We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice for the right money for a city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New House to your Saves list
Hotel New House
Emin Sinan Mah. Evkaf Sok. No:6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #437 of 874 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Bucharest
1 review
“The right choice for the right money for a city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First - the location is the best for visiting Istanbul. In the old part of the city, close to the Bazar and just few blocks away from the main visiting points in Istambul.
The "boutique" hotel is a good one, with reasonable prices. Decent conditions, clean, towels changed daily. Small with some small improvements needed compensate with the position. Decent breakfast (however if the omelet is finished you should clearly ask for more :)

Friendly personnel with a decent English. The owner is present in all mornings :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The day we arrived, we discover that there is no such room called superior triple and all triple rooms are the same and it took one full day until we got the room, so we stayed one night in a very tiny room without opening our luggage, the room we got next day was good comfort room and bed, Breakfast was the same every day, you may get boring from seeing the same dishes in the same order everyday but it was ok, at least you can swallow without any problem of taste, No juice; for 7 days only see the juice one time and it was taste like a cough medicine, tea was typical turkish good tea, coffee was nescafe bags, the hotel is too small, by saying small I mean if three normal size men standing in the lobby, no one else can enter the hotel, I am not joking, there are three tables with 12 seats inside the hotel for dinning and one table with two seats for the manager, and that mean if there are more than three rooms need to have a breakfast at the same time, room four need to share the seats with the other first three families seated, again no kidding, there are additional two tables outside the kitchen with two seats each, but during my stay no one used them because of the cold weather, elevator was to small to fit me with my family, which are two year-old child, three years old child, my wife and me, so I always took the stairs to the 2nd floor and able to open the door for them and that mean I was faster the hotel is just beside the tram station Çemberlitaş, just one station east to Sultanahmet and one station west to Beyazıt-Kapalıçarşı grand bazaar, super markets and pharmacy and couple of Resturants and coffee shops are around

Room Tip: rooms end with one, 201, 301, not sure about the 4th floor because it is very small floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends in a triple room as part of the Euro trip, and it was definitely the most expensive and worst experience in the entire trip. Although location in old city is nice, other friends stayed at better hotels for similar prices. Room was dirty, staff try to sell you stuff and give bad advice (when they even speak English), breakfast is terrible, the elevator is sufferable and the room is also very small. As if this were not enough, we stayed for two nights and they did not clean the room in the second day - when I complained, they said I should have asked them to clean it! Definitely try to avoid this one.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location. 5 minutes from Grand Bazaar in one side and from Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque on the other. Hotel staff is really nice and helpful. Rooms are not great, but are fair to the price charged. The only bad aspect for the hotel is the noise: you can hear every single noise from the street and from other rooms in your floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Good:
Our evening arrival was complicated by horrible traffic. Taxi driver called the hotel and their staff met us on a street about 200 m away, and helped carry luggage up a steep hill to reach hotel. It would have taken us another 30 minutes, to reach the hotel street, based on traffic congestion. That was very nice.
Location is great; within walking distance to a number of major attractions.
Lots of restaurants very close by, including street vendors.
Very tiny hotel with a few rooms on each floor.
Extremely tiny elevator - 3 adults cannot fit at once. Humorous.
Staff very friendly and very helpful. Helped us arrange some sight-seeing with reliable transportation.
They had umbrellas available for guests.
Rooms were small, but typical for buildings in this area.
Beds were comfortable.
Bathroom size was OK. Good amount of hot water. Good water pressure.
Breakfast buffet was OK. Some nice local items. Good quality fresh breads. Nice fresh yogurt.

The Bad:
As others have noted, smell of cigarette smoke is noticeable in most areas.
Lighting in stairs was not good. Narrow stairs felt unsafe if the motion sensor lights did not go on.
The center of the room was clean, but the periphery was very unclean. Dusty, dirty, nail-clippings in corner (yuck!).
Peeling wallpaper along the window edges, and wall-ceiling junctions.
Bathroom had tub that was about 10 cm shorter than the width of the bathroom. That large gap allowed water from shower to run into rest of the bathroom. After one shower, the entire bathroom floor was flooded.
The gap along the wall was extremely dirty.
Bathtub-wall junction was extremely moldy.
False ceiling above bath was very low, and saturated with mold. I am average height, and bumped the ceiling while drying myself. A black, moldy dust covered me. Disgusting!

Summary: If they would clean up the rooms (esp. bathroom) and ask staff to smoke away from the main entrance, this could be a very nice property.

Room Tip: Go up to the roof-top terrace which has clean air and good views of the neighborhood and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is generally nice, spacious, clean and good value for the price you pay. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Size of the bath room is rather spacious for SultanAhmet area hotel.

However, heavy cigaret smoke smell kept creeping into my room. I managed to get intermittent smoke-free peace from the hours of 2am~5am. The heavy smoke smell was very disruptive to my sleep throughout the night. Staying at the top floor, I traced the smell down to the 1st floor staff room, to my dismay.

Breakfast selections were at par with the price of the stay. Wide ranges of selections, nevertheless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is handy to the tram and attractions of the old city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was adequate in size and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful but cold. It was quite noisy in the evening with the windows open. The shower was unacceptably dirty with significant mold in the corners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New House

Address: Emin Sinan Mah. Evkaf Sok. No:6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 874 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel New House was open in the historical city center of Istanbul in 2012 to serve you, Esteemed Guests.Embraced modern hotel business and the notion of excellent quality service, our hotel went into serviceLocated in the city center, the hotel is so close to all places such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum and Topkapi Palace where all historical and touristic beauties of Istanbul and Ottoman and Byzantine cultures are engaged. Also these places can easily be reached by walking or by tram.We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Through out your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. A breathe from the glamour Ottoman sultanate lodges. Renovated authentic style and modernized Ottoman decoration are embrancing an ancient house and changing it to an impressive hotel.Hotel New House offers a variety of clean and comfortable rooms at a great price. Each one is appointed with air conditioning and en suite bathroom facilities.Hotel New House offers an airport pick-up service from both Ataturk and Sabiha Gökçen Airport,All rooms are equipped with 22 inc LCD tv, Air-conditioning, direct dial phone, smoke dedector, minibar, safety-boxes and private bathroom with shower , hair dryer, evaporated mirror and phone.Free wireless internet access is available in Hotel New House lobby and all rooms, should you need to stay in touch with work or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel New House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.