We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy and low standards for a 5 star Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Save Saved
You added The Marmara Taksim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marmara Taksim
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taksim Meydani Taksim, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey (Beyoğlu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Too noisy and low standards for a 5 star Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This summer we have been in a tour through Turkey, and our first night was in The Marmara Taksim (as the last three in the tour closing).

For those who are unfamiliar with Istanbul there are two main areas: the old town (golden horn with the main mosques, and the new town (up on a hill with Bosphorous and old town view ,full of people at any time). The Hotel is at the centre of the European side.

Our room was standard at the 12th floor, Taksim Square view.

Facilities:

Nice entrance, modern style with automatic ladders to reach the lobby. The luggage is taken from the lowest floor. Outdoors small swimming pool and gym (that we didn't use).

In general terms all facilities are very clean and well in order.

Noise (important to know):

As said the room had a Taksim Square view and the first night (from the 12th floor) was impossible to sleep due to unbelivable street noise.

Initially we thought this was caused by the end of Ramadam, but our surprise came the second night (once back to Istanbul two weeks later) when at 3:00 am there was a police control with loudspeakers and an interminable queue of taxis blowing horns unstoppably.

We asked for a room change, that the staff did kindly. The new room had a swimming pool view on the 3rd floor and seemed quiet. When we were back from dinner at 21:00 we noticed that building works were in progress in the neighbour building. We asked to the reception desk if this was going on overnight and they answered that this was normal in Istanbul.

Our surprise was incredible, and again sleeping was difficult for the next two nights. If they are aware of these both events the Hotel should invest in better shutters.

Room:

Standard size, our room was in a small entrance together with the neighbour door. Seems as if a bigger room has been transformed into two smaller ones. This happens in the four squares of the plant.


Bed: King size, comfortable and spacious with really low pillows. Although the Hotel provides two for each guest this is not a satisfactory solution for your neck. For a 5 star hotel pillows menu is a must.

Bath: Too small, once the floor towel is placed for shower the door will not open properly. The bathtub is standard and the hot/cold regulation is not so fluent. Amenities are standard too.

Food and beverages:

Breakfast is not so rich in healthy options. We are fruit lovers and just canteloup and watermelon on a regular basis, plums and grapes hard as stones. Orange juice is very good, natural and fresh.

Yoghurt is not home made (we asked for it and the waiters referred us to the industrial ones), unbelievable in a 5 star hotel and even more in a country famous for it.

On the sweet side anything you may like, from buns to pancakes, muffins and a assortment of Turkish options.

Dinner:

There are two options, buffet at the restaurant and a more informal at the Bar. We took this way and the menu is too limited: two soups, two sandwiches and two salads, and they don't change them. Can't remember the dessert varieties.

The last night I asked for a Club sandwich (that does not include bacon and dried tomato with spices instead) and the waiter brought me a cold sandwich with not enough grilled bread and the touching plate bread slice wet. When I asked him he said that the bread is kept in the fridge and it is normal that gets wet with the change of temperature. I showed him back and he touched it to check!!!

I asked him to grill it again properly and then he answered that the kitchen was too busy!! (Totally unacceptable for a 5 star Hotel)

General comments:

This Hotel is more dedicated to the local taste than familiar with western standards, in fact the proportion of locals vs international guests is really evident.. Few staff speaks English fluently out of the reception desk or the concierge (e.g. waiters) and, as related, not really good at keeping what you can expect from a real 5 star hotel.

In our experience there are several 5 star options in the area, we will not be back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    238
    98
    28
    18
See reviews for
76
147
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel did not have room ready had to wait 4hours until room was available
Room was unclean and very outdated not worth the money you are paying
Poor maintance of the hotel
Room covered in dust
Faulty TV in room
Room was not maid up until 5pm the following day found maid sitting on bed
Conceiger forgot to take bags to the room after a 4hour wait
Construction site at the side of the hotel which start work at 4am



This is no way a 5 star hotel, worst hotel I have ever stayed in 8 days cost $2600

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very clean. Complimentary Breakfast manager Mr. Mustafa & his staff made our five day stay and our mornings absolutely perfect. He makes your day start great. Many thanks Marmara for having great staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location of the marmara was wonderful, you have a view of the sea and a short walk to Istiklal. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever seen. If I came back to Istanbul, the Marmara would be my first choice.

Room Tip: I would always ask for a room on a high floor and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this fine hotel. The reception and service was first rate. Right on the square and close to many sights. Delicious breakfast buffet with cooked to order egg/omelet station. A nice mix of Turkish and western choices. No filters on the free internet. When we come back to Istanbul we will stay here, period. Tried to book for a few days after visiting Cappadocia but the Marmara was fully booked so we unfortunately had to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We got a higher room just to be farther from the noise of the street & square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

İt is really expensive bc it is located at the heart of istanbul. No other hotel mat hes the location. Good servi e and rooms. The breakfast was awesome though thats an extra on the bill as well. Go for it if it fits your budget you will save time on transportation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a luxurious, two room suite with a shower separate from the bath. With three adults in the room it was great! Room was clean and fresh. The breakfast on the club level was typical Turkish breads, fruits and cheeses with wonderful marinated veggies and hot foods. The view on this floor was amazing!
The location is at the Taksim Square, where millions of people walk the main street everyday. On this street you will find clothing chain stores, bazaar like stores, jewelry, etc. there are consulates along the way and two catholic churches that are gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get a room on the club level if you can afford the splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Address: Taksim Meydani Taksim, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoğlu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Taksim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.