We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Kadirga Liman Cad. Bardakci Sok. No:18 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 770 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Guestrow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in Sultanahmed. Our room was realy nice and clean. The bathroom is very small, but I dont need a huge bathroom. It is situated right on the street and do it is noisy. We had our breakfast in a restaurant in the street and it was very good. The staff was very friendly. I can highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
15
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have chosen this hotel based on the reviews in here but it turned out to be a great disappointment.

We have stayed before in Istanbul, even in Sultanahmet area and I know that the rooms are small, but the one we received was very tiny.

Between the beds and the wall you had a space of 30 cm to pass to the bathroom. Our room was located on the top floor where the breakfast area was situated so, all the mornings we have been awakened by the noise made by lady who was preparing the food and by the travelers who were eating. Also the cleaning was like non existent.

The personnel was not very friendly, there was only one guy at the reception, the one who speaks English, who was nice.

The hotel is located in a very poor neighborhood, and it’s quite tricky to get to a tram station (lots of little narrow streets going uphill).

The pluses for this hotel, were the free internet, the breakfast, which was good and the fact that we could use the breakfast area/space to have a drink in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Find somewhere else to stay - there are plenty of other better places in Sultanahmet with similar prices. Our family (of 4) has travelled in Turkey (yes, even in Sultanahmet area, and on a budget, so we are not fussy) often, and this hotel is NOTHING like the reviews or the photos (which are cropped to block out undesireable parts of views). Breakfast was way substandard for the typical Turkish bkfst (even in low budget places). Staff (owner and breakfast attendant) were not friendly at all, as we have come to know at other places in Istanbul. I really cannot understand the positive reviews that are posted, especially the "wonderful breakfast" stuff. Anyway, if you do stay here, at least you have our input (and warning)...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a reservation at Yakamoz Hostel, but, on seeing the state and condition of the hostel (TINY rooms) we decided to stay at King Palace Hotel instead. Room was spacious enough for two, small bathroom area (on the plus side it was private, unlike the one at the hostel), 5min walk to Sultanahmet tram station, breakfast included in the rate (fruits, eggs, cold meats, bagels / rolls, variety of juices, teas etc)...

The guy at reception is literally the only one who is able to speak english (few people speak English surprisingly enough), but it incredibly friendly and always willing to help out with any needs or requests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

When we arrived at this hotel I wasn't that impressed as the neighbourhood seemed a little rundown but I soon realised it was a great place to stay. The guy at the front desk was so kind and helpful always ready to go the extra mile for us. He made us feel like such honoured guests. The breakfasts were wonderful and we were offered a breakfast when we arrived early which was such a nice touch.
The neighbourhood turned out to be a friendly area and it was wonderfully close to all the great sites of Istanbul. Our room was large and sunny so for an inexpensive hotel we couldn't have wished for more. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

First of all, we were not booked in at this hotel. We had a reservation at the Byzas Hotel, just down the road. When we got there, Orhan, the friendly manager, served us coffee, then told us he had good news and bad news. The bad news was that he didn’t have a room for us due to some double-booking problem; the good news was that he had arranged a room for us at a nicer hotel down the road for the same price. He took us to the King Palace Hotel, where we were given a lovely ground floor triple room, with air-con, and an excellent breakfast (an extra one as we had arrived early enough in the morning). The breakfast is a buffet with a wide variety of cheeses, olives, sliced meats and a greater choice of juices than we've seen anywhere in Turkey – and nice halva. It is served on the top floor with views over the Marmara Sea. Tea and coffee are available anytime. One comment about the breakfast though - Although it is overall a great breakfast, everything is put back in the fridge for the next day, so the freshness of some things is in doubt, and they did sometimes run out of certain items. There was only one boiled egg left for our last breakfast, something unheard of in our experience with Turkish breakfasts.

We actually had a choice of two rooms, the other one, upstairs, being fairly small. Our room seemed to be the best in the hotel, the downside being that the bathroom was small, and had a toilet with no lid. There was some English television and WiFi worked well.

The only concern we had was that there was not much security on the ground floor, with windows that opened easily. However, while we were resting that morning we heard a lot of banging and other construction sounds outside, and when we looked again all the windows were now protected by security bars. We did feel a lot safer! Apparently this had been organised some time previously and we just happened to be there when they turned up to do it.

The security grids were not the only transformation that took place. When we got back from exploring Sultanahmet later in the day we were asked to go up and have a coffee, as they were moving out our wardrobe and replacing it with a new one. In fact they were doing that with all the rooms. Presumably they were trying to make it more like a King’s Palace, but I think a lid for the toilet should be first priority! The new wardrobe had to be moved a bit as it hid the power point and one of the doors was partly blocked by the extra bed. In any case, there was a built-in-robe behind the new wardrobe, which could not be used as it was blocked by the wardrobe. At least they were making an effort to furnish the place in a more appealing way.

Official checkout time is 11 a.m., but we were told we could stay until 12 noon. At 11:45 a.m. there was a knock on the door and we were told we had to leave immediately – a bit difficult, especially as my wife was in the shower. They told us someone was waiting to check into the room. We managed to get out within ten minutes, and they were happy to look after our bags at reception.

When we returned in the evening to collect our bags, the young man at reception helped us charge our camera battery, and let us rest upstairs for half an hour and have a coffee. When we asked for a toilet, he gave us the key to our old room, all nicely made up. He told us the reservation hadn’t turned up. The impression we had got was that someone was waiting outside anxious to get into the room. Perhaps they saw that the toilet had no lid and decided not to stay!

Staying at King Palace was an adventure in itself. We did enjoy our stay in a very nice room, and it was excellent value for what we paid. We might have felt differently if we had paid the usual price.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best, on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I was not entirely displeased with the hotel. It was reasonably clean. The location was not as good as their listings indicated. I made a booking through an online booking site (which I will not name here) which was confirmed. I was surprised to find out upon arrival that the room was not available for the week-long booking. The owner/manager told me, after I had showed him my booking confirmation, that his email wasn't working and that I should have called. After a lengthy argument, he agreed to let me have the room for 2 nights and promised to arrange another hotel for me after that. We agreed that I would pay him the total price on the booking confirmation. The two nights were fine. Then I was moved to a hotel of an entirely lower standard, the Altun. My complaints were met with assurances that this new hotel usually cost even more than the King Palace. There is no way this was possible. It was also in a different neighborhood. I was assured that there were no rooms in the city right then because of a "Shopping Festival" that was ongoing. The truth of the matter is that these guys wanted to charge more than they had listed online and knew they could if they had a last-minute room free for someone else.

Suffice it to say that this added a great deal of stress to an academic research trip which needed no more stress added.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Kadirga Liman Cad. Bardakci Sok. No:18 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 770 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel is a family run hotel with 10 rooms . Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel is well located and walking distance to all touristic attractions.. Such as Hagia Sophia,Blue Mosque, Underground Cistern,Topkapı Palace, Grand Bazaar and to the public transportation. its right next to Small hagia Sophia Mosque in turkish Kucuk ayasofya..All rooms are cozy. equipped with LCD screen TV with Satellite, Hair dryer, ,Air conditioning,Towels and linens. There is a terrace with sea view where you have the breakfast. breakfast is served as open buffet.A part from that at the terrace Coffee and Tea Facilities available for you all day along.. Our aim is to make you feel like home.. The Hotel staff will help you for any information you need about sight seeing. Airport transportation is also available with cost. you can get information about that via e-mail. we are looking forward to guest you.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultanahmet King Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.