We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay at the Basileus Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Basileus Hotel to your Saves list
Basileus Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The best stay at the Basileus Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a lovely week at the Basileus. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Our room, No 206 was very nice and tastefully furnished. There is air conditioning and double glazing, we also had a small balcony It was quiet, spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed with a two comfortable armchairs and an ottoman.
The shower was excellent and there was a large bath. The bath was quiet high so care had to be taken getting in and out of the shower.
There was a bar fridge in the room to keep your water cool which was great.
There isn't tea and coffee making facilities in the room but there is Coffee and Turkish Tea available in the foyer which is complimentary - we would take it to our room and have it there.

Ekrem, Yusef and Omar were always available with helpful information and a friendly welcome when we’d get home after a long day. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended places to eat - all excellent choices. Ekrem even booked our tickets for the palace online saving us a wait in a long queue to buy them.

Breakfast was very good with something for everyone and always a good selection of fresh fruit. Omelette was available if requested and was excellent.

The location is good, an easy walk from the hotel to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica System and Topkapi Palace. It is also a short walk to the tram stop. The Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market are also an easy walk from the hotel.

We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We would advise requesting an upstairs room to the back and away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    191
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
232
501
79
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this wonderful place. It is about a 10 min walk (slightly uphill) to the Hippodrome where the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc are located.
The rooms are clean and well-equipped incl fridge with free water and a safe. Breakfast is in the basement with a variety of selections. They will also prepare omelets and Turkish coffee.
The best thing about this hotel is its staff who are friendly, helpful, polite and eager to please. The brothers (Omer & Ekrem) assisted us in many ways and are very easy to talk to. A true representation of Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just returned from my trip and could not wait to write this review.

Three words: Free Airport Transfer. Enough said.

This is not a luxury hotel, it is a very average hotel with very standard rooms. So this review is based on knowing what you're getting for the money. In sincerity, this hotel exceeded my expectations by far. This isn't the Ritz, you have to take all factors under consideration. So let's begin.

The precise location itself is not exactly pretty, though I would be hard pressed to say that any part of Istanbul would qualify in this regard. It is consistent with other neighborhoods and it feels very safe. I walked on many nights alone or with my travel companion and neither of us girls felt even remotely concerned.

The hotel is very well located, it is a short five minute walk to the primary tourist sights (i.e., Aya Sofya, The Blue Mosque, Underground Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi, etc.). It is also quite easy to reach the tram stop which can take you down to the Spice Bizarre or across the bridge (though just as easily reached by foot depending on how much you enjoy walking).

Breakfast was standard Turkish fare and was sufficient, though it did not vary from day to day (deli meats, cheeses, hardboiled eggs, omelettes (upon request), olives, yogurt, breads and fruit).

The SERVICE - these people truly understand what it means to work in the HOSPITALITY industry. They have it nailed, they should be offering training sessions to other hotels. Patience, exceptional service, always polite, willing, helpful, pleasant, eager to assist. The best part about it, the overall demeanor never seemed fake, they were truly pleased to provide you information on their city and determined to ensure you enjoyed your stay. Provided directions when needed, excellent dining recommendations, arranged our taxi for the airport for our outbound travel and more.

I know a couple of people mentioned something about having to switch rooms and overbooking, but neither my travel companions (4 of us) or any others (during our week long stay) seemed to ever have an issue at all.

There was another note about the street level rooms being noisy - I have to say, I had one of those rooms and I am a relatively light sleeper - I never once heard traffic or any other noise for that matter during the night.

If you are going to Istanbul, there is no question, you should not even think twice about staying here.

LOVED IT.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff of the Hotel Basileus was very accommodating and helpful. They helped us plan our visit, wrote out directions on a map, etc.

They also allowed a late checkout.

Breakfast was quite extensive and included made-to-order omelets. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and spacious. The Basileus is located midway between the Hippodrome and the waterfront (including the fish market and restaurants), so it was very handy for exploring.

Room Tip: As for a room on the backside to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Basileus hotel is located in a quiet street in the old town of Istanbul, Sultanahmet, just 5 minutes walk from the Hippodrome, Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque and Basilica. The hotel is very welcoming. After we arrived and checked in the manager Yusef took about 30 minutes to help us plan our visit, places to see and where to go. He had lots of advice and tips and really helped us make the bast use of our time. The room itself was very nice. It was a good size, very clean, comfortable bed, nicely decorated, had a TV and a safe and free wifi, which was great. There was also air condidtioning although we didn't use it as the ceilings were high and the ventilation was fine without it. The bathroom was spotlessly clean with ample toiletries and towels supplied. In the lobby/entrance area there were sofas, magazines, a television, free tea/coffee/water and lots of tourist information leaflets. The staff on duty greeted us warmly every time we went past and asked us about our day, where we had been etc. The staff made recommendations and reservations at restaurants for us and as a result we went to some amazing venues for meals. The breakfast in the hotel was very nice there was a good range of hot and cold food available along with fresh coffee and juices and every day we were asked if we would like a specially made omelette, which was delicious. The prices are excellent for the quality of the hotel and service received. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. The hotel also arranged our airport transport and sent a follow up email after we had returned home to thank us for our stay. It's just a brilliant base for a visit to Istanbul and has left us with very fond memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Basileus was our 7th and last place to stay after 3 weeks around Turkey, and it was certainly one of the best. The lobby is lovely, the room was impeccably clean (though a tad small for a family of 4), and the hotel was the all-out champion as far as the free buffet breakfast was concerned. Huge variety, and they even prepare a turkish coffee upon request. Our host Mustafa was most welcoming, super friendly and always available to answer our questions and recommend places to visit or eat. The hotel is located down the hill from Sultanhamet Park, so it is a bit sweaty to get up there in the summer heat, but once you do... wow! Be careful when you exit the hotel, though. The sidewalk is almost nonexistent, and traffic can be pretty fast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, ak
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Superb hotel! Wonderful staff! Very friendly and helpful in locating things and pointing out places of interest! Across the street from Kucuk Aya Sofya and a few blocks from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and other sites in Istanbul. Lovely breakfast with hot and cold items! A home away from home! Would surely go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 945 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basileus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.