We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can we say!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What more can we say!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best accommodation we had in Turkey during our brief holiday in Oct/Nov 2013. What stands out is the warm, friendly and helpful staff who made our stay so comfortable and memorable. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. A big thank you to Omar and Ekram who went out of their way to help us with anything and everything. It was truly a home away from home. We loved the cookies and cake that greeted us when we got back after hours of walking. I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely “find” in the old city, within walking distance of all major sites and tram. Breakfast was also great. Once again a big thank you to all at Basileus and we hope to see you again some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    761
    150
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
188
380
65
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, more than willing to help. Even budget room far better than expected for the price paid. Good breakfast. Location convenient for the Blue Mosque area. Would use again and recommend to others. (Only problem was with the taxi driver trying to find the hotel when we first arrived.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is cozy, clean and has a pretty good breakfast with made to order omelets. But the high point is the most helpful front desk staff I’ve ever seen after several hundred stays in hotel of all categories in dozens of countries.

They really know what day and hour to go to things, know how long it takes, call to make inquires and never tried to push anything (although I don’t mind at all that they get commission in the Bosporus ship tour I’ve made).

Their restaurant recommendations were also superb. My feet were hurting and they even bought insoles for me while I waited!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor seem to have small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything that's been written about this place is true: location, staff, amenities, experience, comfort... You can buy your wine directly opposite the hotel entrance and other beverages from a very friendly storekeeper just around the corner. We walked everywhere in the Sutanahmed area and the hotel made all other arrangements for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We feel fortunate to have found the Basileus Hotel among all the many choices in Istanbul. Since we agree with all of the positive comments others have posted here, there is nothing to add other than thanking the staff for making our stay so comfortable. The only negative is the hotel is not equipped for the handicapped.

The caring staff truly makes their hotel a "home away from home". Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to return here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Basileus before and after a cruise. We were met at the airport and brought to the hotel where we were warmly welcomed by Omar, one of the owners, and bags were taken to our room. There is no elevator. The room was small, but very clean and neat with a small balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning which included fruit, cheese, meats, yogurt, honey, sweets and made to order omelets. The location is great and within a very short walking distance of all the main sites. The owners, Omar and Ekrem, are attentive,friendly and helpful. They helped us plan a spur of the moment day trip to Capadocia in the blink of an eye. It was a wonderful day that was organized perfectly. There is wifi throughout and a computer in the lobby. There is a good restaurant across the street which we enjoyed. Don't miss going into the little Aya Sophia down the street. It is a real gem just across from the hotel that was built in the 6th century. Our thanks again to Omar and Ekrem for helping to make our stay in Istanbul memorable! We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the pleasure to go to Istanbul in April with my husband and another couple. We stayed at the Basileus Hotel. I went back in October with a group of friends and of course we wanted to feel like being at home so we stayed at the Basileus again. It is a very nice and cozy hotel, at walking distance from most historic sites in the Sultanahmet district. You can always get on the Tram and the Metro and enjoy the ride. It is a safe place to stay.
They pick you up from the airport, have a clean room with all commodities waiting for you, and if you get there by breakfast time you can also enjoy it. If not, have tea or coffee and fresh desserts which are ready at the coffee table at the entrance.
We loved to sit in the lobby while enjoying these treats and chat, laugh and share our day experiences with our hosts or check our e-mails. Wi-Fi is available at the hotel.
The service is splendid! Everybody is there to help you out, you just have to suggest something and Muharrem, Ekrem, Mustafa, Omer, Nure, and all the rest will try to do their best to guide you around. And if like me, this is your second time, they will treat you as part of their own family.
I still have so much to visit and learn, and yes I will be back, but not alone, a whole part of my family and friends are signing up for next time! Where are we staying? At the Basileus Hotel of course!

Room Tip: I have been on second and third floors, both good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 885 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.