We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bar in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orient Bar

Orient Bar
Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Pera Palace Hotel, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
90 212 251 45 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 1,271 things to do in Istanbul
Attraction details
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Best bar in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you want a historical setting, great service and a damn good drink in Istanbul, this is the spot. The atmosphere is fantastic; it's like going back in time to the heyday of the Orient Express. Add to that the fact the the service is impeccable- not usually the case in Istanbul, and I think I can say that after living here for some years.. And they know how to pour some great cocktails. There are plenty of options (my favorites usually involve champagne) but I'd recommend the Pink Love. Delicious.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Appalling Rip-Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I visited the the Orient Bar expecting a meal and atmosphere redolent of the golden-age glamour once associated with this place, but I was dismayed to find that the recent renovations were entirely tasteless and had stripped the bar of any of its former glory. Rather than evoking the feel of the Belle Époque, the gaudy interior design and excessively loud rap music served only to distract. This bar, like the hotel itself, is having an identity crisis–does it want to be a faded relic at the expense of revenue or a tacky nightclub at the expense of its dignity?

The food was decidedly below average, and it certainly did not warrant the bill of 130 TRY (75 USD) for two drinks, two appetizers, and two deserts. I have never experienced such highway robbery in my life! The glass of Pinot Grigio (12 USD) tasted like it came from a supermarket, and the Tiramisu (10 USD) was insipid and stale. Overall, the Pera Palace and the Orient Bar were a shocking disappointment. They certainly cannot count on my business ever again unless serious changes are made.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't even think to leave Istanbul without visiting this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Istanbul, present times...
You are walking in the middle of the night along some nice street in Pera district. Windy weather, full moon in the shiny clouds, marvelous examples of european architecture mixed with Ottoman styles of the middle of 19th century..
And suddenly you pass some nice bar or hotel restaurant. Looks bourgeois from outside. This is legendary Pera Palace Hotel! "It's half past one, let's have a drink and get back home", your companion says. You enter an empty lobby hesitantly, find Orient Bar and take a place in the corner on some red velvet couch. It's dark, light s reflected in chandeliers. Waiter brings you "Pera Style" cocktail in a fine old champagne glass.
Just one drop of ambrosia on your tongue.... And you slowly start to feel as a first-class passenger of Oriental Express, who has just arrived in Constantinopolis, and dreams about future pleasures and mysteries of the East are taking you over and over... it's 1903.
You will leave in an hour, but you will never forget this night!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Romantic Glamour - evocative of another age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Pera Palas has had a tremendous and very sympathetic refurb and the Orient Bar is probably the most glamorous spot in Istanbul. Lovely cocktails and the ambience is really memorable.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Appalling service at the Orient Bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We came in for a drink on the terrace of the Orient bar and were alternately ignored and then waited on completely inefficiently and haphazardly. We finally ordered a bottle of wine after several requests for a wine list - and then our waitress emptied the entire bottle in our glasses without presenting the bottle or allowing anyone to taste it. We had no napkins with our snacks, didn't get water after several requests....etc etc.
And then we were charged for a bottle of wine 3x the price of what we ordered and drank! (we disputed and they charged us for the bottle we actually had).
Not worth the 5star prices at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orient Bar also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Orient Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orient Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.