We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in Istanbul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fasuli Kurufasulye

Fasuli Kurufasulye
Kemankes Mahallesi Iskele Cadesi No. 10-12 | Tophane İskele Cd 12, Istanbul 34425, Turkey (Bosphorus)
(0212) 243 65 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,012 of 11,086 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bosphorus
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pearl in Istanbul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

A small place with amazing food. Worth a try while in Istanbul!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good, Popular With locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fasuli has 5 locations (http://fasuli.com.tr). One is just around the corner from the Hodja Pasha cultural center so it is great for a bite before the show.

The wall is littered with photos of politicians and stars who have come to enjoy Fasuli's fare. It is simply a diner, but a diner with excellent nosh and it seems that in Istanbul, anybody who is anybody has eaten at this joint.

The bean dish is hugely popular with locals (we saw people eating huge plates of beans) but there is also a very decent and well priced menu of standard Turkish fare. For dessert just pop next door to one of the great baklava shops. You will not regret having a meal here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best kuru fasulye in Istanbul - from words of my friends :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I am not common to turkish cuisine. And my friends decided to correct this mistake as soon as possible. And they invited me to this restaurant. They first told me little bit about this meal. Its mostly common to Black Sea region. Soo i was waiting for something more, but when i taste it i shocked really :)) its too easy to make but taste is wow :)) what else :) i strongly recommend to taste as well as one more Black See region food in that place - I dont remember the name but its like fondue - butter, cheese (special one which is only producing in Black Sea region) and corn flavor. MMMMMMMM its yummy

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Must try..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We went to the new location in Sirkeci. Tried the beans with pepper pickles. We enjoyed the beans so much that we actually bought some to cook home. Compared to such overpriced restaurants nearby with very low food quality, this place stood out as must try experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Army food joke?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Weak service, the waiter went away with the order of just one of us. The restaurant´s main dish – beans with meat – came with 3 or 4 small pieces of meat, very soon the only thing in the plate is beans, like an army food joke. I noticed a couple at the next table with the same problem, turning the beans, trying to find some more meat without success, wondering what to do with that...

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fasuli Kurufasulye also viewed

 

Been to Fasuli Kurufasulye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fasuli Kurufasulye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.