We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for sight seeing Holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sevila Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sevila Hotel to your Saves list
Sevila Hotel
Binbirdirek Mah Klodfarer Cad 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 829 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Icmeler, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for sight seeing Holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely friendly staff really made our trip. Sevila hotel is walking Distance to all main attractions. Hotel is cleaned daily. Terrace offers views of the blue mosque. Free wifi and tv. Open to guests from all over the world. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Sevila Hotel is perfectly located, it's within 2 mins walk from Sultanahmed.
Pluses of the hotel:
+ location
+ good view
+ price
+ friendly staff
+ comfortable beds

Minuses of the hotel:
- small rooms
- room service
- cleaning
- breakfast
- thin walls

A good choice if you just plan to sleep in the room. For me the level of comfort was below expectations. Photos on the internet are better than reality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Very good location, staff is friendly but the room is small, not that clean and moist.. The breakfast is quit simple, but not that bad.. The hotel offer airport shuttle, the cheapest we found in town.....................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First of all can I just say this is a budget hotel and charges budget prices in a very central city location. We stayed here in September as part of our tour of turkey. We booked the room from the UK and had read all the reviews so we did not expect the four seasons. The hotel location was perfect for visiting the city’s many attractions on foot and the staff could not have been friendlier. As other people have said the view from the terrace is amazing, especially at night and for the price I don’t think you could do better. On the down side the rooms do need updating, but if like us you only use your hotel to sleep and shower then this budget hotel is perfect for seeing Istanbul!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As soon as we got there the charm and kindness of Önder and his cousin made us feel like if we were home. They prepared a daily home made breakfast and helped us with everything we needed. The views from the terrace are just stunning. If i had to recommend a place in SultanAhmet, I defo would this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Let me start with the positive things. The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic. A block away from the Sultanahmet tram station and a 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The view from the roof terras, which is also the breakfast room, is amazing. Though not unique. Many of the hotels and restaurants in Istanbul have a roof terras with a great view of the sights. Be that as it may, the view is stunning. Just don't forget to bring your sunglasses at breakfast for the sun is really blinding in the morning.
The breakfast itself is simple but tasty. Some bread, cereals, eggs etc. You can find milk and juice in the fridge. The coffee is instant coffee.
The two hotel receptionists are very friendly and helpfull. They gave us a map when we arrived and showded us the do's and don'ts of Istanbul. Although they are not fluent in English they are perfectly understandable. Another man, I think the owner, seems less trustworthy somehow.
Now for the less postive things.
The rooms are not very clean and kind of shabby. The previous guest left some hair on the bed and toilet.The plinths are hanging loose and the curtains are not big enough for the windows. The bed was comfortable though. The shower was hung pretty low and not very stable. It could fall at any moment and it did, frequently. Also when you shower the entire bathroom gets wet.
We had booked the basementroom, by accident, but the receptionist put us on the second floor. A nice gesture. The room was quite noisy though. The street below is very busy and you can hear the mosque quite well.
The rooms are cleaned every day, but one day we came back when they were still cleaning and we got an unpleasent surprise. The cleaninglady left our room door wide open and was cleaning something on another floor. When I confronted the receptionist about it he assured me that he could see our hallway and room door from his monitor, but I knew he wasn't always behind the desk. So it was quite unsettling for us that our room was left open and unattended.
So my overall score would be three points. The location and the staff are super but the rooms are a bit shabby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all let me tell you the staff and location of this hotel are perfect. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful and seemed eager to assist. The location and views from the roof terrace are picture perfect, very handy base for exploring the city.

However, the standard of the rooms could not have been worse. I have stayed in many hotels in many different coutries and this one was a complete shocker. The electrics were hanging off the walls with some DIY gaffertape holiding plugs in place near the bed. The bed headboard was dusty and looked like it hadnt been cleaned since the dark ages, the shower leaked everywhere after 1 min of trying to wash, the door lock was loose and lock was largely ineffective, the bed sheets were changed twice in a 5 day stay and the wall to our adjacent neighbours appeared to have been made by a cowboy using planks of wood to divide up a room splitting the window unceremoniously between 2 rooms! so we shared a window of a room with our noisy hotel neighbours - not ideal

I would not stay again in this hotel if you paid me, it was a feeling of dread returning from a day trip out in this beautiful city to such a grim room

Room Tip: Go someplace else unless you want to have a bad time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sevila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevila Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah Klodfarer Cad 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 829 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sevila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevila Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.