We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 2 star hotel at best with prison beds” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Darkhill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Darkhill Hotel to your Saves list
Darkhill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #438 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“This is a 2 star hotel at best with prison beds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in an "upgraded" room which we paid for on checkin.
Thank goodness we were offered N upgrade as we were unable to actually sleep in the beds as they were like a morgue slab
The beds were so hard that we removed the soo as and placed them over the top of the bed and then placed the sheets over the top.
The pillows were like a sheet of plastic and smelt.
Meals in the restaurant were average and nothing to write home about.
Seriously if you are unable to find a 2 1/2 start Hotel in Istanbul this one might do

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    97
    37
    10
    10
See reviews for
49
55
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With so many hotels in such a big city as Istanbul it is not easy to choose the right one. The Darkhill is however a truly great choice. The location is very convenient, near the Kapali Carsi, Hagia Sophia and many other attractions as well as many interesting shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. The hotel has a pool, sauna and hamam and a great restaurant with lovely views over the city and the sea. The rooms are quite nice, the bathroom could be better however, but, the staff is great and very helpful. To sum it up, if you want good accommodation in the old part of the city, you can have a great holiday in Darkhill hotel!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We travelled from Dublin to visit Istanbul for the first time. Straight away we were upgraded to a suite. Staff were always very friendly. The rooftop bar is a little expensive for drinks and food but not crazy prices all the same. The pool, steam room and sauna are all good, very relaxing. The location is about 10 minutes walk from the Grand Bazaar and about 20 minutes from all the sights in the old town (Hagia Sophia, Blue mosque, Topakia castle). In terms of value I thought it was very good.

Room Tip: If its quite maybe ask for a room with a view. Maybe ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Yönetici at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Darkhill Hotel Istanbul.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,
Murat Topacoglu
Darkhill Hotel, ISTANBUL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Darkhill was one of the few hotels one could get a 4 bed room. It was a big room but did not have a few as we thought it would. The people are friendly and helpful. We made use of the pool almost everyday. The restaurant was also nice. The location is convinient but Istanbul has many attraktive areas one wishes to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2015
Dear our guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Darkhill Hotel Istanbul.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Good hotel, fairly basic 4 star, but in a very convenient location 5 mins walk from Grand Bazaar Beyazit entrance. We had a family room on 6th floor - fine, with enough room. Very good shower. We did enjoy and make good use of the basement pool, sauna and hammam room and my wife enjoyed a good massage there and very good value at USD35 for 45 minutes swedish massage. Buffet breakfast OK also. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family staying in the city for a few nights.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2015
Dear our guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Darkhill Hotel Istanbul.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Location is 20 mints walk from Sultan Ahmet area and Tramway station is very close to hotel.
Staff are so friendly breakfast area with a beautiful terrace .
Bathroom cleanliness is below average and room view was terrible .

In general its Not Bad !

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Darkhill Hotel Istanbul.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on route to Kenya. We checked in about 6 on a Saturday evening and we were surprised to be give the Fab King Suite. It was a fantastic suite with lovely views over the bay and old city. The rooftop restaurant was lovely but a bit pricey. Hopefully we will revisit Istanbul for a longer stay and will book the Darkhill again. The lift is really good lots of pictures of the old city.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarkHill, Manager at Darkhill Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Darkhill Hotel Istanbul.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +90 212 638 89 00
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Murat Topacoglu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darkhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darkhill Hotel

Address: Koca Ragip Pasa Cad. No 9 | Laleli, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #438 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darkhill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darkhill Hotel is located in Old City Istanbul walking distance to all historical places in Sultanahmet area , making it one of the best hotels to stay at while in town. The Darkhill Hotel boasts a convenient location with modern amenities in every guestroom and superb service.(Total 106 rooms) Each guestroom features amenities such as air conditioning, minibar ,hair dryer,wifi internet access, lcd tv, bathtub, separate shower and tub. The amenities and services offered at this Istanbul accommodation include elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, room service, safety deposit boxes. For guests to unwind, the hotel offers a variety of facilities and services including massage, gym, sauna, indoor pool, and Turkish bath. Along with its convenient location in Istanbul, the hotel also offers a wide range of services and facilities to the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Darkhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darkhill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.