We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I would recommended Basileus Hotel to other traveller who planning to visit Istanbul.

The room is very clean, in every each room there's a balcony, also the bathroom they have somekind like a mini jacuzzi, breakfast also very delish!! the location only step away from the central attraction - sultanahmed. nothing perfectly perfect than their hospitality, thank u so much especially for Omar for being very nice to me and explained a whole things about Istanbul, also they arrange a pick up service at the airport and the shuttle bus to the airport

my suggestion, better take a shuttle bus directly to the airport, cost only €5

i definitely would loved to stay again in Basileus for my next visit in Istanbul

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    190
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
232
500
79
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great place to stay while in Istanbul with a very friendly, helpful staff that can't do enough to help you navigate this city! Yusef and Akrim in particular were very helpful in assisting us and we will definately be back to Instanbul and this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to truly experience Istanbul. First of all, the location is perfect. It is in ideal walking distance to all the important sites. Secondly, the staff is so friendly. They will do anything to help you out. Not speaking any Turkish, they were able to order pizzas for me one of the nights. Also, they will sit down with you and show you the best sites to see in Istanbul. Thirdly, it is a great value. The free breakfast, free internet, free soft drink mini bar, was an incredible value! Also, if you pay in cash you get a 5% discount, so I would recommend that as well. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel, so I hope that many others decide to stay here.
Note: You should bring a pair of earplugs, if you don't want to be awaken at 6:30am by the call to prayer.

Room Tip: An upper floor room can be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel without the coldness of a hotel, front desk people always with smile & help in any way, rooms are very clean good size, breakfast good with a cook who makes great omelette, the hotel is walkin distance to all sights, restaurants, nearby even fish markets, the decor of the hotel is unique, one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in & truly recommend it

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor no lift but staff help with luggage room was good size with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had a great time in Istanbul and it was enhanced because of my stay in this hotel. Just to mentions a few things:
- Great location - only a few minutes walk from the main attractions
- Very clean
- Got very personal service. I got great advice on what all to see and when to see. They even called cab for me so that I am not ripped off. And the best was, I did not have any lira and I was loaned TK200 and I only paid it back the day I checked out.
- Staff was very polite and helpful
- Breakfast was decent
- Price was very good for the quality and service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Loved this little hotel. We stayed here on our last night in Istanbul. The hotel was very clean, very new, the room was beautiful with an updated tub. Staff was very friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was great! The only fault--and this universal from our experience in Turkey--is that the bed was rock hard. But, we absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I've never received such great service at a hotel of any size; Basileus staff went above and beyond in every way. The electricity went out once in awhile and hot water was limited, but that comes standard in a city as old as Istanbul. Breakfast was great, location key for seeing the old city, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and plan to stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.