We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest hostel around Taksim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Hostel Istanbul

Save Saved
You added Soho Hostel Istanbul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soho Hostel Istanbul
Imam Adnan Sok. No:5 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 769 Specialty lodging in Istanbul
Jordan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The nicest hostel around Taksim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My trip in Istanbul lasted for 3 weeks and I stayed at Soho Hostel Istanbul for the last 7 days of my trip, and it was the nicest stay in Istanbul.

The disadvantages:
1- The rooms are small and not that clean. For a backpacker, we don't care how small is the place.
2- The hostel in the heart of Taksim so the area is loud, not easy to sleep unless you sleep deeply or you sleep very late around 4 am - actually this is the whole purpose of staying in Taksim, staying up late, if you want to have a good and early sleep, go and stay in Sultanahmet area not in Taksim.
3- I only saw 1 toilet and 2 showers and they were very small.

The advantages:
1- The Hostel is in the heart of Istiklal street, Taksim. Considering that, 6 €/night was a great deal even with all the disadvantages.
2- The staff were super hospitable, super friendly and super helpful. They tried to help everybody with everything.
3- They allow to use the kitchen which is great thing to have for a backpacker.
4- No bugs - thank GOD.
5- I felt like home in this hostel not like a hostel, everybody were like a family - sitting watching TV, having a nice cup of tea while enjoying a good conversation.

I respect the other reviews that other travelers have left but this is my review from my own experience, which to me it was very nice.


Best wishes for everybody,

Fadi the Palestinian :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
4
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This place is gnarly dirty. The beds were garbage and probably have never been cleaned, rooms were filthy too. Only two bathrooms in the whole place (which were also filthy), this was troublesome with 30+ people trying to take showers and use the toilet. There was construction going on in the hostel as late as eleven at night, even after our professor requested that they stop. All in all a pretty ugly experience, people who ran the place were nice but that only takes things so far. So unless you just want to get trashed and pass out, I would not recommend staying here.

Also, its right next two several clubs playing crappy house music till 6 in the morning so if you want to sleep good luck.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We were a group of 25 people traveling from Sofia to Istanbul. But when we arrived there.. we were amazed, because we had a very hard time entering the hostel in the morning. The guy was sleeping deep. Then.. we just left our bags in one room and we came back at 13 when he said it's the designated time to check in. We got our rooms and we were amazed how dirty they were. The sheet had a lot of stains, the blanket was not changed, and it had a weird smell. The pillow had no cover!! The only changed thing there was the sheet. Then we got to the toilet.. and surprise.. we were 35 people in the hostel with just 3 bathrooms and 2 showers. And.. the toilet itself was very dirty, and it was stinking. The owner/guy on duty there always had his friends occupied the common room and sitting and playing at the only computer with internet. The common room was small anyhow, we were enough people as it is.. but even so, there were always 4-5 Turkish people staying there ans smoking. And also the common room was always dirty and the couch has so many dirty stains on it that I didn't want to count them. And it just got worse as on our last day (from 3 days) we had no water in the hostel.. and they didn't do anything. They just said "A.. we are sorry.. it will be back after 14. And we were checking out at 12 without taking a shower.. without being able to wash out teeth. We had to go and pay a lot of money to buy a lot of 5l or 2l water to be able to wash ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Very fun new hostel. It opened about 2 months ago so they are still working some kinks out but the enthusiasm and helpfulness of the staff is what makes it so enjoyable.
Being where and what it is it can be a bit noisy during the night, but that is par for the course in this part of town. The location is great for exploring Istanbul and right near Taksim square.
It has dorm rooms (6 bed) and also private rooms available and you can use the computer in the reception for free.
Its major downfall is the bathroom. It has one shower for the hostel, and really needs a remodel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soho Hostel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hostel Istanbul

Address: Imam Adnan Sok. No:5 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 769 Specialty lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Soho Hostel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Hostel Istanbul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.