We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitively recommendable, feel home in Istanbul !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House Hotel Galatasaray

Save Saved
You added The House Hotel Galatasaray to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The House Hotel Galatasaray
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Firuzaga Mah. Bostanbasi Cad. No:19 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-15% on Food & Beverage
Ranked #33 of 769 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitively recommendable, feel home in Istanbul !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location, absolute charming and tasteful decoration, very friendly and helpful staff ! Especially recommendable for couples on (extended) touristic week-end trips. Also enjoy the upper floor lounge bar with open fire and nice view for breakfast or to chill after the enduring city visits. Staff has always good recommendations for restaurants or other activities !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear The House guest,
Thank you very much for your time spent writing this recent review about our hotel.
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the experience of your stay with us.
I will be sure to pass on your extremely kind comments to all the staff here at The House Galatasaray as they will be just as delighted with your lovely review as I was.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Your sincerely,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    72
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
132
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The HHG was our place of choice for a 10-year-anniversary-romantic-long weekend-escape-without-kids. It did not dissapoint! From a location point of view perfect for what we had in mind: sightseeing, bazaaring, sampling good food on all levels, from streetfood to haute gastronomy and strolling around without too much aim - all of this is within reach, most of it around the corner, or a short tram ride away. From a hotel choice, ideal: retro glamour meets space and light, a gorgeous oasis for intimate and calm relaxing after the day out 'n about, the feeling more of returning to one's elegant parisianesque apartments as opposed to a busy hotel life. The staff were utterly kind, efficient and helpful. We're definitely looking forward to returning there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light, but you will need to climb them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear the House guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay at The House Galatasaray. We are delighted to hear that you thought so highly of our hotel and enjoyed your stay. As you have pointed out, the hotel is ideally located in the heart of cultural Istanbul, its premise being a combination of traditional authenticity and modern freshness. We pride ourselves in the friendly and attentive assistance that you receive within the hotel and hope that this extra touch makes your stay more enjoyable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The House Hotel for four nights on the recommendation of our daughter who had stayed here twelve months ago. We found the hotel as wonderful as she had described to us. The staff cannot do enough to ensure that your stay is very enjoyable and stress free. There is always help available to solve transport issues, recommend restaurants, provide information about local points of interest. We were able to leave a suitcase for a number of days when we flew south. Our deluxe suite was beautifully furnished and the separate lounge area made it very spacious and comfortable. The room was immaculately clean and serviced well each day. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the rooftop restaurant each morning, with staff providing great service.

Room Tip: We had a lower floor room at the rear of the building and on one evening the restaurant located behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear The House guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site following your recent stay at The House Galatasaray and I am thrilled that you found our hotel wonderful. It is so pleasing to read that the service was highly appreciated by you and that we made sure that all your needs were met and your trip was joyful throughout. We are always happy to store luggage for returning guests, it is such a valuable service we provide and it means that you can travel much lighter and in the knowledge that your luggage will be safe for your return. (I do hope you enjoyed your sunny trip to the South.) I am pleased that you enjoyed your selection of rooms, all very individual but very comfortable, and found it immaculately clean and well serviced. I am also happy to hear that all the team was uniformly helpful and that you availed yourselves of our recommendations on the best that Istanbul has to offer and guidance to the city.

I have passed your kind words to all my team and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Istanbul.
Warm regards,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the House Galatasaray. While looks may be deceiving from the exterior, the location of this hotel is fantastic. Found on a small street filled with small apartment buildings and quirky shops, the hotel is a short walk away from Istiklal, Taksim and Galata. We had stayed 3 nights in Fatih which was convenient for visiting the tourist sights in the Old Town but we much preferred our time at this location.
The decor of the hotel is clean and fresh. We loved the ultra high ceilings and of course, the lounge on the top floor was a great place to enjoy a beer or a coffee throughout the day. The staff were really helpful and were great about recommending restaurants, ordering taxis and giving ideas about what to see and do.
We stayed in the Deluxe Suite which was the perfect size. We enjoyed the separate sitting room and while the exposed shower may not be a perk for everyone, we found it to be spacious and fully functional. (There is a white curtain within the shower that can be closed for added privacy.) The room was spotless as was the rest of the property and we enjoyed all of the little details.
A couple of things to note: Our room faced the back of the property which also housed a restaurant. There was some noise at night from there & perhaps a busy little street just up the block. If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a quieter room. Also, taxi drivers tend to have a bit of difficulty finding the place. Carry the hotel business card and at the least, their phone number so the driver can call the front desk for directions.
As a lover of boutique hotels that don't feel like your standard hotel, this fit the bill and we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear The House guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to get such wonderful and detailed feedback.

