We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"glories of turkey" 2 week tour Neon / Key tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neon Tours - Day Tours

Neon Tours - Day Tours
No13/3 34349 Esentepe-, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 212 274 9000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$15*
and up
Ranked #128 of 280 Tours & Activities in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"glories of turkey" 2 week tour Neon / Key tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I travel a lot but have never done a group tour and were a little worried about the strictness of it, the pack mentality like feeling you are in school. We were pleasantly suprised that it wasnt like that at all.
There were no problems at all on the tour. Easy airport pick up - Lufthansa lost our luggage and we were waiting an hour after landing to try and figure it out - but our transfer bus driver was there waiting for us with a sign. Luggage came 2 days later.
we only had 12 people on the entire tour, so im sure that is rare. So check ins at hotels were very smooth. all the rooms were amazing (Pammulke not so great, you can read my hotel reviews separately). Food varied (also, Pammulke Pan Thermal not so great) but by and large was decent or sometimes amazing (Cappadocia's Lykia Lodge).
The bus was temp was perfect, we stopped as needed for bathroom breaks and snacks (and lunch), and there was always communication if a stop was not needed (because we were such a small group).
Our tour guide, Ali, was young and well versed in all things Turkish, from history to current events, geography and ethnography. She was personable and approachable. Our driver did his job well, as did Turguy the driver's assistant who was at our beck and call whenever needed. We would see him cleaning and scrubbing the bus every night, even though it gets washed at every gas station stop!
We got this trip from a groupon and it was well worth the money. The hotels were all very expensive (posted prices) and the museums and attractions that are ALL included would add up quickly.
Believe it or not, i only spent $50 the entire 2 weeks. i only ate a few lunches because the breakfasts were huge and I'd usually grab a piece of fruit or a yogurt for the road. I dont buy many souveniers, but did buy a scarf some candies, magnets. i got a few drinks, lots of water, bathrooms (they cost 1 TL/ $.50 even at rest areas and some restaraunts), we went out to eat 2x in Istanbul, a few doner kabobs - all for $50! when everything is included you really dont need much extra cash.
none of the sites were packed except Ephesis and Pammulke, but even then you could find an area not as crowded.
there was plenty of time given to see everything, and sometimes we would ask for more time if we all agreed we needed it.
It is a big country and wake up calls can be early, but that is the only way to see it all. To maximize drive time lunch would always be at roadside restaurants and 'truck stops'. they dont do 'fast food' or 'to go' premade stuff in Turkey, so these were all sit down meals - that i usually skipped to go expore the area or pet a friendly stray dog or cat.
Ankara was the only visit that was 'boring' compared to the amazing other cities/towns. but Ataruk's masoleum was cool, and it is half way from Cappadocia and Istanbul, so the stop is needed. The hotel in Ankara is next to a HUGE mall, and the saunas and steam rooms (included!) are the things to do.
Our travel agent Vicki Sachs from Key Tours (Neon's american partner) was great and answered every question and email so promptly! She even, without my asking, got us a flight from PHL (where we live) so we didnt have to get to JFK for NO EXTRA COST! that is service, and that is what makes you use the same service/agent again and again.
in all we had a great, stress free time and would do a group tour again in a heart beat esp if it is thru Neon Tours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neontoursistanbul, General Manager at Neon Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As Neon Tours we are delighted and honored receiving a lovely e-mails from our quests praising our staff and services. It is our utmost duty to give our guests the best services that we can offer during their stay in Turkey. In order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we do pay so much attention to each and every detail such as selection of the hotels, deciding on the places to visit and last but not the least selection of our team members.

We do share your e-mails with our tour directors and we are very proud of having such kind of individuals and a great guides in our team.

On the other hand we are extremely happy with the guest survey results that we conduct periodically. It is a well proof that as Neon Group we do exceed our company goals and guests expectations. We are always eager to continue our spotless and caring services.

Once again we would like to thank you on behalf of Neon Team and looking forward to be able at your service on your next trip to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    6
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Good overview of the main sites - Classic Istanbul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I only had one day in Istanbul and had contacted guide services offering basically the same tour for far higher prices (up to 400 US) than the $67 I paid with Viator/Neon. I was pleased with 90% of the tour. It was very efficiently run by an experienced and genial guide, Omar. I liked that he took time to acquaint the small group to the site, offering history and instructions. Then he gave us sufficient time to explore on our own. The only sour note was the carpet store - really annoying how they basically trap you in a room with carpet salesmen on the pretext of a "demonstration". My group wanted none of it and basically ran for the exit at the first opportunity. But overall I felt I got what I signed up for: a good overview of the main sights at a great price (all attraction tickets and lunch were included).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neontoursistanbul, General Manager at Neon Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
As Neon Tours we are delighted and honored receiving a lovely e-mails from our quests praising our staff and services. It is our utmost duty to give our guests the best services that we can offer during their stay in Turkey. In order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we do pay so much attention to each and every detail such as selection of the hotels, deciding on the places to visit and last but not the least selection of our team members.

