We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing better than being home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing better than being home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What can I say!! The basileus hotel is everything that you could possibly expect from reading the reviews! If you want service that is phenomenal than stay here! From saving me from locals, to organizing bus tickets, airport transfers, assisting with posting items home or just a chat these guys are more than willing to help! I can't begin to explain my heart felt appreciation for everything these guys did for me whilst traveling on my own! You guys helped me create some amazing memories and I will be raving about you guys to everyone I know! If you want a reasonably priced hotel in old Istanbul that is CLEAN this is the place to be!! Thank you to each and everyone one of you for all your help!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    169
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
214
461
72
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

the service was brilliant. the food very good. they lovely cakes at the reception in the afternoon. I had an excellent time there with my friends. the airport transfer was well organised. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our new and now very dear friends at the Basileus Hotel made our first trip to Istanbul both memorable and comfortable. We could not have asked for better service or accommodations. The staff is fantastic, and provides the best possible welcome to one of the most interesting places in the world. The sites of Istanbul combined with the staff at Basileus make for a "can't miss " experience. Location and rooms are hard to surpass. Breakfast is something to savor. We will definitely stay again upon our return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Basileus hotel for 7 nights last 18-25 May, and must say that our stay was this hotel was nothing short of perfect. Ekrem, Yusuf, and the team made our Istanbul experience a wonderful one.

The hotel is located just a few minutes walk to the Hippodrome, Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica Cistern. Further down are the Topkapi Palace, Archeological Museum, and the lovely lovely Gulhane Park. If you enjoy walking, as me and my fiance did, then the touristy parts are very accesible.

Our room was on the 2nd floor and by the street. The noise from the narrow street (passing trucks and cars) was not distracting at all, I have read some reviews and they have preferred staying at the rooms away from the street. The room was very spaceous and comfortable, bathroom in tiptop condition. Breakfast at the basement was plentiful and always a good start to a long day of walking and sight seeing.

All in all, the Basileus hotel was a major bonus in our Istanbul trip, it was such a good place to go back to at the end of the day. They'll even have cakes, coffee, or tea waiting at the lobby when guests come back. A must stay when in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The Basileus Hotel was our home away from home on our 3 week trip to Turkey. We started and ended our trip there and we felt very welcomed and comfortable there. Omar & Ekrem are so friendly & helpful. The cleaning staff do a great job. Breakfast unfortunately is in the basement but plentiful and tasty. The free airport transfer is a great bonus. The rooms are nicely decorated & comfortable. There is street noise but you are on Istanbul!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this hotel to be a very good choice because of the location, and very accommodating staff. They were very quick to respond to all my questions via email before our arrival and they even arranged our airport pickup. We walked for five minutes and we were in the old city where many of the attractions are located. The rooms seemed new because the hotel has only been converted to a hotel for about three years. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. There is even tea in the afternoon served with some Turkish delicacies. The staff tried to help us with everything... what to see, where to eat, how to get to the airport This is a very friendly staff and we could not have felt more welcomed and looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a superb hotel centrally located in the Sultanahmet, with exceptional service 24/7. Very clean, generous breakfast spread and most delicious home baked cakes and biscuits with afternoon tea awaiting you after a busy day of sight seeing!
The hotel is run by a Turkish family who's aim is to make your stay in Istanbul as enjoyable as possible, advising on best places to visit, which restaurants to try and help with bookings over the telephone in the local language.
Highly recommend this hotel - great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 920 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.