We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, rooms very small and needs some upkeep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sultanahmet Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sultanahmet Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Binbirdirek Mah. Klotfarer Cad. No:31 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Great Location, rooms very small and needs some upkeep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sultanahmet Park Hotel on a quick trip to Istanbul. First, the pros- excellent location near many of the "big" tourist sights, and our room had a great view of the Blue Mosque. We only were visiting for a short time, so location was a prime concern, and this little hotel was perfectly located. Also, the bed was very comfortable... a real plus. Finally, there was an elevator to get you up to your floor. Some small boutique type hotels make you walk 4 flights. After a long day of sightseeing, it was a pleasure not to have to hike up more stairs!

As for the "cons", the rooms were tiny. We travel frequently and understand European rooms are small,- but this was REALLY tiny. 2 people could not stand in the bathroom at the same time, and it was a dance for my partner and I to move around the room without running into each other (literally). Second con is that the rooms are very tired. Wall paper was separating at the seams, Finally, the breakfast (included) was very average at best. We have stayed in "discount" hotels before where the breakfast was much better. We had also spoken to others staying in Small Sultanahmet hotels and their breakfast was better. This breakfast had hard boiled eggs, feta cheese and a yellow cheese, some zucchini and eggplant in oil, and pieces of simit and bread. Average at best.

I would stay here again, as the price is very economical and the location was good. I also would be open to finding another spot. The front desk service is nice and on duty 24/7. My only comment there is, like so many other places (Egypt, Morocco), I believe there are "benefits" to hotel staff for referring customers. Several recommendations that were given to us, when checked against reviews on trip advisor, were suspect (actually horrid reviews). That did not bother us, as we do our homework before coming and we found our own places to eat etc.. However, we were very suspect as to places that were recommended and, while appreciating the recommendation, we noticed that the staff was not too pleased when we didn't go to one of the places they tried to send us. If you stay here, do your own homework, and enjoy the place for being economical, while in a good location.

Room Tip: 602 had an amazing view of the Blue Mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    52
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
42
117
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel by chance after we decided that our other hotel was unsatisfactory. The room was well equipped and very clean. It was next door to a mosque but it had a very quiet morning call for prayer. Based on our 9 days in Istanbul, it was probably the quietest hotel in the area. It was in easy walking distance from all the sites including ayasophia and the blue mosque. The hotel had a very adequate breakfast served at reasonable hours. Staff were very friendly and helpful with endless offerings of tea.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed from 9-13 November. Good location/base for tourism. Hotel is just behind hippodrome where main attractions are: Aya Sofia, Sultanahmet Camii. Very close to tramway and shops.Staff are VERY nice: welcoming, patient, understanding, reassuring, available 24 hrs! And they SMILE 24 hrs! Wow!
Rooms are small, beds are comfortable, sheets and toilet spotless.
The only thing left is that the hotel needs a change in decor and can use a facelift. The dark brown and beige dominant colors have to go.
By all means book and stay in Sultanahmet Park Hotel and enjoy genuine Turkish hospitality!

Room Tip: Room 502 has a lovely view of Aya Sofia, Sultanahmet Camii and the Bosphorous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Sultanahmet Park Hotel on two separate occasions in September and October 2012.
As a result of my work I have stayed in hotels worldwide but never have I experienced the level of service we enjoyed at this charming hotel in Istanbul.
Tuba at reception helped with every request but particularly when we wished to book a trip around Istanbul or further afield we were advised of our best options and it was organised for us sometimes within minutes........quite unbelievable!
We can only thank Tuba and all the staff at Sultanahmet Park for making our stay in Istanbul so enjoyable.
Patricia & David Rutherford

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samsun, Samsun, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed 3 days in this otel and I did not want to leave because it was like my home and the stuff was like my familly. especially recepcionist took care of everything that I want very well. So I would like to appreciate all of the hotel members with my this comment . ı precisely recommend this hotel to the one that want to in İstanbul and in the center. My next trip will be a month later. see you friendly lovely and hospitable sultanahmet park otel member

Sacid ŞAHİN
Kalite Yönetim Sorumlus ve İSG sorumlusu
Uzuner İnş. Mad. Taşımacılık iç ve Dıs Tic. Ltd. Şti.
Ordu/Ünye

Room Tip: order a delux suite they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sultanahmet Park Hotel in September and October 2012. We are "seasoned " travellers in our 70's and have spent most of the past 25 years wandering this wonderful globe. Our stay with Andrea, Tuba, Murat and the rest of the staff was one of our most enjoyable experiences.In addition the location in relation to the Sultanahmet highlights of the Blue Mosque, the Aya Sofia, the Hippodrome and the Topkapi Palace is as good as it gets. Sometimes you get lucky and our decisions to select this hotel was one of those occasions. Guys, I hope you read this as you have earned it!
Eric & Gwen Fisher, Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: A room 'without a window' can be a very nice surprise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Sultanahmet Park hotel with in early September. I'm in the airline industry and Andreas at the front was one of the most friendly and helpful people I've encountered. He had great recommendations and treated us great.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the major tourist sites. Our Room 602 had outstanding views of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia both day and night.

Room Tip: 602 best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sultanahmet Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Park Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klotfarer Cad. No:31 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 900 hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultanahmet Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Park Hotel welcomes you with modern, clean and comfortable 14 rooms, Located at the heart of Istanbul's historical peninsula once was named as; Byzantium, Nova Rome, Constantinople, "Konstantinopolis, Dersaadet and Istanbul and with views of two of the most magnificent masterpieces of world architecture, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, Sultanahmet Park Hotel offers a unique experience to the guests. It is in the center of the Old City, within walking distance of most of the major sites such as Topkapi Palace, Archaeology Museum, St. Irene Church, Sultanahmet Square, Grand Bazaar, Egyptian Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Sultanahmet Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultanahmet Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.