We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated setting, not the "house" you might expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The House Hotel Galatasaray

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The House Hotel Galatasaray to your Saves list
The House Hotel Galatasaray
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Firuzaga Mah. Bostanbasi Cad. No:19 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sophisticated setting, not the "house" you might expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

While the setting, decoration and atmosphere of the venue is in line or exceeding expectations stemming from the photos, the "House" positioning is overstated. Having only a handful of rooms at premium rates, you would expect service in line with a premium B&B: helpful assistance on arrival and departure, and a knowleadgeble host. We received "minimalist" support by the various receptionists, a modest of camp-bed for our third kid, and one bathrobe for two guests. A "House" should do better, specifically for the sophistication it claims.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    78
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
150
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This tastefully converted hotel was a pleasure to stay in. The rates by comparison with many of the larger brand hotels was very reasonable and for what you received in return made it a great choice.
On arrival it was a little difficult to find The House Hotel as it has no signs on the outside of the property to inform you of it being a hotel at all, it's name and appearance leads you to believe that it is an apartment block. ( See photo atttached)
Close to the small reception area on the ground floor is where the larger bedrooms are located. The supplement you pay for these larger rooms are well worth it.
A little quirky gimmick perhaps but the enclosed shower cubicle is beside your bed, not to everyones taste. Storage and hanging space is an issue though and the room would certainly benefit from an extra wardrobe. We were two adults on a five day trip and we struggled,we kept many items in our suitcase in order to manage. The staff are all helpful and the hotel was kept very clean throuhout our 5 day stay.
The breakfast was nice and served on the upper floor with good views and lots of natural light flooding in.
Those of you who are not fit beware there is NO LIFT and you may have 4-5 floors to walk up for your breakfast.
Here there are 12 seats arranged along 2 bench style tables, the hotel caters for up to 38-42 guests so you may face a wait to be seated on one of the four good sized sofas available. An extra table and one or two less sofas would help solve this small problem. Once seated do not go straight to the buffet, you will benefit from spending a minute or two looking at the menu on your table for freshly cooked egg dishes and the various coffees on offer.
Once out of your hotel turn left it only a 5 minute walk to find good shops and restaurants. If you turn right instead and follow to the end of this street, approx 6-8 min walk, here are the transport links to take you to many of the major tourist sites that this fabulous city has to offer.
We shall definitely be returning and we hope you enjoy this city and hotel as much as we did.

Room Tip: Pay for the larger rooms. Although no great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear cabbie130456uk,

Thank you so much for your time and comments about your stay with us. Our guests feedback is very important for us, not only to understand our guest’s needs but also to be able to continuosly improve ourselves. Therefore, we do appreciate your positive comments as much as your suggestions.

We look forward to welcome you once more.

Best regards from The House Hotel Galatasaray Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A bit off the beaten track -- taxis have no idea how to get there and the street is so small that most taxis won't go down it. The hotel is very pretty- small, but elegant. Rooms are large and very tasteful. Service was slightly unfriendly. Breakfast was very good but opened20 minutes late which put us behind schedule. Very noisy on Friday nights. No elevator but we didn't mine this. Good value overall.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Management & E-Marketing Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear swa,

Thank you for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Regarding the area, Cukucurma- it is one of the oldest districts in the city and well known for its antiquities shops and impressive mansions. Therefore, modern infrastructures might not be as usual as in other districts, but the hotel’s street is still accesible from both sides for any car or taxi.
Regarding the breakfast service delay, we do apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered, because this lack of punctuality you mention is not usual and does not meet our standard.
Regarding the noise, note that Beyoglu is the liveliest area in the city, famous for its many shops, restaurants and cafés.


Again, we would like to thank you for your comments and welcome you once more to The House Hotel Galatasaray, The House Hotel Nisantasi and The House Hotel Bosphorus.


Best regards,


The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My 26 year old daughter and I spent 5 nights in Istanbul at the House Hotel Galatasaray. We found it to be a perfect oasis after a long day of seeing all of the historical sights.
Breakfast is fantastic, the rooms are chic and well appointed (I'm very particular about linens, and they were top notch!) and the service, especially in the morning at breakfast, was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Management & E-Marketing Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear anaherg,


Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The House Hotel Galatasaray and look forward to welcome you again.


Best regards,


The House Hotel Galatasaray Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northmead
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stylish boutique hotel. My wife loved it and she is an interior designer! Very high ceilings and beautiful decor, lovely smell of lillies in the halls. Great location, just around the corner from a laneway full of great little bars and restaurants. It may be a little loud if you're a light sleeper, but in that case, you just need to have a few more drinks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Management & E-Marketing Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear NorthmeadGlenn,


First of all, we would like to thank you for the time spent on sharing your experience with us and are really happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The House Hotel Galatasaray.
Your feedback is very important for us in order to better understand our guests needs, which helps us to provide an unforgettable stay. Therefore, positive comments such as yours are the most valuable reward we can get for our daily work.


If your travel plans bring you back to Istanbul we would like to welcome you once more at The House Hotel Galatasaray or at The House Hotel Nisantasi or at our recently opened The House Hotel Bosphorus.


Best regards,


The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Spacious rooms, we had room facing to the street, not loud at all. Very good isolation of windows even historical building.
Bathroom are nicely done.
Friendly staff and well groomed, Hotel Manager was very helpful in planning our stay in the city.
Great recommendations for dinners, nightlife etc, better than a guide!!
Lounge area was very nice with great view on the city (perhaps additional books needed).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Management & E-Marketing Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear AllaG_15,

Thank you so much for your review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Positive comments such as yours help us to continuosly work on improving ourselves, therefore we especially appreciate the comments about our staff.
We hope to see you again at The House Hotel Galatasaray or maybe next time at our hotel located in Nisantasi or at our newly opened hotel in the Bosphorus.

Best regards,

The House Hotel Galatasaray Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very charming hotel very well located. The building is from the 19th century and renovation respect the history of building combining contemporary design…. Very interesting concept, the shower is located in the bed room…. Very sexy!
Breakfast selection is great and included in the room rate (always appreciated), I recommend to try the eggs “menemen”, wow!!
One more thing Wi-Fi internet connection is complementary as well as all day in-room tea and coffee which is a great plus for the moderate room price.
Thank you for the nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THHG, Revenue Management & E-Marketing Manager at The House Hotel Galatasaray, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear ManolisAkr,

We do thank you for the positive comments about our hotel, as well as, for the time spent on sharing them with us. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the building, the room, the breakfast and the wifi.

Comments such as yours are the best reward we can get for our daily work and help us to continuosly work on offering only the best to our guests.

We would like to welcome you once more to The House Hotel Galatasaray or to our other two hotels in Istanbul.

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The House Hotel Galatasaray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Galatasaray

Address: Firuzaga Mah. Bostanbasi Cad. No:19 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House Hotel Galatasaray 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Galatasaray opened its doors in April 2010. This charming four story mansion was built in 1890 and entirely renovated by famous Turkish interior designers Autoban. It offers 20 rooms with a lounge bar on the top floor where to enjoy magnificent views to the Galata Tower. Its ideal location, only 500 meters to the famous Istiklal Street, Istanbul’s city center, Taksim, and within walking distance to the Bosphorus, makes the hotel the perfect place where to enjoy your holidays or business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The House Hotel Galatasaray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House Hotel Galatasaray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.