We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny hotel big hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Optimist Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Optimist Hotel to your Saves list
Optimist Hotel
At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 828 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Bandung
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tiny hotel big hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just spent 3 days in this tiny hotel at the corner of the Sultanahmet Square (Hippodrome). Beside the strategic location and excellent view toward the Blue Mosque, we also find the legendary Turkish hospitality here. Highly recommended for budget travellers's lover!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor, noise from the cafe could penetrate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
34
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I was lucky to find this hotel having space on a super busy weekend during September. Luckily they'd just had a checkout and I took the terrace room on the top...

I can't quite describe to you the feeling of waking up in the morning with the sun rising behind the blue mosque, and being in a such a place to see it. The views from the room are so scenic, peaceful, we stayed a lot in the morning and evenings just to be around the awesome energy of it.

Muhammet and his lovable staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much bother. The food is great, they make nargile (sheesha) PROPERLY, not like many other places in Istanbul. My girlfriend and I had a truly incredible time here, and a lot of it was down to the location and energy of the place :)

We also stayed in the lower rooms which are also nice, but we had been truly spoiled by the terrace room at the top... Sublime! Will definitely stay there again when I come back to Istanbul, which I hope is soon...

Room Tip: Choose the terrace, it is so so worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Located in a great area,on a very safe street, right in the heart of old town Istanbul, facing Blue Mosque which is just across the street. Everything is short walking distance, less than 5 min to Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar, 7 minutes to Topkapi Palace...There is a shuttle that takes u to the airport for about 5Euros, the staff is friendly and helpful, rooms clean with great view. Very convenient for single travelers. i will be back :)

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nootdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at Optimist hotel in 2009, when they started with the renovations (on the top floor). Location can't be better: at the Hippodrome. An the best, the staff. Very helpful and friendly. In May this year we spent some days there and all the hotel had been renovated. All rooms are new, and you notice it. Some people of the staff have changed but the manager is the same. I would not think it twice, if I go to Istambul again, which I will, I will surely check first this hotel. It is very great solution when you are looking for a central, relative cheap and casual place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgrade
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Just charming, trust the photos! Rooms are spacious and bright, sleeping comfortable, breakfast fine. Lively and relaxed atmosphere and hosts ready to lend a hand in whatever issue you might think of. Probably not the best spot for those who call for Swiss-like precision in every detail, but excellent for getting acquainted to the city, it’s people and it’s life.

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed 7 nights at Optimist Hotel, and it could not have been better.

The rooms are renovated in may and it shows, my room looked completely new when i checked in. A great start.

Stayed on floor three from four floors (there are only four rooms, one on each floor). When you see the view from the two top floors you know that you come to the right place. The Blue Mosque is just roght in front of you, looks spectacular at night.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull. They also have a restaurant in front of the hotel. It is on the square where the Blue Mosque is. Knowing the square was once the center of the roman empire makes you think while having a beer...

If I go back to Istanbul I know where I am going to stay.

Best regards,
Andreas Meyer
Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

excellent location, Blue mosque just in front, Aiya Sophia - 5 min on foot
fantastic view,
nice breakfast
price/quality ratio was highly than expected

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Optimist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optimist Hotel

Address: At Meydani No:16, Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 828 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Optimist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Optimist Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.