We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esans Hotel to your Saves list
Esans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an amazing place, right in the heart of Sultanahmet, not one hundred metres from Topkapi! Surrounded by gory tourist traps, this place sticks to its own. Very Turkish, very family atmosphere, spotless, unbelievable price/quality.- must be the best deal in town.
-

Room Tip: All the rooms have a different colour scheme (traditional Turkish style) and they are all associated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your kind feedback is so important for us to control our service.


Thank you for choosing us again.We will be happy to see you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    117
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
288
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

For those looking for a hotel in the old city, this location cannot be beat. It is just steps from the Topkapi Palace and only minutes from Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and the tram line. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Free wifi is much appreciated. The breakfast is extensive and freshly prepared (including fresh-squeezed orange juice). With just a couple of tweaks, however, this hotel can go from very good to great.

As noted by some others, soundproofing is not a strong suit. I could hear everything going on in the rooms around me. I'm still trying to figure out how the folks above me got a herd of elephants up the winding stairs. Fortunately, things quieted down at night and I had no trouble getting to sleep.

There were a couple of days when an unpleasant odor emanated from the bathroom. I figured out that if I kept the toilet lid closed, things were much better. I suspect that the drains could use a good cleaning.

The lighting on the stairs was a bit insufficient for these old eyes. Brighter lights on the stairs and in the common areas would be very helpful.

The lights over the bed are nice and bright, but a good reading light would be appreciated.

Finally, each day the housekeeper put all my things away into the drawers. I had piles of papers and books that were carefully sorted, medication on the bedside table, and other items that were left out on purpose. Seriously, if I wanted things put away, I would have done so myself. I didn't say anything to the staff because it became kind of a game with me to see what the housekeeper would do each day.

Now to the good points: As stated above, the location, free wifi, and a a nice breakfast. The real highlight, though, is the incredible staff. I've rarely felt more taken care of by a hotel. The young men at the front desk made me feel like I had a retinue of devoted sons looking after my every need. What can I say except that they were perfect.

A word of caution: the hotel is located around the corner from a street filled with restaurants that cater to tourists. Some are tourist traps. Research before choosing.

Thank you, Esans Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Each piece of feedback is so important for us to monitor our service.

We are happy to hear that you liked your stay with us. Nevertheless, We would like to add some points:

Our hotel building is traditional wooden house.We have used polyurethane isolation material between floors and walls during construction. We have also used traditional colorful theme carpets on the wooden floors.It also creates nice authentical atmosphere as well as isolation.
In case of any noisy guests, our reception staff gently interfere the situation and kindly ask for silence.

Our cleaning lady cleans the room daily and changes the towels. Some of our guests likes very much to have tidy room after their tiring walking days in Istanbul. There maybe a misunderstanding since she is so sensitive about our guests' stuff. She would keep all your book and paper locations as in exactly original location after cleaning if our reception was informed about your opinion. We have definitely taken the note.

As a volunteer culture representative family, we do our best to make our guets feel real Istanbul footprints rather than only touristic activities. Therefore we are always happy to provide local restaurant and attraction information to our guests once we are asked.

Thank you for choosing us again.We will be happy to see you again in our Hotel.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was suggested this hotel by a friend. I was somewhat shocked when I was given a pink room upon arrival, but it turned out to be a fun experience.

The hotel is located in a good area, the room was very comfortable and uniquely decorated. Staff where pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good.

I warmly recommend this hotel visiting Istanbul.

Room Tip: Keep an open mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights, and would highly recommend this boutique hotel for it's friendly and knowledgeable staff, great location near main sights, and clean room. Breakfast had plenty of Turkish options, and was always a great start to a day of touring. Staff was helpful in planning our activities and recommending options; they never failed to fulfilled our requests, including a last minute tour booking. The room and private bath were substantially sized for the price, and the decor was very tasteful, including plenty of space for 2 large suitcases, hanging items plus a desk/makeup table.
We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel, or visit again if our travels bring us back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: They will include breakfast with your stay, as well as help book your activities, all with a smiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it so much! I mean, you cannot beat the location...it is very close to several of the main attractions - literally, less than 5 walking distance! It is also very close to the bosphorous body of water - you can walk less than 10 minutes to get to a great running/walking track along the bosphourous. Also not far from the public transport system. Other than the great location, you will want to hurry and get back to the hotel to enjoy the beautiful and cultural essense of the lobby and room's decor. It was so beautiful and ornate and made you feel like you were spending the night at a rich uncle's well furnished house :) Breakfast was wonderful as well, fresh squeezed orange juice every morning and much more. Staff was friendly and helpful and sat down with each guest one on one to give tips for travel and explain maps of the city and such. The "eastern" hospitality was definitely evident in this family run hotel - if you've never experienced, it is delightful. Stay here if you want to be sure that you will have a great time and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The key points of this hotel are, location, the people working there and how cute and clean is the hotel. I find this hotel a perfect place to stay to visit Istambul. Enjoyed mainly the attention and its walking distance to the main tourist spots. On top of this the hotel is very nice and cute, the room is comfortable and clean and the decoration is very authentic. And good value for price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our stay at Esans was such a pleasant experience, I'm not sure I can find enough words to describe how great it was! Even before we got there, Engin worked with us to accommodate our ever-chaging arrival schedule, and was very quick to respond to emails. We stayed there for four nights, and the hotel even arranged for our pickup from Ataturk airport. The staff was very friendly and very helpful, and was always available when we had questions. And the location cannot be beat! It's literally a few steps away from the major historical sites in the city! If you are trying to decide between this hotel and another, choose this one. It was superb.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 303, which was cozy, but had a beautiful view of the Bosphorous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 980 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.