It is so wonderful to hear that you loved the hotel so much and I am delighted that you found the location fantastic, the rooms clean and well-furnished and the service impeccable. I am pleased to hear that the team were most helpful, courteous and genuinely interested in guest. We are indeed genuinely interested in our guests and we want them to have a wonderful and memorable stay with us so I am pleased that you had a lovely time. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your time in our rooftop lounge with its view of the Galata Tower.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who are very grateful and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For our anniversary and my birthday as a surprise I booked a long weekend stay here with my wife in the Penthouse. Location, service and the building itself was extremely good. The staff were courteous and efficient. Ordering room service on several occasions and in forgetting a toothbrush we were well looked after with travel advice and bureau de change services all being offered at reception.

The architecture and interiors of the building are extremely good and it is very beautiful but there are no lifts, so stairs (for all guests) are required to get to the uppermost breakfast room, where our Penthouse was. If you are unfit or have any form of impediment then request a lower level room.

Its not to everyone's cup of tea a shower in the bedroom but we didn't mind it and if you are shy there is a curtain inside to hide oneself but then if you are shy don't come here in the first place and complain about it. Our Penthouse was very generous in size with the bathroom (containing sink and wardrobe only) and toilet behind another door all separated from the main living area.

The only downside I had with staying at this lovely place is a nearby street with a very, noisy bar playing loud music till the early hours. The use of earplugs cut the sound out but only after I had purchased them so one night was with a broken night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear The House guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us. It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your anniversary and birthday and I am so pleased that your long weekend was a memorable one for you. We want you to feel spoiled and I am pleased that we were able to do that. We are particularly pleased to hear that you found the service extremely good and the staff courteous and efficient. We are also truly sorry that the noise from outside disturbed your sleep on your first night. Although it is mostly an advantage to be centrally located close to the Old City, museums, art galleries, public transport, restaurants and shops, this might cause such inconvenience at weekends when the nightlife gets lively and bustling in the area. If this should be the case, please feel confident that our team will try every means to eliminate any discontent.

Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The House Galatasaray on a future visit so we may take care of you once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our time at this lovely hotel. It is situated in a fun part of Istanbul, with plenty of things to see and do close by.
All the staff speak very good English and make you very welcome, always on hand to give you constructive advice on where to eat or what to see.
The breakfast at the hotel is very nice, with lots of different options available, plus a great coffee machine, for what ever caffeine hit you may require.
The rooms are beautiful, with lovely beds and stunning bathrooms. My wife did comment on the lack of storage space, but that was the only downside. We were lucky enough to be upgraded during our stay as there was some spare rooms available.
The view from the lounge is wonderful and the space is very tranquil. Just a warning, there is no lift, so you will firm your legs up during your visit.

Sarp and his staff will make you very comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear The House guest,
Thank you for posting such a great review on the site for us and I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the House Galatasaray. I am delighted that each and every member of the staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We are very dedicated to making our guests feel at home and special and I am thrilled that you felt very welcome. It is wonderful that you liked the rooms and our delicious breakfast, on which our guests unanimously agree.

On behalf of my team and myself, I would like to express my sincere gratitude for your kind words and I do hope that whenever you have the opportunity to return whether on business or pleasure we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Sarp Okbay
The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautifully designed and very comfortable suites with original features in a charming neighbourhood, close to Istiklal but detached from its chaos. The staff in the breakfast lounge were wonderful and the breakfast itself was very good. I went with a group of friends and we all enjoyed it thoroughly.
We had 3 suites - the living rooms of these did differ significantly in size though were all priced the same. The drawback of the hotel is that it does not have a lift in spite of having 4 floors and is in a hilly area so it would not be good for those who are not reasonably fit.

Room Tip: Room 6 [ground floor] is lovely and huge - but it does probably get the most noise, from the bars an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARP_0KBAY, General Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear The House guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at the House Galatasaray and for taking the time to post a review after your visit to Istanbul. We are delighted to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked the rooms, the breakfast and the service. Though the sizes might have seemed varied to you, the suites are more or less the same size; however, they differ in shape due to the fact that a 200 year old historical building was converted to our hotel remaining faithful to the original features. This is also the reason why there is not a lift. We hope this will not stop you from visiting us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
Sarp Okbay, The House Hotel Manager, Galatasaray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The House Hotel Galatasaray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Galatasaray

Address: Firuzaga Mah. Bostanbasi Cad. No:19 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 769 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel Galatasaray 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Galatasaray opened its doors in April 2010. This charming four story mansion was built in 1890 and entirely renovated by famous Turkish interior designers Autoban. It offers 20 rooms with a lounge bar on the top floor where to enjoy magnificent views to the Galata Tower. Its ideal location, only 500 meters to the famous Istiklal Street, Istanbul’s city center, Taksim, and within walking distance to the Bosphorus, makes the hotel the perfect place where to enjoy your holidays or business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The House Hotel Galatasaray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Hotel Galatasaray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.