We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

After 4 nights at a business conference in the "new" city, my husband and I moved to this hotel for 3 nights on our own as tourists. What a difference, and what a delight! Room was spotless and well appointed, breakfast very good, and the staff enormously helpful. They told us about a nearby mosque and haman that we never would have found otherwise, and were always available to answer questions and assist. I would definitely stay there again and heartily recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    195
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
235
505
80
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our first room was dark and the bed was against the wall but we asked to be changed and we ended up with a very nice, quiet room. It was nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. In that area there are many other hotels that are probably nice but I cannot imagine that they would be as welcoming. The staff absolutely bent over backwards to help us and make us feel comfortable. They gave us fruit 2 days and the breakfast was very good. With our tour we moved to another, much more expensive hotel that certainly didn't make us omelets on request as this hotel did.

Room Tip: The street isn't noisy but you might ask to be at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked a 14-day tour of Turkey, but felt they slighted Istanbul, so we came 2 days early and stayed at the Basileus to make sure we saw the old city at our leisure. It was an excellent decision and the Basileus was perfect for our needs. A short uphill walk from the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi, close to several small bazaars and shops, walking distance from good restaurants and the Grand Bazaar. The staff were extremely kind, tolerant and helpful. The rooms were clean and cheerful with room safes and a refer and the included breakfast was quite good. We liked the Basileus much better than the tour hotel which was in the industrial new city on a noisy street with car repair and spare parts stores. At several points on the tour, we pined for the charm and intimacy of the Basileus. Special kudos to Yusef who went above and beyond good service to show us the warmth and hospitality of his city.

Room Tip: Several ground floor rooms overlook a local restaurant, but the noise was minimal and having a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved this welll-located hotel in Istanbul. It is within walking distance of the main attractions of the old town and the staff at reception are very firendly and helpfull. Book directly with them for free airport transfers. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia, this reasonably priced hotel was great value. The staff remembered us each time we returned to the hotel and went out of their way to offer suggestions to see various places in Istanbul and to get the most from our time there.

The room was very clean and comfortable (although the lighting was quite dim throughout the hotel) and the breakfasts amazing.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just returned from Istanbul where we spent a week - a combination of leisure and business. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to spend the first half of our stay at Basileus, and it was the right decision. It starts with the free airport transfer and ends with clean, comfortable rooms and free Wifi. Once arrived, we learned everything we needed to know from the friendly staff who even bought tickets online for the Hagia Sophia for us with their own credit card as ours didn't work. And when we checked out and only realised on the way out that we actually still had to pay for a few cool drinks from the minibar, we got them for free. So tell me, where does that still happen? At least not at the business hotel which we used for the second half of our stay which was more than double of the price we paid at Basileus and had really not great service. We can recommend Basileus Hotel highly to anyone who looks for the perfect place to stay in Istanbul!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Sep 2012 & could not have been happier. Rather than a hotel, it’s like staying with a couple of friends. For us, it’s not just the comfort & location (which are both fantastic), it’s the people & Ekrem & Yusuf could teach the staff of some 5 Stars the real meaning of friendly personal service. They know the old city backwards & could not have been more friendly or helpful in advice, recommendations & arranging trips, entrance tickets, etc. Our room was lovely (301), location 300 metres from the Blue Mosque & the breakfasts great. Wouldn’t stay anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.