We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taksim Sofa Hostel

Taksim Sofa Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taksim Sofa Hostel to your Saves list
Taksim Sofa Hostel
Kuloglu Mah. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“The Best Hostel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the most fabulous hostel. The staff is friendly, the rooms spacious and clean, the bathrooms are spotless, and it is a great value. I felt at home here, which was a great value. If I have the chance to return to Istanbul I will be staying here. The hostel is in a great location and has everything you could possibly need. The walking tours offered are also very good. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
punjab
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Well i stayed in Taksim Sofa Hostel for 2 nights in Nov'12. The best part about this hostel is the location , right in the middle of Istiklal street in Taksim Square. Rooms were quite small but neat. The staff is really helpful and they serve good breakfast :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here for a couple of nights and had a great time. The staff were so friendly making sure we knew where we were going each day. I think I can say for both of us that we were sad to leave all the people behind, we made some great friends and had fun exploring. The hostel itself was right in the heart of all the places we wanted to see and the rooms were comfortable. On the last night a few of us staying there made pasta and had a big meal together, it was nice to be somewhere cosy and comforting, although its not the prettiest place to look at (originally I was a bit unsure) the bedding was clean and the company was great so any worries were soon gone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have a problem rating this hostel. I stayed in a room which wasn't clean, and there was no everyday cleaning service offered. At some point I had to change rooms and I found myself without towels and toilet paper, because the cleaner had forgotten to provide them. On the other hand, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They ensured there would be a cozy atmosphere in the lounge and they went out of their way to offer tips. Breakfast was decent. The hostel lies just a few minutes walk from Istiklal street, the heart of Beyoglu. So, if you care more about the area than the room and cleanliness itself, this hostel would be a good choice. But if you can't stand seeing thick dust on the toilet trashcan and flush, then don't go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is by far one of the best run hostels. When it bowls down to when you're staying in a host it matters most about the management. They went out of their way to accomodate you and they made me feel like a prince. I loved this place, wish I would have stayed here more days! The beds are SUPER comfy, the showers are adequate, and the breakfast actually provides you proteins!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hostel was awesome. Very social, friendly environment, guests and staff were all so nice. It was a great hostel to meet other travelers and share stories. The location is perfect, right in the middle of the main square. There are lots of shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes all around. www.TaksimSofa.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I was only here for night but had a great time. The lady on day shift was so lovely and gave me lots of tips on travel through Turkey. I was quite sick with Diarreah from drinking water in Cappadocia and the man on night shift made me tea and tried to make me feel better. The bed was comfy, dorm room was clean and cool.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taksim Sofa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Sofa Hostel

Address: Kuloglu Mah. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 850 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Kiwi (New Zealand) owner bring a fresh new style Taksim sopha hostel located in beyoglu/taksim area which is the heart of istanbul and heart of fun. We aim to give you a home away from home feel so you can make the most of your time in Istanbul as if you were visiting a old friend. We are located only 2 minutes to the famous istiklal street (walking st) which is the 24 hour party and shopping centre of istanbul and we are 10 minutes to the old city ( sultanahmet ) where you can Visit the Famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Tokapi place amongst other things in one of the most Important cities in the history of civiliasation payments cash upon arrival check in 14 :00 check out 11:00 ( but you can hang out all day and leave your stuff here) We have 3 dormitories; 10 bed shared bathroom 6 bed shared bathroom 4 bed with ensuite 2 double private rooms with ensuites Facilities: free internet(wifi) free luggage storage free tea and coffee free lockers laundry facilities to wash your clothes if youve been on the road for a while A small modest guest kitchen 24 hour reception no curfew or lockout travel information to help you plan the next stage of your journey without getting scammed by dodgy tour guides common room hot showers free pub crawls free walking tour (not like the typical tourist walking tour scams, we will tell you the local and real stuff.) Free costume party (we have more than a thousand costumes, you will chose or combine your costume, and we will go out well dressed!) And free hug :) and we dont work with local guests.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Taksim Sofa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taksim Sofa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.