We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #16 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We simply loved it! The warm welcome that was extended to us from the moment we set foot in the hotel just enveloped us right though our stay. You are greeted with tea. coffee, fruit drink – your choice. Those who get there in the morning are invited to partake of their sumptuous breakfast on the house. Advise on where to shop, what to see, when to see what, and how to get there was always on hand and was so very useful. There are several copies of the Lonely Planet Guide on Istanbul available to you to browse in your room or to take with you on your sightseeing treks. I also noticed a clutch of umbrellas at the entrance so you need not worry even if it is raining. Every evening we came back to tea, coffee served with homemade cake and cookies.
The rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed with everything you need. Free Wi-Fi, tea coffee making facilities, mini bar, hair dryer - the lot. There were 7 of us and we all found the rooms to our liking with nice comfortable beds.
I could not have picked a better location – there are several restaurants round the corner, just 10 minutes to all major attractions, maybe 15 minutes to the Grand Bazar and 5 minutes to the tram line if you wish to get to the ferry point for the Bosphorus Tour. Omar and Ekrem will help you out with anything you need.
I will most certainly go there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    228
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
287
590
93
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best accommodation we had in Turkey during our brief holiday in Oct/Nov 2013. What stands out is the warm, friendly and helpful staff who made our stay so comfortable and memorable. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. A big thank you to Omar and Ekram who went out of their way to help us with anything and everything. It was truly a home away from home. We loved the cookies and cake that greeted us when we got back after hours of walking. I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely “find” in the old city, within walking distance of all major sites and tram. Breakfast was also great. Once again a big thank you to all at Basileus and we hope to see you again some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, more than willing to help. Even budget room far better than expected for the price paid. Good breakfast. Location convenient for the Blue Mosque area. Would use again and recommend to others. (Only problem was with the taxi driver trying to find the hotel when we first arrived.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is cozy, clean and has a pretty good breakfast with made to order omelets. But the high point is the most helpful front desk staff I’ve ever seen after several hundred stays in hotel of all categories in dozens of countries.

They really know what day and hour to go to things, know how long it takes, call to make inquires and never tried to push anything (although I don’t mind at all that they get commission in the Bosporus ship tour I’ve made).

Their restaurant recommendations were also superb. My feet were hurting and they even bought insoles for me while I waited!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor seem to have small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything that's been written about this place is true: location, staff, amenities, experience, comfort... You can buy your wine directly opposite the hotel entrance and other beverages from a very friendly storekeeper just around the corner. We walked everywhere in the Sutanahmed area and the hotel made all other arrangements for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We feel fortunate to have found the Basileus Hotel among all the many choices in Istanbul. Since we agree with all of the positive comments others have posted here, there is nothing to add other than thanking the staff for making our stay so comfortable. The only negative is the hotel is not equipped for the handicapped.

The caring staff truly makes their hotel a "home away from home". Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Basileus before and after a cruise. We were met at the airport and brought to the hotel where we were warmly welcomed by Omar, one of the owners, and bags were taken to our room. There is no elevator. The room was small, but very clean and neat with a small balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning which included fruit, cheese, meats, yogurt, honey, sweets and made to order omelets. The location is great and within a very short walking distance of all the main sites. The owners, Omar and Ekrem, are attentive,friendly and helpful. They helped us plan a spur of the moment day trip to Capadocia in the blink of an eye. It was a wonderful day that was organized perfectly. There is wifi throughout and a computer in the lobby. There is a good restaurant across the street which we enjoyed. Don't miss going into the little Aya Sophia down the street. It is a real gem just across from the hotel that was built in the 6th century. Our thanks again to Omar and Ekrem for helping to make our stay in Istanbul memorable! We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#1 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,521 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#34 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,011 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,011 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.