We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Esans Hotel to your Saves list
Esans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 978 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights and the room was ready as soon as I arrived. The room was beautiful and the lobby made you feel like you were at home. The staff were very helpful and friendly and willing to give you as much information about Istanbul as you needed. The location is very good and a short walk from all major attractions. The hotel is family run and makes you feel very welcome and my stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast is made fresh every morning and there is a large selection to choose from and everything tasted lovely. The hotel is in a nice quiet location and you are able to sleep very well without any noise disturbances. Also there is no traffic outside so it is a safe location for walking. I would definately recommend this hotel to other people and will stay here again when I return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    114
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
107
285
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I encourage Istanbul first timers to stay here. Close to all main sights in the old city yet located in a quiet street. The street is also full of friendly cats so if you are a cat lover (as we are), you'll get the chance to pet them.

The staff here are amazing - welcoming, warm, helpful, and could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was a pleasant one, as well as giving up daily tips on sight seeing or getting around. It was raining heavily during our stay, and they provided us with umbrellas.

Airport pick up was easy and well organised. We had no issue with heating or noise as described by one reviewer. Yes the call to prayer at 6.30 am is annoying but that's everywhere, and you soon go back to sleep as the street is quiet.

There's a lovely rooftop terrace with views but we couldn't really use it in winter. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and as good as I've had in most 3 star hotels across Europe. Again the staff kept checking if we were happy with it and wanted anything else.

Rooms are tastefully decorated with warm colours - noting tacky or mass market in the style.

A big thumbs up from us! Incidentally we are a gay couple and we felt very welcome, no raised eyebrows or issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The location is indeed great - it's just a couple of minutes walk to Aya Sofia and other attractions - but the hotel itself has a couple of significant disadvantages. The room was freezing cold (the A/C couldn't really heat it - the fact the housekeeper left a window open for the entire day didn't really help either). Also, there is no heating in the bathroom so be prepared for freezing temperatures. Floors in the hotel are wooden so if you're not on the top floor, it's VERY noisy and hard to get a good night's sleep (again, the fact that the cleaner threw away my earplugs for no reason didn't help...).

Other than that, the staff is extremely helpful and nice, the airport transfer was quick and seamless, and the breakfast (which is included in price) is very good - wide selection of choices, fresh pomegranate/orange juice, and even though in theory it's only served until 10:30am, you can show up at 11 and that's still fine.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Each piece of feedback is so valuable for us to be able to increase our service level. We are glad to see your appreciation of our good location,service, attentive staff and breakfast.We are sorry about some points that you felt discomfort during your stay.

We are so suprised to see most of the issues raised because of miscommunication.The rooms have very powerfull A/C branded DAIKIN. It takes just 3-4 minutes for A/C to heat up the whole room including bathroom.Incase of wrong selection of A/C mode, it may work as only in fan mode without heating. During the room introduction, our bellboy mentions it clearly. However our guests may change this setting by mistake.When our guest informs about this issue to reception,he immediately comes to the room and corrects the mode to heating again. Just 3-4 minutes time, the room temperature comes to desired levels. We wish to be informed about this issue during our guest’s stay. So we could immediately solve it. We take our note to mention it more clearly to all guests during check in.

Istanbul old city is an archeological protected site area. As most of the other hotels have in the area, our hotel has wooden renovated 120 years old mansion. Comparing to other hotels,we have installed polyurethane material as insulation into walls,floors and ceiling of our wooden building as extra. We will take more precautions on this issue as extra also.

If our guest is very sensitive to noise and if our night reception is clearly informed about the issue, he is well trained to handle the case by proper intervention including warning other noisy guests in a polite way. As you may see in other reviews, our hotel street is very quiet and our guests have silent and peaceful rest during their stay.
If cleaning lady threw your earplugs unintentionally and if you had informed us, we would definitely provide you new ones immediately. Unfortunately, we were not informed about the issue by our guest to handle it.

Each one of our hotel team do their best to provide the most comfortable conditions for our valuable guests and solve any issue for them even it is not related with our Hotel. Just want them to have wonderfull memories about Istanbul on their way back. However we need to be informed about such issues during their stay.

Finally, we apologise for such discomfort that our guest felt. Please be sure; we took our notes and we have already improved the necessary points accordingly.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This small hotel is newly refurbished to a high standard. Very good location - easy walk to Topkapi museum, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia (Aya Sofya). Also very close to a lot of restaurants in a safe-feeling district. The staff are very helpful and enthusiastic. Good buffet breakfast with freshly squeezed orange or pomegranate juice. Only negative was that the people in the room above clumped about quite a bit and the wooden floors give little sound protection; but overall an excellent place to stay.

A little tip for tourists in Istanbul: If a shoeshine man drops a brush behind him when walking past you or in front of you just ignore it - its not an accident.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Istanbul to celebrate our anniversary. We were thoroughly impressed with Hotel Esans, it proved to be a good choice to stay in!

We stayed in a superior room in the third floor. The room was really big and comfortable and we could see the sea from the window. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard. The rooftop terrace has an astonishing view, and the staff is happy to organize to have your breakfast there if you ask them to!

Breakfast was great. It had lots of different types of bread, cheese, ham, home-made pastries, danish, crepes and authentic Turkish dishes. With fresh pomegranate and orange juice! Also it's from 8am-10.30am so you don't have to get up early if you don't want to.

The staff were very helpful throughout the whole time. They booked us the restaurant we asked them to and provided information about the city when we needed to.

The hotel is 5 minutes from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

The only few discomfort we found was the fact we had two twin bed pushed together, not a double bed - but we loved the room so we haven't mentioned it because we wanted to stay in that room. Also the water pressure in the shower is quite weak.

Overall, we loved our stay at Esans Hotel and would recommend to stay here! We would love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback to help us monitor our service.

We are happy to see that you loved Istanbul and our hotel. The issue regarding the water pressure is immediately fixed by that day. It was a water network problem. We activated our extra water supply and pressure tank right after we noticed it. We are sorry for it.

Looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel again.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Right where you want to be in the historic Sultanhamet district. Restaurants and bars very short distance away. Hotel staff very helpful and thoughtful, nice and clean, large rooms,good buffet breakfast, very comfy after busy days sightseeing, thoroughly enjoyed our stay very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Right in the center of all attractions is this hotel, where you can safely stay and enjoy your stay. The staff at the front desk is phenomenal and very helpful. Our family had 4 members and we had a blast. You will not go wrong with this hotel. Of course if you are picky and do not mind spending lots of money then you have right across four seasons. I feel for budget families you will not go wrong.

Room Tip: Family room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esanshotel, Manager at Esans Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is so valuable for us to monitor and control our service level.

We try our best to create a homey atmosphere and reflect real Turkish hospitality at our traditional wooden hotel.

We wish to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Esans Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 978 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.