We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had great time in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City of Sultans Day Tours

City of Sultans Day Tours
Barbaros Bulvari Dortyuzlucesme Sokak | Gunes Apt. No:2 Kat:5, Besiktas, Istanbul, Turkey
+90 212 327 2393+90 212 327 2393
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$75*
and up
Ranked #104 of 543 Activities in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our services includes, private tours, combined tours, gulet and yatching tours, incentive tours, congress and meetings, city sightseeing tours all around Turkey and Greece
Imary, Japan
2 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“We had great time in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I am a traveller and this was my first time visit to Istanbul with my collegues. We have chosen City Of Sultans by an advise of my mother-in-law who has used City of sultans services in Istanbul last year. First of all I advise you to request Eren Bolek as your tour guide. He cares about all your requests and answers all your questions about the city, history and he always helpful to tell you where to eat, shop and have fun in your free times. All of my friends were happy about vehicles used while transfers and tours. Qinn hotel is close to Sultanahmet area. It's a well-located boutique hotel.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityofsultans, Guest Relations Manager at City of Sultans Day Tours, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Cenker, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to serve you in Turkey. We are looking forward to see you and your collegues in Turkey again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    11
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
1 review
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with "City of Sultans"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our experience with our tour guide, Eren Bolek, and the team at the "City of Sultans" was extraordinary. We were a group of 18 young professionals representing the "World Affairs Council" in Houston. We booked a three day tour including transfers to and from the airport. The primary purpose of our trip was learn about the history and culture of Turkey as well as current world affairs issues. Eren Bolek was fun, engaging, and well versed in the cultural and heritage of Turkey. Eren was able to give us a truly authentic experience and was very candid in offering useful advice that would steer us away from the tourist traps, etc. Eren provided captivating stories about both the historical and modern day Turkey that went beyond the typical information found in a travel guidebook. It seems that everyone in Istanbul knows Eren. We had another tour guide also accompany our group named "Didem". She was also very kind and helpful. Both Eren and Didem stayed with us beyond the time they were "hired" to ensure that our needs were completely satisfied. The drivers were also very friendly and talented at navigating the narrow streets. The team at "City of Sultans" treated us like family. It was a truly personalized experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, CA
1 review
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Two days in Istanbul with Eren Bolek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were on a family trip of 10 adults / 7 children and had prearranged a private tour of Istanbul through a US-based travel coordinator. Eren Bolek from City of Sultans was our guide for the two days and he was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and explained the sites from all perspectives: historic, political, religious. Eren was able to have our group navigate through long lines and gave the best advice regarding places to eat and where to get the best deals when shopping at the Spice Market. Since we were not completely time-restricted and not part of a cruise shore excursion, we were able to lengthen or shorten our duration at the various places. Eren and the driver did a very excellent job in getting us close to where we needed to be (we had 2 strollers to deal with) and back to our cruise ship in time. This was our first visit to Istanbul and I would definitely return for a visit and keep in touch with Eren for some tips.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Company, Eren is amazing and Istanbul is Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a great company from what I can tell. I took a day tour with Eren and he was amazing showing me all of the old town and highlighting all the best sights. We did not have to wait in any lines as he was very well connected. On the 2nd day, apparently City of Sultans let another company host me as Eren was not well. It was She Tours and they were very disorganized with poor servies and non-engaged guides. I HIGHLY recommend Eren and City of Sultans, however confirm if they will utilize She Tours for any of the services and say NO to that part... Thanks

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Way to experience Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were a group of 4 and booked the 5 day tour including transfers, hotel and 2.5 day program. We were very happy with the organization of the tour. I organized everything with Ozgur and he was extremely courteous and helpful getting everything set up for our trip. Our airport transfer person Gokay was also on time and informative, even in the stress of all the airport Hustle and bustle. Our Hotel, Q Inn Suites Hotel, was included in the package, was newly remodelled and had a great location was also very nice.

For our tour programs, we had a group of 15, which was a good size to hear everything and ask questions. Our Tour guide Eren was great, although sometimes bordering on rude to people not with our tour. However as a traveler that paid for the tour, he is the tour guide you want!! The first day we went on a Bosphorus Cruise and then and Asian side tour with Lunch and then the spice Market. We were a little dissappointed witht he Bosphorus Cruise as it was a bigger tour given by another guide and the information overhead was hard to understand and not very enthusiastic or plentiful (I am sure Eren himself would have done a much better job) The rest of the Tours were narrarated by Eren and we enjoyed them. My only criticism would be for him to slow down a little, or relax a little, but as I said the information was goos and interesting. He seems to have ins everywhere and at the Spice Market, knew where to go to get everything at a good price, but we did not feel any pressure from him to buy something from the places he took us to. The second day, we did a tour of all the old city attractions and Eren was very proactive at getting us where we needed to go and with extremely little waiting time and lots of interesting information, despite the long lines at most of the attractions. For our group of age 20 somethings Eren's pace was fine, but there was a family with 2 small children with us and they always seemed to have difficulties keeping up. The Lunchs included were very good and seemed to be authentic.
On the third day, we have the morning and afternoon free to go out on the town and, in the evening, a belly dancing show with dinner that was included in our program. For the afternoon, we took a taxi to Taskim Square and perused the area. In the evening we were picked up from our hotel and taken to the restaurant. The show and food were booth very good! We were pleasantly surprised :) They had flags up, for all the countries of the guests and played a song for each one at the end. It was really a lot of fun!
We are very thankful to have booked with City of Sultans, and having had Eren as our guide! Otherwise we would have spent over half our trip looking around for things or waiting in lines! Overall we were very satisfied with City of Sultans and I would recommend them to any one traveling to Istanbul!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of Sultans Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to City of Sultans Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City of Sultans Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.