We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultan House to your Saves list
Hotel Sultan House
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #46 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is located close to the blue mosque and other tourist sights. The breakfast buffet is good. The rooms are OK: the hotel is quite, however the nr of television channels is limited. Also, the water supply in the bathroom also depends on the use elsewhere in the hotel which is sometimes inconvenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    89
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
146
166
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We went to Istanbul for the first time, so we did'nt know much how to go and where to. The hotel manager kindly offered us some brochures and booked a Turkish night on a boast, which was very fun. The hotel had very tasty breakfast Buffet with various dishes. The location of the hotel was close to all the tourist attractions. The hotel staff were very kind and friendly.

I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week and really enjoyed the stay. The rooms were big, nice and very clean. This was our first visit to Istanbul. The staff of the hotel and the very friendly environment made us feel like home. The location of the hotel was perfect and was next to the Blue Mosque.

We would definitely come back and stay there again! :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Istanbul as a family of 5, it had all been a last minute booking and hotel wise this was our only option so we really did not know what to expect. We arrived late night and were greeted by Yunus the hotel manager, he was very friendly and polite. We soon found the hotel to be in an ideal location and walking distance to the beautiful Blue Mosque a view of which we got from our hotel room, the tram line, the Grand Bazaar and all the little cafe's and restaurants you could want. Hotel was clean, extremely friendly, helpful and polite staff, a selection of breakfast, special requests were also catered for. Yunus helped us a lot with advising us on what places to visit, timings, cost etc and even arranged pick up and drop off service to and from the hotel. Coming back to our room on the night we always found it clean and tidy. A very memorable holiday, quaint little hotel, extremely charming people, definitely would stop here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose Sultan House mainly for its convenient location and positive reviews - neither disappointed. Ideal for a family break. A family of 5 (inc 3 young children) stayed in the apartment annexe (short walk from hotel). Very comfortable and cosy - Blue Mosque view from the window.
1 min walk to Blue Mosque; 10 min to Aya Sofia; 15 mins to Topkapi Palace; 15 mins to Grand Bazaar; Even 5 mins to tram stop, main shops, Burger King and McDonalds (kids needed comfort food for 1 day!). All these times are walking with pushchairs. Jehan and Yunus on reception were very very helpful with local advice and tips for visits. Arranged to pick us up from airport as well for a decent price. A real magical time. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor appartment if with young children to minimise stair climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at the hotel 03.-08.02.2013.
Hotel is on a perfect location, next to the Blue Mosque.
Tram station is very close, about 5 minutes’ walk.
The room are very nice and clean. Staff at the hotel are amazing, very friendly and professional.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again the next time I visit Istanbul...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Sultan House Hotel was a great stay! Definitely a recommendation!
Rooms were clean and spacious, bright and quite. The staff was so kind and helpful! Breakfast was various: you can choose from fruits to bread, cheese, salami, jam...Really nice tea selection!
The hotel location could not be more perfect! The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Grand Bazaar, everything in the range of few hundred meters.Tram station 5 minutes from the hotel.
Would gladly come back there again!
Thank you very much!
Faik and Taida from Croatia

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms bright and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan House

Address: Binbirdirek Mahallesi Dizdariye Cesmesi Sokak No 1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sultan House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultan House is a converted Ottoman House located in Sultanahmet, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul, It is located close to the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, just at the corner of Hippodrome. The Grand Bazaar is just 10 minutes by walking, This is a lovelyjust opened hotel end of 2010 for couples and families with it's 10 elegant rooms and 4 annex appartment equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. All the rooms are quiet and comfortable; furnished and decorated. The Obelisk is in front of the hotel and the Blue Mosque is across the street. You are just a few step away from the history and beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sultan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.