We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Optimist Hotel

Save Saved
You added Optimist Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Optimist Hotel
At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 772 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I only visited the restaurant that is very close to the Blue Mosk, in fact on the other side of the street. The food is good, they have reasonable prices and I loved the moments spent there. The stuff is very friendly and they speak good English. The place definitively has heart of his one :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
31
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We found this Hotel by chance, on Booking.com, and we were a bit wary: 45 euros per nite, right on the Hippodrome??! But we were even more surprised and struck with awe when they showed us our room: it was on the last floor, room n.4, with a 3 side panoramic view over the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, the sea and the Obelisk on the Hippodrome.

Of course, it's a bit tattery in places, the bed is not perfect, the tiles in the bathroom are sometimes chipped, but the position, the landlords, the price are excellent and the view is breathtaking. And I mean breathtaking.. the view is unparalleled. I've traveled a lot and I haven't stayed in a Hotel with a better view.
The breakfast is abundant, half continental half turkish, full of fruit and vegs and cheese and meat (no pork)..

We stayed in november and it was full of mosquitos, but this is not the owner's fault. The room was clean and proper, with a strange charme, woodpaneled and a bit old fashioned. Don't expect a 4 star hotel (the wifi seldom worked up on the 4th floor, no lift, etc..) but we were nonetheless charmed and amazed.

PS The minarets of the blue mosque are just across the Hippodrome plaza, I guess a mere 50/100 metres. The muezzin sings a lot of times per day, at the earliest I remember in november it sang at 5, 5:30 in the morning... be warned :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Whilst visiting the hippodrome in the centre of the old town we decided to stop and have some lunch. It was an extremely cold day so the outside heaters were very welcome. We ordered Meatballs (Kofte) which were very tasty with nice rice and fresh veg, and not unreasonably priced. staff were very friendly, And the toilets were clean. So would not hesitate to visit again if in the area. Was slightly puzzled when ordering a beer as it was poured into a small plain glass and the can (they have no no draft) was kept out of sight (not sure if they have a drinks licence) excellent location well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place has everything you could ever need when in Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque area), İstanbul. With a wonderful staff, great food, authentic ambience, and just an all around great experience, your trip to visit the beautiful, historic sites of İstanbul would not be complete without coming to The Optimist, which is conveniently located right across from the Blue Mosque. This is an absolute MUST for any tourist wishing to have a memorable holiday in historic, beautiful İstanbul, Turkey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Optimist Guesthouse has a very good location, it is located in the center, in the old town, just in front of Blue Mosque. From here you can enjoy a very good view. Here you will be provided with a very good service, friendly environment; You will be provoded with nice housemade breakfast; rooms are clean and have good view. Not very crowded, as there are only four rooms, all of them have a very good view! I would recomend the hotel for couples, families and friends. All of them will enjoy their stay. It is a very good value for money.

Room Tip: Very good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My hubby Tony and I had a fab wek in Istanbule week commencing 13th January 2013. We discovered The Opitmist hotel bar restaurant! And what a little treasure of a place! Amazing! The staff are fantastic Fadir the waiter is fun always happy and the owner Mohammed is great fun too! All the staff looked after us like we were family! The food is scrumpious and drink are great! They will cook you whatevr you want! We had so much fun and its clean great fresh food and great place to meet great people from 4 corners of the world. Location is excellent and we will go back 1 day! My hubby and I are a young 53 and love life and people and we had best time ever! So just go and visit and stay at the Optmist Hotel! Thank you All and you made our holiday! Thank you for the complimentary dinner on our last evening! It was like being with family! All our Love Cathy and Tony McCauley Liverpool XXXXXX

Room Tip: Top room view an amazing view over Sulthaneth!! Wow!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It was very cold in Istanbul where we stayed for three nights during the new year holidays. On the last day of our stay, we had lunch while waiting for a transport to the airport. The staff were very friendly. It was fun to try the waterpipe. Their vegetable kebab was also superb!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 772 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Optimist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.