We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Restaurant away from the Tourist Traps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortaklar

Ortaklar
Peykhane Street No:27, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)
902125176198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 11,070 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet - Old City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bargain Restaurant away from the Tourist Traps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can only agree with other reviewers that this is a little gem in what can be an expensive city. For 25 Turkish lira we had 2 courses, tea, water and a complimentary dip with plenty of excellent bread. We couldn't finish it all. The chicken casserole was the stand out dish. The mixed pide was also very good. The only minor downside is no alcohol is served.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    86
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Simple food, well done. We are still thinking about the combination pide. Welcoming staff, and a comfortable place for a low key meal (the best kind).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great value, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In our 4 days in Istanbul, we ate here twice! It was close to our hotel and when our feet were too tired to walk elsewhere, we found the TA recommendation and decided to try it. We were not disappointed! Each nite we had a fresh shepherd's salad, a Turkish pizza called pide and a kebab of some sort. Hearty and delicious! The adorable waiter spoke pretty good English and his busboy tried hard! We ate in the second floor dining room with the windows open giving a nice breeze. Get the pides! So yummy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“nice service! great taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

really good taste, reasonable price, faster service and handsome gentleman! very happy experience in Istanbul. i love it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything Was Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Visited this place at least 5 times during our stay in Istanbul (Turkey)
Food Was Perfect! Service Was good! Prices are Bang on!
Few complimentary dishes and Tea at the end!
Can't Wait to return to Turkey! To eat in this place once again!
Staff Called Ahmed Short Guy and another guy with the Curly Black Hair always smiling! Were great! Thank YOU :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortaklar also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Ortaklar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortaklar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.