We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Newark, Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have just had a great stay in the Senatus Hotel and would highly recommend it. A superb location, nice rooms, spotlessly clean and staff who did everything they could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the opposite side of the Main Street so don't know if the street rooms are nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    113
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
257
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at this little family hotel in early May 2014 for 4 nights. It was clean, quiet, friendly and homely. Wonderful breakfasts. Pity about the weather but there wasn't much they could do about that!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked this based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is in a perfect location, just five mins walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, etc. Our room was on the first floor at the back and was extremely clean, spacious and quiet. Air conditioning, new furniture, nice tv, shower but no bath. The staff were extremely friendly, particularly at the restaurant, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were lucky enough to be staying when the restaurant was hosting a party with a belly dancer and other entertainment; it provided a great atmosphere with everyone getting involved in the party. We ended up eating at the restaurant three times within the week, something we'd never normally do but we always felt like we having the best time at the liveliest place on the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul for cleanliness, price and location.

Room Tip: Upgraded to standard room from economy for a little extra. The room was a good space with a sofa/ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was our third visit to Istanbul. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed at in Istanbul.
The rooms are comfortable and well designed (the shower was especially lovely!)
The television also had a very good range of channels. The staff were always quick to help with any enquiries and give advice with regards to your stay in Istanbul.

We were not that impressed with the breakfast but that is down to personal taste, and there are many places in the area to eat (which are also affordable).
Overall, it was excellent value and we would happily stay at Senatus again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is in a good location close to the Blue mosque and tram stop.
Rooms were very clean and modern with nice shower facilities.
Reception had English speaking friendly staff.
We choose bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet had little choice, a few fruits, cheese bread and egg.
Not sure how the cleaners used to clean, we had a mark on our duvet and the cleaners just turned it over.
Overall a great hotel would stay again if cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 are pretty quiet to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went to Turkey with my girl friend on May 2014 for Istanbul trip. We find this hotel on tripadvisor.com first I read the reviews then decide that to go this hotel. Actually I love thus hotel and employees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have to say that me and my family had a great time at this hotel. The staff especially Canberk was of tremendous assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay. That was the greatest Istanbul trip for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 944 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senatus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.