We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with poor staff and out of the way location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yenisehir Mah. Dede Pasa Cad. No:15 | Kurtkoy Pendik, Istanbul 34912, Turkey (Formerly Via Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #204 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good hotel with poor staff and out of the way location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked this hotel as I was working with a company on the Asian side, so thought that the location would be convenient. First thing is that I am thankful I spent the first night at the Renaissance as my flight arrived at 22.00. Otherwise I would have faced a very long trip to get here from Ataturk airport (no flights from UK to airport on Asian side). What struck me was just how far the other side of Istanbul this hotel is. If you need to be close to the Asian airport then it is fine, but I needed to go to Maltepe, which took an hour or so to get to. And then to get to the European side was a further hour. Anyway, my fault for choosing the hotel location.
The hotel itself is a nice building. New, large and well decorated. The rooms are pleasant and cosy, the bathroom is nice and has a separate bath and shower. Did spot a few clumps of matted long hair on the bathroom floor though, which certainly weren't mine. Internet access is free. Also, due to the location, you do not get awoken at 5.15 in the morning with the call to prayer, so you can get a good nights sleep here. Well, you can if the A/C works properly. I woke up early as I was roasting, despite setting the A/C to cool and lowering the temperature. At least there was a kettle and coffee in the room to help me wake up after my early start.
Anyone who reads my reviews will know that I look for a hotel with a good gym, and this hotel certainly doesn't disappoint. It has a very large, well equipped gym. But it is open to the public, and it is very busy, so at peak time be prepared to wait to use some of the equipment. And you would have thought that maybe they had room for just one rowing machine? Just a minor gripe, they had smith machines and cable cross-overs so I was happy.
Breakfast in the hotel was good, apart from the orange juice tasted very low quality, and was in paper cups. Also, the napkins were paper. These are minor points but not quite what you expect in a 5* hotel. Or even a 4*! But otherwise it was good. Shame I can't say the same about the experience I had with my evening meal in the hotel. The food itself was fine, but the service was completely hopeless. I had to wait to get a menu. Nobody asked me if I wanted a drink, and when I did order one it never arrived. Once I'd finally ordered, the food took ages, and I'm sure they weren't making the lentil soup just for me. There seemed to be plenty of staff, but they seemed to be running around like headless chickens doing all sorts of random stuff, instead of serving people. For example, one waiter was refilling glasses and putting out bread rolls on tables only 6 feet away from me, whilst I sat and had none. I got his attention, and rather than go and get a bread roll from where he'd just set down a pile, I waited five minutes for him to return with a longer, sliced roll from somewhere else. There were waiters walking half-way to somewhere, then changing their minds, one waitress seemed to be glued to her mobile phone, and I saw a waiter clean a plate with a table cloth before taking it to a table to be used! My advice, eat outside the hotel.
Thankfully this is not difficult to do, as the hotel is on the end of a retail complex, so there is a shopping mall, outdoors but manly covered, and there are a lot of restaurants overlooking some water with ducks, swans and it seems also a lot of frogs. I ate in one of the restaurants there and the food was good.
So, if you actually need to be in this area, and you will be on your own, this hotel is a good choice as you can entertain yourself here. But the location is not great even if you still want to access some parts of Istanbul on the Asian side. For my last night, I changed my hotel booking and moved over to the European side, rather than face a 2 hour plus journey to Ataturk airport. The main thing that let it down for me was the awful service in the restaurant. But you can easily go elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPIstanbulAsia A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experinece during your stay at our hotel. It is our goal to provide excellent service and feel like at your home.
I'd appreciate it for you to reach out to me personally to discuss the details of your experience. Please do not hasitate to contact with me at 00 90 216- 585 -60 - 60 or ergun.demiray@cpistanbulasia.com

Ergun Demiray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    85
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
22
11
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Other reviews have picked up on this hotel being expensive for food and drink, but what really annoyed me was the petty little extra charges that they added on ie: 15TL for a mandatory swimming cap to use the pool (60TL for a family of 4) 10TL for orange juice at breakfast! 11 TL for latte at breakfast! All quite petty but annoying all the same. Also it took us 7 hours and 4 phone calls to get a roll out bed in the room. Kids were asleep in our bed by the time it arrived! Also there was no airport shuttle at the airport and We ended up getting a taxi. All in all not impressed. May be a good business hotel but wasn't great for a family stop over near the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear AML1967,

As always we are glad to read feedback of the Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Asia. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It was unfortunate to see the Value was not what you had expected when booking the hotel. I do appreciate the high scores for Rooms and Cleanliness. We value all reviews we receive as they help us to target any areas where we might improve.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

for a 1st time visit to any country - comfort of the hotel make the guest to feel like a home
this is want i experienced at Crown plaza ist Asia, for Asian Veg food also we have a variety of food in the complex
this hotel has mega shopping complex + food court + good transport network + mini amusement park also - i recommend for a stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPIstanbulAsia A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear our guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments and feedbacks.
Entertain our guests in our hotel is a great pleasure for us as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.
Your suggestions are important for us to evaluate the constantly evolving guest satisfaction.
We would like to inform you that the air conditioners problems you faced were based on the seasonal transitions and please note that the necessary preventions have taken to avoid a similar situation for future periods.
We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.

Kind regards,

Ergün Demiray,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. Check in was a little slow but didn't mind when I was upgraded to a club suite. Room was excellent but a little hot and air conditioner didn't do a great job but opened window and put up with a little traffic noise. Restaurant food isn't very good so would avoid next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPIstanbulAsia A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest ;
Thank you for share regarding your experience with the Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Asia. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Your suggestions are important for us to evaluate the constantly evolving guest satisfaction.
We would like to inform you that the air conditioners problems you faced were based on the seasonal transitions and please note that the necessary preventions have taken to avoid a similar situation for future periods.
We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.