We do share your e-mails with our tour directors and we are very proud of having such kind of individuals and a great guides in our team.

On the other hand we are extremely happy with the guest survey results that we conduct periodically. It is a well proof that as Neon Group we do exceed our company goals and guests expectations. We are always eager to continue our spotless and caring services.

Once again we would like to thank you on behalf of Neon Team and looking forward to be able at your service on your next trip to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value, extremely interesting and informative.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with firstly our guide Omar. Firstly he arrived promptly for the start of our Classical Tour of Istanbul. His English was excellent, so all commentary was easily understood. As he had been doing these tours for many years, his knowledge was outstanding. He took us to the Blue Mosque, Hora Mosque, Basilica Cisterns, Topkapi PaLace and the Grand Bazaar. Very informative, and gave incite into life of the Ottoman empire. We were shown a demonstration of carpet manufacturing, greeted with drinks, and obviously there was expectation to buy. They weren't too pushy. Lunch was included, taken to Omars restaurant( no relation), food was average, coffees and drinks were extra at inflated prices. Eg 15 lire glass of local wine. The day tour was a fabulous way to learn about the history of Istanbul.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neontoursistanbul, General Manager at Neon Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
As Neon Tours we are delighted and honored receiving a lovely e-mails from our quests praising our staff and services. It is our utmost duty to give our guests the best services that we can offer during their stay in Turkey. In order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we do pay so much attention to each and every detail such as selection of the hotels, deciding on the places to visit and last but not the least selection of our team members.

We do share your e-mails with our tour directors and we are very proud of having such kind of individuals and a great guides in our team.

On the other hand we are extremely happy with the guest survey results that we conduct periodically. It is a well proof that as Neon Group we do exceed our company goals and guests expectations. We are always eager to continue our spotless and caring services.

Once again we would like to thank you on behalf of Neon Team and looking forward to be able at your service on your next trip to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Western Dream Turkey 8 day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On the whole this tour would suit most people, it is a fast tour, in that you get to see alot of sights.
Our flight was cancelled at Dubai from Melbourne via Kuala Lumpur, therefore we arrived one day late, but Neon Tour company still were able to transfer us to the hotel, straight onto our bus tour, this was quite a plus, most tour companies would not do this. We were able to see all the major attractions, and were given quite alot of information/history. Not a lot of time for relaxing as we were of early in the morning and came back quite late in the day.
The only negative was the fact that we were taken to lunch places where there was no competition, and quite often you did not know what cost what until someone came to the table and gave you the bill - I would rather have an informed choice, especially what I am paying for. Overall quite a good tour, we were very lucky to have a good group to share this experience with.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neontoursistanbul, General Manager at Neon Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
As Neon Tours we are delighted and honored receiving a lovely e-mails from our quests praising our staff and services. It is our utmost duty to give our guests the best services that we can offer during their stay in Turkey. In order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we do pay so much attention to each and every detail such as selection of the hotels, deciding on the places to visit and last but not the least selection of our team members.

We do share your e-mails with our tour directors and we are very proud of having such kind of individuals and a great guides in our team.

On the other hand we are extremely happy with the guest survey results that we conduct periodically. It is a well proof that as Neon Group we do exceed our company goals and guests expectations. We are always eager to continue our spotless and caring services.

Once again we would like to thank you on behalf of Neon Team and looking forward to be able at your service on your next trip to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“True value for money and an enriching experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Three of us booked full day Istanbul tour by Viator, Neon tours were their local operatives.Booked the tour online on Saturday afternoon for Sunday morning and got a confirmation call and pick up point with in 2 hours. It was a small group of 5 of us with Siveliay Tomak.as our tour guide. It was a wonderful trip, saw all the important historical places. Trip included all entrance tickets (Hagia Sophia 20TL,Topkapi palace 20TL, Cistern 10TL) and a wonderful lunch. No need to stand in long ques, buying tickets. It saves a lot of time and overall was more economical. Sivellay Tomak is an amazing person with good knowledge of the Turkish history and explained about it in a very gentle manner. She is an extremely caring person and goes out of the way to do her best for the guests. I will strongly recommend to take this tour, a true value for money and an enriching experience. Thanks Sivellay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neontoursistanbul, General Manager at Neon Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
As Neon Tours we are delighted and honored receiving a lovely e-mails from our quests praising our staff and services. It is our utmost duty to give our guests the best services that we can offer during their stay in Turkey. In order to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we do pay so much attention to each and every detail such as selection of the hotels, deciding on the places to visit and last but not the least selection of our team members.

We do share your e-mails with our tour directors and we are very proud of having such kind of individuals and a great guides in our team.

On the other hand we are extremely happy with the guest survey results that we conduct periodically. It is a well proof that as Neon Group we do exceed our company goals and guests expectations. We are always eager to continue our spotless and caring services.

Once again we would like to thank you on behalf of Neon Team and looking forward to be able at your service on your next trip to Turkey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neon Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Neon Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neon Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.