We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish B&B hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Esans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 911 hotels in Istanbul
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turkish B&B hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights following a week long cruise. The hotel has a great location and is within walking distance of all the must do sites if your in town for a short stay. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We arrived early in the morning following cruise disembarkation, and although our room wasn't ready yet, the staff offered us breakfast, gave us a place to freshen up, and safely stored our belongings while we set out to explore the city. The ambiance is similar to staying at Bed & Breakfast accommodations in the U.S. - with the Turkish experience. The rooftop of the hotel has spectacular views of the city sites, the sea, and the surrounding residential areas. The bed was very firm and the room had all the amenities you need, including a fridge and a safe. The only suggestion I would make is if someone at the hotel suggests taking one of the tours with the "She Tours" company....do not take them up on it. At no fault to Esans, the She Tours company is very disorganized and the tour was not a great experience. Overall, If you are a looking for accommodations that will engage you in the culture, with a personal touch - this hotel is a great choice!

Room Tip: Based upon the reviews we read, we signed up for the superior room because we expected the rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    94
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
236
41
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 9 nights at the Esans Hotel in late April/early May. The hotel is very centrally located in Sultanahmet; very close to the Topkapi and the Hagia Sophia. Although the area is fairly crowded with tourist groups and coaches during the day, the tours are gone by evening. It is a pleasure to wander around the area, peaceful and quiet at night, to find a nice restaurant, or stroll after dinner. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We got very good advice on navigating our travels around the City. Helpful suggestions on places to visit.

We were at the hotel for 9 nights, that meant 9 breakfasts. One might imagine the breakfast would become routine, less than interesting. However, each day the offerings at breakfast were a little different from the day before. The cook takes pride in her creations. She would come up from the kitchen with hot crepes some mornings, omelettes on other days, savory baked breakfast creations other days, each day something new. It was a real pleasure to go to the breakfast room and see what new offering there might be.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room. The view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved our stay at Esans. All the staff members were extremely pleasant, courteous and knowledgeable. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The mattress was firm and comfortable. The air-conditioning, which we needed even at the end of May, worked very well. The view of Sea of Marmara from our room, 302, was gorgeous. The breakfast was really fresh and tasty. The location, steps from Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque, was excellent. There is really no bad thing that I encountered about the hotel.

You might want to know that there is no elevator, so if climbing stairs is a problem for you, this may not be the place for you. We didn't have any issue, especially since the staff didn't let us carry our luggage either up or down.

Room Tip: We split our time between rooms 302 and 202 during our 6 night stay there. Rooms on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel created a happy memorable timein Istanbul. The room is very large . The breakfast was more than what we waited. The location is perfect and just couple mins walking to Saint Sophia. The all team working there have been doing their best to make us feel at home. Even providing very early breakfast during our very early checkout. Definitely stay and come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great hotel in a lovely location close to all of the attractions. The staff were very nice and the room was great, large, clean, beautifully decorated and a very comfortable bed. I would definitely recommend it.

Just be aware of one thing, when you book the room you need to indicate occupancy, we booked a double room and upon arrival were told that it would be an extra charge for two people of 20 Euro. They did eventually wave the charge without too much fuss.

Apparently double means a double bed for one person. A double for two people is a different type of room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My daughter and I visited Istanbul last week and this lovely little hotel really MADE our trip! from the moment we arrived tired and hot from our travels, the staff welcomed us like family, offering drinks and snacks and advice about Istanbul. we were encouraged to come to them for ANYTHING we needed. I had made a request for a room with twin beds if available...no big deal if not. Because there was not a,room like that available they put an extra bed in our lovely room for 2 nights,and moved us to a huge more expensive room for the third night....at no extra charge. Breakfast was delicious...and each afternoon when we came back to the hotel after our day, we were always offered refreshment. The last night we were in Istanbul, Esans had no rooms available, so I booked another hotel.across the street....the staff at Esans carried our luggage there, told us to come back the next day for breakfast and gave us bracelets as going away gifts. My daughter and I will always look at those bracelets and think fondly of our time at Esans..and we will surely return and recommend the hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I just checked out on 20 May 2013. The staff at this hotel were exceptionally caring and helpful. Our room was very nice, though a bit small. We were told the building was converted to a hotel just two years ago, which accounts for its new, modern interior.

Though the tiny street it is on was not attractive, the next street up was and had loads of outdoor restaurants which we enjoyed very much. Being just outside the walls of Topkapi Palace, it was an outstanding location for visiting the major Istanbul attractions in the area of Sultanhamet Square.

There is no elevator, but the staff cheerfully took our bags to and from the room. There is a rooftop terrace, though the view is compromised by old buildings.

We could have found cheaper hotels but chose the Esans based on other Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We had requested a sea view. We got one, but it was a limited one over unattractive, old buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Sultanahmet - Old City
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 911 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Sultanahmet - Old City
Biz Cevahir Hotel
Biz Cevahir Hotel
#25 of 911 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Quaint, Romanti...
Show More
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#19 of 911 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#29 of 911 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 911 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Sirkeci
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#65 of 911 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 911 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.