We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q Inn Hotel Old City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Q Inn Hotel Old City to your Saves list
Q Inn Hotel Old City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoca Pasa Mah. Dervisler Sok. No 7 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34120, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Staying at this hotel was a very good value. Large room with a modern and very clean bathroom. Our room 402 was facing the street, which was a bit loud at night, but still managed to fall asleep. Friendly and helpful staff. Good sized breakfast buffet. Free wifi a big plus. We did make use of the massage and sauna which were very nice. Would recommend declining the 30 euro airport pickup with your reservation, as there are much cheaper transfers to the city. Excellent location, very easy walk to all of the old city attractions, and not even very far to walk to Emimonu and over the Galata bridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    91
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
85
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely Inn located in the heart of Istanbul! From the moment you enter you can feel the amazing ambiance take over. The warm and helpful staff are such a breath of fresh air and only compliment the already revitalizing atmosphere which is reflected in the rooms.

We were even more taken back by the delicious coffees and variety of fresh breads served at breakfast!

I am so thankful we got to experience this gem and cannot wait to stay with the Q again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned after spending 3 nights at the Q Inn Hotel. Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on TA. I could see why it has a 4 star rating but our overall experience could be summed up as “decent – but could have been better”. We arrived at around midnight and check in was fast though the guy at the reception was trying to be funny but came across as rude. To be fair the rest of our experiences with the staff were pleasant.

We were given room 309 facing the front of the hotel. Room is small just enough space to walk around the bed (we had an additional bed in our room for our son). The washroom was even smaller – but clean. The beds and pillows were really comfy and we really did get good night’s sleep. There is a mini bar, in room safe and hair dryer in the washroom. Also free wi-fi was available throughout the hotel and at decent speed.

On our 2nd night they didn’t make up the room but did so when we returned in the afternoon and told them it wasn’t done. Breakfast was average at best in our opinion. Limited variety but passable. The best part of this hotel is its location as many other reviewers have also noted – It is very close – 7-10 minute walk to Sultanahmet/Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofia. The Grand Bazar is another 10 minutes walking distance away. The hotel is in a side street so less traffic etc but close enough to the main tram line – T1. There are a lot of café’s, shops etc all around the hotel. We walked the whole area and you really take in all the sights and sounds – Friendly people and very safe area even late at night.

We really enjoyed our stay in Istanbul. We would probably not return to the Q Inn but that is simply because we may look at exploring other areas in Istanbul. Would recommend for first time visitors to Istanbul for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Hotel is in the Old City so I wasn't surprised at the room size BUT I was surprised by the stained carpet and dirty curtains. The bathroom was very clean and nicely stocked. The food was adequate. It appeared that they were trying to do a western style menu but they failed miserably. We ate in the hotel restaurant twice and then went elsewhere.

The staff was borderline surly. The women on the front desk actually yelled at us several times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in May 2012 as part of a G Adventures tour. As hotels go, it was fine. The staff spoke English fairly well. The rooms are small though. If you need room to spread around, this place is not it.
Everything was clean and the included breakfast buffet was decent. Location is great. You are within close walking distance of Topkapi Palace, the Ayah Sofia, the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque. The spice market and the grand bazaar are also within walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Public transit is also very close.
The only thing I didn't like was the wi-fi. When I was there, it was very slow, practically non-existant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Q-inn Hotel, all the staff were amazing,they were very friendly, and also they were there to help every hour of the day. Especially the place of the hotel was amazing it was really near Blue Mosque and nearly every place and every thing we wanted to reach. The food was amazing in Q cafe, the breakfast was delicious, also the turkish cofee was extra-ordinary in Q-inn cafe. I was very pleased to be in Istanbul staying at Q-inn hotel, I want to thank the manager for running the place this way, even though it was miles away, it really felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, modern room in a small hotel with a friendly staff, The Q Inn Old City will fill the bill very nicely. The hotel is on a relatively quiet sidestreet, but just a block away is a busy street with everything you need... including a stop for a tram that can take you almost anywhere in the city (sometimes by hooking you up with the metro system). The rooms are clean and modern, with a small flat screen TV, hairdryer, telephone, mini bar and A/C unit. The views were not good... my room faced an inner courtyard that was on the ugly side, but the only time I spend in my room is getting ready in the morning and sleeping at night, so views aren't important to me.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and had a fairly good command of English. The included morning breakfast was fine... lots of meats, cheeses, breads, with some fresh fruit and dried fruit. Most days there were either hardboiled eggs or scrambled eggs and a breakfast meat.

There's one free computer for accessing the internet in the lobby area. The wi fi was iffy in the rooms, but worked well in the lobby areas.

As in many small, non-American hotels, the elevator was tiny and moved slowly. I took the stairs, except for when I was moving my luggage in and out.

The location is definitely within walking distance of the old historic district, including the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, the Spice Market, Galata Bridge and several museums. We also walked to the Grand Bazar, but that was a bit farther and is only one stop away on the tram. It's also a short tram ride across the Bosphorus to the Golden Horn, including an area with trendy shops and restaurants.

The immediate neighborhood includes tourist shops, small convenience-style stores, several restaurants, a couple of markets for basics like bottled water (2 lira in the minibar but 1/2 lira at the store), and even a bar called the Red River pub that plays American Rock music.

I didn't visit it, but the hotel has a small spa with a sauna and you can book a massage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are fairly quiet, although, like everywhere in Istanbul, you hear the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Q Inn Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Inn Hotel Old City

Address: Hoca Pasa Mah. Dervisler Sok. No 7 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Istanbul
#79 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Q Inn Hotel Old City 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Q inn Hotel OLD CITY is a quaint and cosy hotel nestled in the historic heart of Istanbul offers totally renovated rooms and an array of personalised services, delivering the utmost comfort during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Q Inn Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q-Inn Hotel, Old City (Sirkeci) Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q Inn Hotel Old City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.