We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esans Hotel to your Saves list
Esans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Durham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely stay in great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I found Esans hotel on tripadvisor and it lived up to and exceeded our expectations! The location near the three main historical and religious sites was perfect. It was also near the tram line which made accessing the rest of the city very easy. They upgraded us to a larger room with two single beds when they saw we were two girls traveling together and had a very nice spread for breakfast waiting for us each morning. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and on call 24/7! I would stay here again and tell all friends to stay here also. Slight warning: there is no elevator so if you have trouble with stairs ask to stay on floor 1 (which is still a flight up).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Each piece of feedback is so important for us to control our service.

We are happy to hear that we satisfied your expectations.

We hope to be lucky enough to welcome you again in future.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    111
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
270
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Esans Hotel for 3 days at the beginning of July. Everything about our stay was perfect. The staff made everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and pleasant: from arranging our transfer from the airport and back to provide us with information about the local museums, historical sites and places to eat. The room has a traditional look witch is very nice and is equipped with all modern amenities including TV, phone and safe. The bathroom is large and everything is very clean. The hospitality of the staff was exceptional and they even gave us gifts for good luck when we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

While a small hotel - the Esans Hotel in Istanbul is a property big on service. First, it's location is perfect for visiting the old city and historical sites. The staff could not do enough for us starting with the on time no hassle pickup at the cruise port. That followed with having our room ready early and arranging a Bosphorus sightseeing cruise. The staff assisted with phone calls back to the states and even made sure they had breakfast for us at 3:30AM in order for us to make a 6:00AM flight.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your kind feedback is so important for us.

We are happy to hear that we satisfied your expectations. We would never be happy if you leave hungry from our hotel at 03:30 am. We try our best to accommodate our guests.

We hope to be lucky enough to welcome you again in future.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay for 4 days in May. A great family run b&b nothing was too much trouble and were happy to share information and offer advice at anŷ time.
The location is very good just a few steps away from lots of restaurants and bars and not far away from the many exciting Istanbul sights, which are all walkable.
Would recommend this b&b to stay to taste what Istanbul has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Esans is conviniently close to main turist attractions in the Old Town and restaurants. The service was nice. Eager to help young men made my husband and I feel taken care of. The rooms are all nice and clean. The view though, if it's important for you, can be a problem. Only last floor has nice view. Otherwise you can enjoy it from terrasse with a cup of complimentary coffee or tea. For breakfast you can try some local specialties. It is rather diverse with cereal, fruits, eggs and cheese but also hummus, tapenade Turkish style and olives. The shuttle from the airport was a plus. You pay for it but avoid taking taxi. And taking taxi in Istanbul is not recommended. Overall nice place I woud recommend.

Room Tip: Last floor has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was highly recommended to me by a group of friends and i intend on doing the same. This family run hotel is so lovely and comfortable and i can not really fault it. There are a lot of reviews that complain about the 5am prayers but thats part of staying in Istanbul and did not bother me one bit. The hotel itself was very lovely and clean. The rooms were so very homely and comfortable and the staff were very hospitable and tended to your every needs. The photos on trip-advisor are accurate. The staff are only too willing to help and are really very lovely. The location is amazing, 3 minutes walk to tourist area but the hotel does not encounter any of the noise you might expect. Again, there is really nothing can fault with this hotel and i would recommend it to anyone. Its slightly more expensive than over hotels but the quality makes up for this without a doubt. Definitely stay at Esans hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location, just off the main drag so less people traffic. The décor and rooms are very quaint, but have all the modern facilities one needs. We made use of the roof top on two evenings, (with a little local wine purchased for the mini mart/tekal) and one night there was a fireworks display - just for us! The young gentlemen who staff the hotel are exceptional, friendly and ever so helpful - a credit to the establishment. The breakfast was terrific, plenty of choice and it varied with some different items each day, well done to the chef lady. There are plenty of restaurants just nearby. (varying standards) and all the top sights to see in Istanbul so close. My only disappointment was that the beds were way too firm for comfort, gave me aches and sore back. Otherwise a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be tricky for those with difficulty with stars, but we were on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.