We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Senatus Hotel to your Saves list
Senatus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 1,069 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked this based on TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is in a perfect location, just five mins walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, etc. Our room was on the first floor at the back and was extremely clean, spacious and quiet. Air conditioning, new furniture, nice tv, shower but no bath. The staff were extremely friendly, particularly at the restaurant, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were lucky enough to be staying when the restaurant was hosting a party with a belly dancer and other entertainment; it provided a great atmosphere with everyone getting involved in the party. We ended up eating at the restaurant three times within the week, something we'd never normally do but we always felt like we having the best time at the liveliest place on the street. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul for cleanliness, price and location.

Room Tip: Upgraded to standard room from economy for a little extra. The room was a good space with a sofa/ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was our third visit to Istanbul. The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very welcoming. This hotel was by far the best we have stayed at in Istanbul.
The rooms are comfortable and well designed (the shower was especially lovely!)
The television also had a very good range of channels. The staff were always quick to help with any enquiries and give advice with regards to your stay in Istanbul.

We were not that impressed with the breakfast but that is down to personal taste, and there are many places in the area to eat (which are also affordable).
Overall, it was excellent value and we would happily stay at Senatus again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel is in a good location close to the Blue mosque and tram stop.
Rooms were very clean and modern with nice shower facilities.
Reception had English speaking friendly staff.
We choose bed and breakfast but the breakfast buffet had little choice, a few fruits, cheese bread and egg.
Not sure how the cleaners used to clean, we had a mark on our duvet and the cleaners just turned it over.
Overall a great hotel would stay again if cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 are pretty quiet to outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUDs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I went to Turkey with my girl friend on May 2014 for Istanbul trip. We find this hotel on tripadvisor.com first I read the reviews then decide that to go this hotel. Actually I love thus hotel and employees.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emreny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have to say that me and my family had a great time at this hotel. The staff especially Canberk was of tremendous assistance. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay. That was the greatest Istanbul trip for me and my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Senatus hotel last week. The staff helped us with the map, which boat to take, etcetera. Very friendly! For the first night we had dinner in het hotel, which was very good (also because you get a drink for free ;) ). The room was very clean, and perfect. No balcony though but thats ok. The best thing I liked was walking to the hotel, passing by the Blue Mosque every night and relax every morning outside in the restaurant with a nice breakfast planning the day ahead.
Have a great trip! Berber

Room Tip: Senator room is perfect, in the back no nice view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I highly recommend this cosy hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I booked the standard double (senator), which was not big but very clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel is located on a busy street with lots of restaurants and bars a few steps away from both Aya sophia and the Blue Mosque. The room was in the back of the building, away from the street, so noise wasn't any problem. Breakfast was quite good and served in the adjacent restaurant. This restaurant is also very good for dinner. Hotel guests get a free drink here every evening between 6 and 8 pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#45 of 1,069 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,069 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,069 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#52 of 1,069 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#38 of 1,069 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#7 of 1,069 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senatus Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No 40 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,069 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Senatus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 22 guest rooms in our small and boutique hotel have been designed with your comfort in mind. Our finely detailed spacious rooms offer superbly comfortable beds and efficiently modern bathrooms. We take pride in our fine furnishings and we are happy to offer our guests internet access and writing facilities in the rooms. We have created an ambiance of calm and tranquility in our rooms where you would be happy to relax and plan your excursions, use your laptop or simply contact your friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Senatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing