We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olimpiyat 2 Minas Restaurant

Olimpiyat 2 Minas Restaurant
Samsa Sok, 7 | Kumkapi Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
90 212-5172240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #714 of 11,047 Restaurants in Istanbul
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ashkhabat
1 review
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Amazing food and very hospitable staff. We visited this place 4 times and received 20% discount we were very pleasant. Food was very fresh and tasty. Natural flowers on the tables. I recommend to visit this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, but..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly and unobtrusive. Gave us our space to just sit and watch the bustle. No free drinks or desert for us, buy we were just a party of two. I found a hair on my fish kebab, and saw someone smoking in the kitchen on my way out. I'm a little turned off by those two things, but aside from that the food was very good (my partner had the "fish in a pot" and it was delicious).

I get the sense that if you are there with a larger party, or if you order more than just beer and entrées, you'd get the attention some other posters have described.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting afternoon in Kumkapi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Sea bream was excellent! Very pleasant atmosphere and reasonable prices. Friendly staff was very helpful and my recommendations to everyone who visits Kumkapi. We got gratis fruit salad for desert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaspers Brush
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Turkish evening with great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Kumkapi, the first we chose a restaurant on price and as this was our last night in Europe we chose Olimpiyat on the TripAdvisor reviews. Definitely the way to go, only a little more expensive and far more enjoyable all round. The service was outstanding, the staff took great trouble to find us a table that was not next to smokers. The meal was excellent and the location - well amazing sums it up, the square was buzzing with life, locals dancing and the inevitable musicians playing for all they were worth. The free desert and raki also was much better than usual, a beautiful plate of fresh fruit to complement our seafood meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“Good One in a Street of Many”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the tourist area for restuarants in Kumkapi suburb of Sultahamet. This is where you are asked (hassled) by every single waiter to come in to their restuarant because "it`s the best one" the entire length of the street of maybe thirty. We chose this one by the reviews and were not dissappointed. Upstairs balcony overlooks the hussle, food and service were great. Our most expensive meal out but then we were there for five hours and like I said, it is the tourist bit. Personally I prefer to seek more `home-style` places but if mainstream is your thing, well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Olimpiyat 2 Minas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Olimpiyat 2 Minas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olimpiyat 2 Minas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.