We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shabby rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sevila Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sevila Hotel to your Saves list
Sevila Hotel
Binbirdirek Mah Klodfarer Cad 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Roosendaal, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Let me start with the positive things. The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic. A block away from the Sultanahmet tram station and a 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. The view from the roof terras, which is also the breakfast room, is amazing. Though not unique. Many of the hotels and restaurants in Istanbul have a roof terras with a great view of the sights. Be that as it may, the view is stunning. Just don't forget to bring your sunglasses at breakfast for the sun is really blinding in the morning.
The breakfast itself is simple but tasty. Some bread, cereals, eggs etc. You can find milk and juice in the fridge. The coffee is instant coffee.
The two hotel receptionists are very friendly and helpfull. They gave us a map when we arrived and showded us the do's and don'ts of Istanbul. Although they are not fluent in English they are perfectly understandable. Another man, I think the owner, seems less trustworthy somehow.
Now for the less postive things.
The rooms are not very clean and kind of shabby. The previous guest left some hair on the bed and toilet.The plinths are hanging loose and the curtains are not big enough for the windows. The bed was comfortable though. The shower was hung pretty low and not very stable. It could fall at any moment and it did, frequently. Also when you shower the entire bathroom gets wet.
We had booked the basementroom, by accident, but the receptionist put us on the second floor. A nice gesture. The room was quite noisy though. The street below is very busy and you can hear the mosque quite well.
The rooms are cleaned every day, but one day we came back when they were still cleaning and we got an unpleasent surprise. The cleaninglady left our room door wide open and was cleaning something on another floor. When I confronted the receptionist about it he assured me that he could see our hallway and room door from his monitor, but I knew he wasn't always behind the desk. So it was quite unsettling for us that our room was left open and unattended.
So my overall score would be three points. The location and the staff are super but the rooms are a bit shabby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
3
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all let me tell you the staff and location of this hotel are perfect. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful and seemed eager to assist. The location and views from the roof terrace are picture perfect, very handy base for exploring the city.

However, the standard of the rooms could not have been worse. I have stayed in many hotels in many different coutries and this one was a complete shocker. The electrics were hanging off the walls with some DIY gaffertape holiding plugs in place near the bed. The bed headboard was dusty and looked like it hadnt been cleaned since the dark ages, the shower leaked everywhere after 1 min of trying to wash, the door lock was loose and lock was largely ineffective, the bed sheets were changed twice in a 5 day stay and the wall to our adjacent neighbours appeared to have been made by a cowboy using planks of wood to divide up a room splitting the window unceremoniously between 2 rooms! so we shared a window of a room with our noisy hotel neighbours - not ideal

I would not stay again in this hotel if you paid me, it was a feeling of dread returning from a day trip out in this beautiful city to such a grim room

Room Tip: Go someplace else unless you want to have a bad time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our toilet leaked on the floor when you flush it, so we had to clean the floor every time. We asked for it to be repaired which took 2 days, even then it still leaked.
The rooms are a joke, enough room for a single bed but still they managed to get two in. Breakfast is terrible, cereals left out in a huge bowl, 24/7 (for as long as we were there). Location is good if you can't see dirt and dust. . . And the guy on reception was really lovely.

Room Tip: If you can find a better place, do it, read all reviews carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tiny rooms, which I think are typical of hotels in most old cities in Europe, but not so much an issue since we were out all day anyway. 2 minute walk to tramline to airport, Galata, Taksim. Max ten minute walk to Sultanahmet attractions - Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Hagia Sofiya, Grand Bazaar. Very friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Worst hotel experience I've ever had! DO NOT GO THERE!! Booked in Jan for stay in May 2013. When we got to the hotel, they had given our reservation to someone else. We were told we could go elsewhere if we wished, but after a long flight, tired and hungry, we settled for a basement room with a double bed and 1 of us slept on a mattress on the floor for 2 nights. Water in shower cubicle didn't flow quickly. Aircon remote had no batteries, no t.v. reception. We were "upgraded" to the top floor for 2 further nights. Toilet didn't work properly, Gap between door and tiles in bathroom, Door handle came off, smelt of sewerage, no english channels on t.v. Breakfast was a challenge....... cereals left open overnight, so didn't eat any. Eggs were sometimes freshly boiled, otherwise leftover from previous day. Milk dodgy..Sour on 1 morning. Better and nicer hotels across the street and in the local vacinity!! Location excellent with views of blue mosque and situated closely to all "must see" places.

Room Tip: GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!! Rooms on top floor have good uninterrupted views of Blue Mosque and close to hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staffs are excellent. Are not very fluent in English but are extremely friendly and helpful.
We arrived before check in time and were able to get to our room and also to have breakfast.

The wi-fi works great. Very close to places of interest and yet the price is very good. The view from the terrace to the Hagia Sofia is also very beautiful.

Our room was on the 4th floor and the elevator only goes up to 3rd floor. It seems that the hotel is under renovation so the room is full of small details but not enough to influence negatively. The room is small and can be uncomfortable for most people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Hello, everyone! We've spend 4 days in Istanbul at may 2013. We booked this hotel. Before we came I read some bookmarks. That time I understand that hotel is great for its price. Very small rooms, small breakfast. But great location. It's only 3-5 min to all seesights. If you're in Istanbul and want to spend time in the city (not at the hotel), this places is for you. Be aware of the friendly man outside, he wants to sell you carpets.
I'm really ok with this place, for that price and location it's probably the best;) also you can use the six floor balcony all day long. Thanks for 2 reception boys.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sevila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sevila Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah Klodfarer Cad 25 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sevila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sevila Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.