We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Han

Kiva Han
Galata Kulesi MeydanI No:4 Galata, Istanbul, Turkey
0212 2929898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #616 of 11,070 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It is in the circle of buildings surrounding Galata Tower and easy to find.The lamb cooked in butter and served on rice was great. Even better was the lamb cooked in sweet peppers and served with flatbread.It was just amazing. The staff were attentive without being annoying and the prices were very reasonable.The atmosphere is nice and the front of the restaurant is open for a breeze and people watching.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    81
    20
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very good food - particularly given that restaurants near major tourist attractions like Galata Tower tend to be mediocre. Went there twice. Both times services was great and they easily accommodated on shifting numbers in our groups.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Turkish fare under the Galata Tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We came to Istanbul from New York to hold a Jazz workshop, our host booked this restaurant for us on the third night. The location is fantastic, between the music stores and the tower we had a blast, the food was really good and the staff was friendly and attentive. I even asked them to charge me my phone.We had wine, beers appetizers and various entrees and the check was around $30 us per person. I even forgot my phone there and then i picked it up the next day with no issues whatsoever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Anatolian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Given that we didn't have time to go to Anatolia on our trip it was really fortuitous that we stumbled upon this restaurant while headed to the Galata Tower. It's really fantastic food in a convenient location and it's unlike most of the food you'll see in the area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are looking for something a little different than the standard Turkish cafe dinner offerings, try Kiva. Don't be fooled by its Galata Tower location-- food is imaginatively prepared, and take standards and does them different.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiva Han also viewed

 

Been to Kiva Han? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Han, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.