We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel for a family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €110
Ranked #161 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel for a family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and is walking distance from major attractions . Although this area is congested a bit but the proximity to the grand bazaar and othe places is great . also public transport is available right outside the hotel . Hotel facilities were satisfactory and the staff is hospitable . The breakfast is good could be better . They gave us an early check in and late check out which made it very convenient for our flight timings. Nice for a short stay and to explore istanbul 's major attractions in a short time . Would stay there again .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    468
    326
    100
    16
    13
See reviews for
154
342
94
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights during our recent trip to Turkey and it was great. Wasn't too sure about the location as the taxi ride from airport took more than 1.5 hours but we found it to well located once we had time to explore Istanbul. Getting the tram was easy as the stop was steps from the hotel. The only downside is that there weren't that many restaurants in the immediate vincinity of the hotel ( decent food can be found in a couple of tram stops away or 15-20 walk slightly uphill). We had breakfast daily at the hotel and the spread were good, although it was getting a little boring after so many days. But we didn't get tired of the Turkish coffees during breakfast!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street was not too noisy, and we had an angled view towards one of the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A BIG BIG THUMBS UP FOR THE LOCATION! it is so close to all the tourist attractions that everything is practically a stone's throw away. good "Hilton" standard rooms, great menu for food, elaborate breakfast spread. the chocolate chip cookie they offer you when you check in is delicious. We had a great stay and would love to return to Istanbul. Fell in love with the food, city and the people.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and our services.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very friendly reception and free warm chocolate cookie on arrival. Amazing.

Room was lovely, bed was comfy, everything very clean. Though I was a single person I was put into a kingsize bedroom which was great!

Didn't have any food here so can't comment on that. Fab bakery round the corner which did a good selection of teas and breads.

Location wise, you can walk to a lot of areas from here, including the Grand Bazaar (10-15 minute walk). Tram is outside so very convenient. Staff are very helpful if you are stuck at all.

First stay in a Doubletree by Hilton and it won't be the last :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribir, Primorsko-goranska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location of this hotel is really fantastic - the main tram line station is in front of the hotel (tram line that is used for access to the airport, the hotel is few stations from the Blue Mosque, few stations from the spice bazaar as well as funicular leading to Taksim square). I prefer a taxi ride and staff ensured me each time reliable taxi with OK prices (taxi back to the hotel is a different story - but that's not the hotel fault). To the most attractions in the old town you can walk - especially to the Grand Bazaar.
In the hotel I felt very welcome and safe (especially for security checks at the entrance to the hotel). The staff is extremely friendly and I would point out the stunning hotel restaurants where I ate an excellent kebab and very rich breakfast.
Immediately upon arrival the staff took my luggage out of the cab. The check in was very quick. I was particularly impressed by the escort to the room with the explanations of the benefits of the hotel and the room. The quality of the bed was extremely good.
Maybe the room was a bit smaller than expected, but for me personally it was not a problem.
During my stay in Istanbul I changed four hotels and if I take into account the location - this is definitely a hotel that I can recommend for a tourist stay in Istanbul, especially if the old town is of primary interest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share these good comments.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for six days between Christmas and new years. As two women travelling together, we found the area excellent. Although the location of the hotel easily allows for access to the tram (which always looked packed), we happily walked to the tourist sights in the daytime and early evenings. We did not have any worries at all about our safety along the streets. We tried the food from the small stands along the way and loved it (be sure to try the fresh squeezed pomegranate juice).

The hotel was well appointed for the price range. The rooms were clean and a standard Hilton/Doubletree room. The rooms were a bit on the small size but pretty typical for European hotels. We also used the business centre which was fine (although one of the computers was out of service).

The concierge, in particular, was excellent. He personally called Turkcell for me to help activate the sim card I bought at the airport. He also provided suggestions and accurate information in response to our questions. Everyone at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. We also liked that the hotel has taxis that are designated to the hotel.

The breakfast is excellent and we ensured it was part of our room rate at the time of booking. We enjoyed starting our day by having the breakfast.

We encountered a problem on day one of our stay. There was no hot water. When we called the front desk, two repair men came within 5 minutes and fixed the problem minutes later. We were very happy with this response.

In short, we really liked this hotel and it gave us a great base to see the old town of Istanbul. We loved the daily walks to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace (about 15 mins).

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room based on other reviews on TripAdvisor. It worked well - our room was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town.

We are so happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as the location.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location is good in this Hilton group hotel - converted from a shopping mall probably sometime ago (with the large atrium and no stairs). Grand bazaar is 5 minutes away - but that is a tourist trap with high prices, we found the Egyptian spice bazaar much better. The tram stop is just in front of the hotel, and downhill is one of the best Baclava shops in Istanbul.
The rooms are small and the bathrooms are really small. But location is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faik_alsac, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Faik Alsac
General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town

Address: Ordu Caddesi No 31, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore nearby museums and Istanbul attractions from the DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul – Old Town hotel. Located in Istanbul's central historical district, this Istanbul hotel is just 20 minutes east of Ataturk International Airport and a five minute walk from Istanbul's famous Grand Bazaar. Thoughtfully designed to blend into the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Old Town Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.