We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Empress Theodora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Empress Theodora Hotel to your Saves list
The Empress Theodora Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alemdar Cad. No 22 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Small hotel in the heart of everything. With that comes some down sides. As mentioned in previous posts, the street can be noisy, we were lucky and had a room away from the street. We stayed our first three nights here and returned for our last two nights before flying home. Our first room was a nice double room in the middle of the building. We were awoken at 5:30 with the call to prayer from the surrounding mosques. This can't be avoided. But the location makes up for everything. Within a 5 minute walk is the Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Archeology museum. A little farther are the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Galata Bridge! We walked everywhere with ease. The staff are friendly, but I am not sure how helpful they would be in a pinch. The spotlight was Ural and his breakfast spread. We would drag ourselves up in the morning and he would greet us with a warm smile. He would bring hot items fresh out of the oven to our table and every morning sliced strawberries for us! He even made an omelette our last morning. Our second room was a triple and if there were three people in the room it would feel small. The only negative thing I have to say is that they really need to invest in new towels! I am not a picky traveler, I stay in 2 or 3 star hotels. But I do not expect towels with frayed edges or HOLES! Seriously, go buy some towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
50
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Located next to the Aya Sofia, everything you want to see is just around the corner. Add up a nice staff, clean spatious rooms and fantastic breakfast and this will be an exellent place to stay a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This small hotel could not be more centrally located to all the most important sites in the Old City, in Istanbul. The tram is just outside the front door, Hagia Sophia, around the corner, Turkish baths, restaurants, museums, souvenir shops etc. in every direction!
My room was clean, with TV and a kettle with teas etc. The bathroom was modern, if a little tiny in the shower cabinet. The staff was wonderful. I arrived hungry and tired from a long tour. They happily ordered a great chicken shish kebab supper from Ziya, a top notch local resto for me, so I wouldn't have to go out to eat.
The breakfast has the largest variety I have ever seen in Turkey. It's included in the price of the room. Ural, the fellow in charge, is very friendly, and can be persuaded to a make a cup of real Turkish coffee, or a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. There's a beautiful outdoor terrase on the roof off the dinng-room.
Ask for a room away from the street if noise is an issue for you.

Room Tip: Away from the street with the tram. I had #108
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel definitely has some good and also some bad sides. The first plus must be the location, which is just a few steps away from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace. It's within the walking distance to the Grand Bazaar and close to the tram stop. The room was really nice and clean with a nice view on a smaller mosque, the staff was also really nice and helpful. Regarding the price we got a special deal a few months earlier, so it was really resonable, but the full price would be a bit too high for us.
And there were some minuses, the first would definitely be the NOISE. Maybe we just had an "unlucky" room because it was facing the street - the tram, mentioned above as a plus became a minus in the night and in the morning, also the praying from the little mosque, which woke me up on the first morning, when I was still really tired. The breakfast wasn't to die for, the food tasted a bit stale to me, so I had more "neutral" food for the next days (or went out for a breakfast).
All in all it was a nice hotel and we both would (and maybe will) return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel offers clean and spacious rooms just a few steps from Hagia Sofia,Blue Mosque and the main attractions that every tourist who arrives in Istanbul for the first time has to visit.The tramway station called Gulhane is 3 minutes away.The breakfast provides a big variety of selection and the people working there are really kind and speak English fluently.In our opinion it's worth every euro that we have spent.The only problem is that there's no elevator .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there for about a week. Though the room was small and had a window facing the wall of Archaeological Museum, it was clean and tidy. The housekeeping was doing her job so well. She was a nice lady who knew no English word but her smile was warm enough to make you feel welcome. We thought that the Safe Deposit Box should have been attached to the wall. It was movable and it could just be taken out. Anyway we didn't lose anything. The staffs were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. The location is perfect. It was near the Tram Sultanahmet Station, Haghia Sophia, Arcaheological Museum, Blue Mosque and Topkapi. Since it was near the Tram, it was noisy from 6 AM till 1 AM. Anyway I got used the motor noise the second day. Besides we were out of the hotel till 2 AM most nights. There was a TV set on the wall with a power standby light which I never figured out how to turn off. It was bothersome to me because I always sleep in a totally dark room. We only had one bad incident there: I was having a shower when the water suddenly became too hot and then the water just stopped. I called the reception and then went down there myself to ask about it. Not long afterwards, water was back. At least the staff solved the problem right away. My Travel Buddy had similar experience bit later on that same day. It was generally a pleasant stay in this hotel. Exceeded my expectation :)

Room Tip: Request for a room with a window that faces an open space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel, location is excellent, next to Aya Sophia, good breakfast, clean rooms, and best of all: super-friendly people. The entrance is small, and sometimes u miss it...

I took the double room, and they didn't have one anymore, so they gave me a triple room...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Empress Theodora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Theodora Hotel

Address: Alemdar Cad. No 22 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Empress Theodora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Empress Theodora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Empress Theodora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.