Ergün Demiray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is excellent. Rooms, fitness center, pool!! Stunning beautiful.
Be ready to pay crazy bill if you eat in the restaurant. We just eat like usually we do with two bottles of wine and some drinks in the bar just before sit to down.
That is the only weak point but now we know!!

Highly recommend the hotel!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPIstanbulAsia A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest ;
Thank you for providing us with feedback about your stay with us. Entertain our guests in our hotel is a great pleasure for us as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.
All our Guest’s feedback whether positive or negative, always helps us to improve the services we provide to our guests.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to contact us. We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.

Ergün Demiray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Generally ok, old hotel, lessor staff member probably hence delay in services. Generally hospitality in Istanbul is above average hence little let down. Rooms are decent, breakfast spread could be better. Turkish Hospitality is missing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPIstanbulAsia A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest ;

We appreciate you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia. All of our guets whether positive or negative, always asisst us to improve the services we provide to our guests.
All of your experience will reviewed with the relevant departments, including Housekeeping, Engineering and Food and Beverage departments in order to control every details.
Once again, thank you for taking time to contact us. We will appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.

Ergün Demiray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is the way a hotel is run, good location, price point all good. Good breakfast and a very conscious staff that understands the business traveler.
Rooms are roomy quiet and have great bathrooms.
Next to the mall and restaurants.
To bad the hotel shuttle bus drives more to the airport.

Room Tip: All floors have great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ergün D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and feedbacks.
Entertain our guests in our hotel is a great pleasure for us as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.
Your nice wishes and suggestions are imortant to increase our employees motivation, evaluate the constantly evolving guest satisfaction and meet the expectations of all our guests.
We have a scheduled shuttle service and if you require, our team will be happy to assist you on your next visit.
We will be appreciate to welcome you again on your next trip as Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia

Address: Yenisehir Mah. Dede Pasa Cad. No:15 | Kurtkoy Pendik, Istanbul 34912, Turkey (Formerly Via Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#60 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#118 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#124 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Intercontinental Hotels Group hotel on the Anatolian side, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia opens the doors of a world of privileges to its guests. Situated within the World of Via Port complex, the hotel is next to Via Port, the largest and most popular outlet mall in Turkey, and is within walking distance of a few minutes to Via Port Houses & Suites project, which combines nature and architecture. With its comprehensive service mentality offering business, holiday, shopping and entertainment opportunities as a package, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia adds a brand new dimension to the urban hotel concept. Situated in the heart of Istanbul's new development axis, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia combines personalized service with the comfort of luxury. Located within just a few minutes of the ever-rising prestigious business centers, modern living areas, and Sabiha Gokcen Airport, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia has 336 rooms on eight floors. In addition to its accommodation services, the Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia combines luster, luxury, comfort, and quality in its ballrooms. Crowne Plaza has two ballrooms with capacities of 700 and 1,000. Promising an experience beyond your vision of your wedding, Crowne Plaza meets your wants and needs with a professional team. The Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia offers its guests the most cutting-edge comfort and technology at every chance, from the lobby to the rooms. Sparing no expense even in the tiniest details to comfort its guests, the hotel culminates in offering its guests privileges with the Executive Club level. In Belvedere Restaurant & Bar (a la carte) and Cesni Restaurant, the most delicious foods from the Turkish and world cuisines are served accompanied by exquisite cocktails. A total covered area of 73,000 square meters on eight floors A total of 336 rooms, including 114 Standard, 114 Deluxe, 66 Club, 24 Corner, 16 Junior Suite and two Presidental Suite rooms. Starting from 35 square meters, all rooms offer spacious luxury. With its two ballrooms and 28 high-tech conference rooms with access from within the hotel, the Via Port Convention have a total conference and party area of 9,840 square meters. The main restaurant has a capacity of 300 while A la Carte Restaurant can entertain 60. All guests in the Executive Club rooms on the seventh and eighth floor can enjoy the Executive Club Lounge privileges free of charge. In addition, club room guests enjoy various privileges including a velvet bathrobe, slippers, turndown service, a spirit or soft drink coupon for the lobby bar, and a 15 percent discount on food, drink and laundry services within the hotel. 24-Hour room service Dry cleaning Parking lot & garage Hairdresser Car rental and transfer Fitness and SPA Center on a 2,500 square meter area 5 minutes from International Sabiha Gokcen Airport A part of the Via Port complex, the largest and most-visited outlet mall in Turkey Green Star Certification Green Star Certification Our hotel has been certified with an "Environment- friendly Accommodation Facility Certificate" by the Repuclic of Turkey Ministry of Culture and Tourism. Club rooms with the free privileges Executive Club Level is privately designed for Club Lounge Level's distinguished guests. Your accommodation in Crowne Plaza Istanbul-Asia will be much enjoyable with the rich breakfast opportunities, delicious buffet lunch, afternoon tea and tasty offers of Club Lounge Level. Hours of Operation 07.00 - 23.00 Breakfast 07.00 - 11.00 (Weekday), 07.00 - 12.00 (Weekend and special days) Lunch time 12.00 - 14.30 (Weekday), 12.00 - 13.00 Or 14.30 (Weekend) Happy hour 18.00 - 20.00 (Only for Executive Club Level's guest) Tea Hours 15.00 - 17.30 20:30 - 23:00 (Only for Executive Club Level's guest) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Istanbul Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.