We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 917 hotels in Istanbul
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Option!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent in total 5 nights at the Basileus hotel and the experience was very good.Location is excellent, walking distance from the main attarctions in Itsanbul. The personnel of the hotel is extremely friendly and completely available when you need help! Great recommendations on restaurants or any other option. The hotel is clean and breakfast is really good! Nothing else to ask!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    849
    165
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
213
449
70
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's a modest hotel, don't expect a pool, or a spa. But do expect excellent attitude, fast Internet, decent size and very clean room, great breakfast, and a very convenient location. We are very glad we found them, and would recommend them to anyone, unless you are looking for luxuries. Use their shuttle on the way in, cabbies just don't know the place.

Room Tip: Street noise might be a bit of an issue on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

To echo the other reviews, we loved everything about our stay here. The rooms are modern and comfortable with open windows, fridge/microwave and flat screen tvs. Everything was very clean and we had a little sitting area for reading and relaxing. The included breakfast was also excellent, fresh and tons of variety. We took advantage of the airport pickup which was very convenient and nice not to have to worry about on our first trip to a new city.

As most others have noted, the people who run this hotel are the absolute best! This was perfect for our first stop on our first trip to Turkey. They were always available to make excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. They also helped to explain the different local food options and recommend a variety of places - seafood, street food, traditional meals, etc.

I also loved the location of this hotel. It was on a side street but walking distance to many many sites and places to eat so it was super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As others have said, for most people, there's not reason to look anywhere else. The rooms, although not spacious, have plenty of space. The bathroom is modern. The room is clean. The breakfast is varied and wonderful. It's a short walk to the tram and many of the sites.

But most of all, it's the feeling that you're not in a hotel, but staying with friends. You're greeted by name when you come in, and there is no request that is too difficult. They help plan an itinerary, give directions, help look up where I can go see a football game that night, and, in my case, go to the room to make sure I left my passport there.

Don't let the low price fool you. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Basileus is the place to stay if you visit for the first time Istanbul. Very well located, new and with an amazing staff that help you with any request you have and makes you feel at home. We came back to the hotel for our second stay in Istanbul and we will come back again if we go to Istanbul in the future. It was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good hotel for the money, and the best staff I've ever experienced. Other reviewers have talked about the noise; my experience with that was mixed. At first they put us in room 302, a lovely and well-lit corner room right on the street intersection. It was truly noisy (especially during the call to prayer), and after mentioning that to the front desk they immediately moved us to room 206, a smaller room with fewer windows facing the inner courtyard. It was very quiet and suited us well. A few things were not up to par like the severely leaning bath vanity shelf and soap dish... but for the price it was very good overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

it was a perfect choice basileushotel if you want to be very close to old City in istanbul.yusuf and akrem work like a guide for you.for restaurant Museum,tickets and many Other tips about the City.
I will come back to your nice City again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 917 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.