We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Taksim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Marmara Taksim to your Saves list
The Marmara Taksim
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taksim Meydani Taksim, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Top location BUT rooms facing Taksim are noisy and Turks like to stay up late, so take ear plugs or ask for rear facing room

Room Tip: Rooms facing Taksim are nosiy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    240
    99
    28
    17
See reviews for
86
162
47
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is at the heart of İstanbul.The rooms are well-equiped and clean.
I highly recommend the rooms with bosphorous view.
The breakfast service is good but was better before.

Room Tip: the rooms that have golden horn and bosphorus view are excellent. I highly recommend the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel resides at the heart of Istanbul, which is called the Taksim Square. Our check-in and check-out experiences were flawless and instant. If you can get a room at the east side of the hotel and higher than 8th floor or so, you'll have the beautiful view of Bosphorus. It is just perfect.

However, there are downsides as well. One would expect better rooms for this nice hotel but they are not higher than average quality. They have nice LCD TVs but quite deteriorated bathrooms. Beds were not as good as I expected.

Room Tip: A room looking to the east (there are northeast and southeast rooms, both are OK) and higher than 8t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Location, view, food...this hotel is one I have stayed at frequently during the past year. As a business visitor, it has everything I want and need, including an ideal location, well appointed rooms, a good business center and fitness facility, and stunning views of the Bosporus and the Golden Horn, excellent restaurants and superb executive floor lounge.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the Bosporus side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First of all the obvious. Location location location. I am Turkish, lived in Istanbul for many years and it is arguably unbeatable. In the middle Istanbul's (largest) Taksim square, across the street from the metro station, walking distance to Istanbul's main shopping artery and the Bosphorus. The hotel had been in need of a facelift for many years and this has been done 6 months ago. The result is very good. The lobby's new design is very chic and inviting. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic. While on the subject of food, the super-hip Istanbul eatery chain Kitchenette operates almost as part of the hotel and is a great place for people watching. However if there is one thing that this hotel has that any other hotel is Istanbul doesn't... it's the mind boggling view from its sea-view rooms. I could from my window see the Bosphorus, the Haghia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Galata Tower and the Golden Horn. Literally breathtaking. The only thing i will complain about is the furniture in the rooms. I think they should be next in the face-lifting process.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Marmara Taksim is such a lovely hotel! We booked flying carpet grand suite with view to Bosporus and Old town, an I have to say WAU! Really great experience !!! Anyway, room is not only one great thing in this hotel! Hotel staff is simply amazing, so kind and helpful! Unfortunately, I don't remember name of my favorite reception man ;-) I would definitely recommend him! He managed
A great day trip with guide for us! It cost 350 euro but service was excellent! And recommend nice restaurant for us as well! And everything perfect again! I travel a lot, but this hotel is really TOP for me! Great location, next to many nice shops, few minutes by taxi to Old town! Thank u Marmara Taksim! U made
My holiday special!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marmara Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Taksim

Address: Taksim Meydani Taksim, Istanbul 34437 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#171 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#198 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marmara Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Marmara Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Taksim Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Taksim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.