We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul to your Saves list
Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Medrese Sok No 5 | Sultanahmet Eminonu, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 874 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Budva, Montenegro
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed there for 4th days and it was fantastic. Hotel is situated near Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque. Good value for money, clean and comfortable rooms. The Staff is very accommodating. Special thanks to Selcuk and Roberto receptionist. We felt like we are at home

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    31
    19
    22
See reviews for
20
80
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 10 nights in February. On our first night we were put in a room which wasn't even in the hotel but around the corner in an apartment type building. The room had a funny smell & was absolutely freezing cold- discovered in the morning that this was because there was no window, just a net curtain covering where the window should have been.. Requested to get moved & we were put in a room inside the hotel this time, this room was much better but the hotel over all could do with some improvements. Breakfast was good, buffet style with a variety of cereal, bread, cheese, veg, ect. Rooms cleaned to a high standard every day. Location close to Blue Mosk ect but you have to climb a pretty steep hill to get to the main attractions which is okay for young people but wouldn't recommend it to older people or unfit people.. Would say this hotel is pretty basic & suitable for people who are not very fussy

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed at the Sirma Sultan Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of March. It was my second time visiting Istanbul.

The hotel was clean, comfortable bed and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning is the usual Turkish style breakfast, fresh bread, meats, cereals and salad, perfect to set you up for the morning. The hotel is very good value for money!

The negative points for me with regards to the hotel is it's location. To get to the main square of Istanbul where the blue mosque and restaurants are situated you have to climb a large steep hill. The general area where the hotel is situated is run down and sometimes there is a slight smell of sewerage. It is a long walk to some of the shopping areas and mainly up hill.

Room Tip: Great Value for money! Do not get a basement room and beware of the very steep hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Unacceptable. There were hairs in the bathroom, and awful smell and moisture.Think we changed three rooms because of that. And the last was just a little filthier than the others!! I made a reseravation for a double bed and they gave us two separate one next to other. This is an issue when you travel with your boyfriend for the Valentines day! The beakfast was fine for the price. And the location as well was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Sirma Sultan Hotel for 8 nights in Jan. 2014, and really, can't complain much about this hotel except for a little maybe sewage smell once in a while. The room is nice and clean and the service is good. Breakfast is simple and yet nice. It's no five star hotel, but honestly, with this price, it's really a bargain and a great stay. actually, it's much better than the one, which claimed to be a 3 star hotel, that i stayed in last time. Anyway, would recommend it to everyone and would certainly consider staying there again myself. And thanks to Roberto for his hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

At first arrival I was intrigued by the area in which this hotel is situated - it is VERY central to some of the primary tourist attractions, yet it seems to be very authentic and not as touristy as some of Istanbul's other areas. The room was good, perfect for our purpose (I travelled with my sister, and we spent only our sleeping time and of course morning-getting-ready-time in the hotel room). The fact that it took only 5 minutes to walk to the site of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia/Ayasofya and Topkapi Palace made it even better.
We hardly spent any time on public transportation and in stead walked everywhere - to Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Galata, Suleymaniye and so on.

The breakfast was very nice with a variety of bread, juices, tea, coffee, turkish delis and cereals.

Furthermore, the hotel is run by a handful of staff, who were very helpful (although some more than others). Roberto, who was there regularly, was one of the most charismatic persons we met during our stay. He was always in a great mood, happy, laughing, joking, yet always ready to give us some good recommendations of where to go. He definitely helped us determine some of our activities, and he even recommended some great local restaurants (our favourite was Siya Baba, situated just around the corner - amazing value for money, great, authentic Turkish food for almost nothing compared to Western standards, and not too touristy!)

All in all an amazing experience. I will definitely be coming back - Istanbul is an amazing city with so many new impressions every day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I Stayed For A Week With My Husband. Roberto Was Very Helpful, Funny And Entertaining. It Felt Like We Was At Home. He Is Always Smiling And Greeted Us Everytime And Asked About Our Day. Through Out Our Stay In Istanbul.. Coming Back To The Hotel At The End Of The Night Was The Best Part.

Jabeda && Hamza

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Medrese Sok No 5 | Sultanahmet Eminonu, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 874 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sirma Sultan Hotel is located in the old peninsula of Istanbul within walking distance to its highlights - Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace Museum, Archeological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Milennium Stone and Byzantine Hippodrome. All of them in walking distance within few minutes. This charming and elegant hotel is an ideal destination for those who wish to live old Istanbul in a modern and luxurious environment. During your stay in Istanbul, Sirma Sultan Hotel offers you accommodation with warm hospitality and welcomes you to one of the nicest located hotels of Istanbul. We don’t offer you just an accommodation, we offer you a sweet home, home away home, a pure friendship and assurance with joyful moments. Our hotel is also situated very close to the sea side and you can reach the sea within 3 minutes by walking and enjoy a fresh walk or jog. Hotel Sidera Palace has got 12 standard rooms. All of the rooms well designed for visitors' comfort. We will be happy to host you in our clean and fresh rooms with luxurious facilities. We also have got a covered panoramic terrace which able to see Marmara sea and serve open buffet breakfast and dinner. You will really get pleasure to have your drink and dinner here during the romantic Istanbul nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirma Sultan Hotel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.