We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi

Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi
Taksim Kuyu Sok. No. 11, Istanbul, Turkey
244 8403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #527 of 11,078 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic restaurant, on the higher floor you eat sitting on the floor.
Excellent food, not expensive.
Very nice staff
I'll be back soon

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    54
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming atmosphere and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found it by chance looking at restaurant reviews around Taksim. We were 3 and ordered the menu that the waiter suggested (30TL without drinks), which included a bit of everything. Mind you, we eat a lot normally but 3 menus is A LOT! A couple came after us and the waiter suggested 1 and a half menus for them, which is more than enough. I would suggest to do this, and order ayran to drink.

We stayed in the rooms upstairs which have pillows and low tables. The decoration is eclectic and worth looking at the details, the food was nice and the service fast. The atmosphere was quiet, so overall we had a magnific experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cok kötü bir hizmet anlayisi. Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

İftarimizi acmak icin gitme hatasinda bulunduk. 1 saat bekledik, siparisimiz gelmedigi icin kalkip baska yere gitmek zorunda birakildik. Iceceklerimiz dahi gelmedi. Masaya onceden birakilmis sularla idare ettik. Birsey yeyemedigimiz icin yemek konusunda yorum yapamiyorum.

We have waited one hour then left the restaurant without eating anything. They have forgot our order. The waiters did not care. It was a wrong decision to go to this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good traditional turkish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent restaurant, 5 minutes walk from Taksim, in the Istikali caddesi area.
Traditional turkish, no tourist trap.
Waiter speaking a good enough english. They don't serve alcool, so no beer at all.
Food is great and inexpensive.
A must when in Istanbul.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second time and there will be a third...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very nice place and delicious turkish food.. The fact that you take off your shoes and sit on the floor makes you feel more comfortable and familiar with the place.. The service is very nice, though that some english lessons would not be bad for the staff in order everybody will be happy. I still cannot understand the lack of alcohol(no beers or yeni raki or wine) that did not exist my first time there.. Anyway it is a place that is worth to visit and taste and if there was some alcohol the result would be great.. Try it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi also viewed

 

Been to Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gani Gani Sark Sofrasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.