. No, they did NOT pay me to write this review; I just had to relay what an excellent experience it has been for us to stay there. Looking for a great little hotel in a great location with superb staff and service at a reasonable rate? Look no further than the Basileus.

Room Tip: The room all the way in the back is adjacent to a bar; and sometimes the noise level is a bit high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The ONLY reason this place gets five stars from me is that there is no way for me to award SIX!

Don't believe the other glowing reviews here because they don't go far enough!

Warm, welcoming, EAGER to help, Omar and Ekrem personify Turkish hospitality at its finest, and are always pleasant, friendly, and SO willing to assist!

Seriously, staying here is alone worth visiting Istanbul.

If you have mobility issues, there is no elevator, and you must go uphill to attractions, but its only 5 minutes from Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, etc.

STAY HERE! Just do it!!!!!! If you don't like it, send ME your bill!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.